Ratings based on 53 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
3.8 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew from Sydney, Australia

Very well located hotel near Petra entrance

Posted Jun 23, 2014
The hotel is in a very good location to visit Petra, and has nice modern rooms. However the staff Erie less helpful than at other hotels I have visited recently, and the bar and restaurant were a bit of a let down.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good hotel, nearly petra

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Friendly staff, help me to book bus to Wadi Rum, help me to find bag lose at lobby. Room is good and simple. Buffet is taste, better then nearby restaurant.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Petra

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Its a good hotel near the main entrance to Petra!
I have stayed in the hotel before and returned as I knew I liked it - the staff are lovely, professional and courteous and the location - very near Petra is an added bonus!
1 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Anjana from Amman

A very bad experience..do not trust this hotel

Posted Feb 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
We recently visited Petra to experience Petra by night. We stayed at La Maison for one night and our experience at this hotel was just terrible. The hotel's proximity to the Petra Visitor center is the only plus for this hotel. The customer service, dinner options and the breakfast buffet was exceptionally bad.While this place makes economical sense, we were appalled when we realised that our car, which we had handed over to the hotel valet in the night on the insistance of the manager, was misused by the hotel staff. The car's milage showed that the car had run for 125 kms after we had left the car at the valet. Also, the back seat had cigarette ash all over, chips and chocolate on the car floor. My husband and I realised this only after we had gone a few kms from Petra, when my husband observed that the fuel was very low( we had filled up full tank at Amman that afternoon). We tried reaching the hotel manager to complain and ask how this unprofessional behaviour could have occurred but neither the hotel staff nor the manager was reachable. We decided to go ahead to Aqaba and not ruin the day any more but if we had the luxury of time, these folks would have been reported to the cops.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Jeff from UK

Great location for Petra

Posted Feb 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice location for visiting Petra with the entrance just a short walk away. We were disappointed that the roof top resturant wasn't serving dinner an d eating at the hotel wasn't cheap but room rate was good. It's not a fancy hotel but comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by vidzee from Bangalore

Great Location/Clean Rooms

Posted Feb 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed at La Maison hotel for 3 nights because we found a great deal on hotels.com! This is the next best place to stay if you are not staying at the Movenpick. After a long, tiring day of walking in Petra, it feels great to walk back to your hotel which is so close (about 300 mts) from the entry gates. Clean rooms, clean showers and well-mannered staff. They have a roof-top bar and happy hours! Their restaurant serves buffet breakfast, lunch and dinner, but a bit on the expensive side. If you are heading to Wadi Rum after Petra, the bus picks you up right in front of the hotel. Just make sure you inform the manager the previous night!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by RW from Australia

Close to Petra Site

Posted Jan 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel staff were welcoming and efficient. The hotel is very close to the entry to the Petra UNESCO World Heritage Site.
2 out of 5
by Jonathan

Unenjoyable, but only because of the staff

Posted Jan 11, 2014
Being positive, the room is very close to the entrance of Petra, the rate was very cheap in low season, and the comfort level is reasonably high for what you pay for. However, beyond the base rate, we believe we were deliberately misled in the price of drink specials in the hotel bar. Whilst not a big deal in itself, the manager reacted shockingly badly to us raising the issue, and in the end preferred a critical online review rather than a more amicable discussion. We met 4 other travellers during our stay and each and every one recounted a similar problem with misleading discussions with staff. All we can assume is that because the base rate is so low, there is a concerted effort to recover the costs in other means. A hotel should not be a place you feel that you have to keep your guard up, but a place where you feel safe and looked after. This was the only hotel I've ever stayed in where this was not achieved, despite positive elements.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

There are better places to stay

Posted Jan 2, 2014
Pros: The staff was friendly though not efficient.
Cons: Room cleanliness, plumbing, food.
Location: Very close to the Petra gate but so are many hotels.
This was a highly rated place on many sites but sadly was a true disappointment. I am used to roughing it but not when I am expecting something else. This place was charging double most of the places in the area and offering the same quality. The room was cold and dirty. They said we had heating but it did nothing. The shower situation was a disaster and if you took a shower your entire room would flood. Then it took them 2 hours to send someone to clean it. The food was not very good at either breakfast or dinner and we ultimately ended up spending most of our time at the Movenpick hotel around the corner. My advise...just stay there if you go to Petra.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by No Name from UAE

Stay at the Guest House!!!!!!!

Posted Jan 1, 2014 on Hotels.com
My first room the shower head pointed out of the shower and water was all over the bathroom floor. There was no blow dryer. My husband went to the front desk and asked for a blow dryer. No dryer was delivered to my room. My second room was a junior suite. Big room. I was there in December and the heat did not work. The heat vents point to a closet not to the bed area of the room. I called the front desk and they said the broiler was broken to give it 30 minutes. Well, at least two hours went by and the room was still cold. Finally, they brought me a heater. I did not have hot water all day until the next morning. The hotel is close to the entrance to Petra. The food is all local. I didn't eat. I ate at the Guest House near the entrance to Petra a better selection of food. There was no Internet in the room, so I had to use my computer in the lobby. A little of a pain, but I met some nice people chatting. I would not stay here again, I would stay at the Guest House. The workers at the hotel were very nice. Transportation in and out of Petra is not good. The Jet bus drops offs in the morning and leaves at 4pm. Taxis is the other way out and they charge a lot, they won't use the meter. Some places only except cash, only ATM machine is in the Movenpick Hotel. Credit cards are used in some places and some only take Visa.