Ratings based on 19 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New York

Location is ideal if one is visiting the rose city

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location. 5 minutes away from the bus terminal, just next to the main entrance to Petra's rose city. I enjoyed the sumptuous buffet breakfast.
Cons: Maybe the hotel could offer an organized tour inside the rose city.
Location: The hotel is right in the center of the tourist area. The visitors' center is right in front. Plenty of restaurants close by.
Room was spacious and adequately equipped (safe, kettle, tv, mini bar, etc.).
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Abu Dhabi. UAE

Location, location, location - but that's about al

Posted May 4, 2014
Pros: Location. Location. Location
Cons: Environmental Control. There have been numerous postings about rooms to hot in both winter and summer time.
The location right at the entrance to Petra is superb. After a long day's discovering and walking back up the hill from the valley that is Petra, not having to walk further up the hill is a welcome relief. Entering into the room and finding it hotter in the room than outside (when it's 30 C outside) isn't very welcoming. The AC in the room never cooled off and in the evening, when the hotel turned off the AC in the hallway (energy conservation?) the AC in the room also turned off. End up being sweaty all day in Petra and sweaty all night in the room. We asked FOUR times to have AC addressed. No response other than to change out the thermostat. Checked out and related the issue that then resulted in deadpan facial "why are you bothering me with this comment" response from front desk. Read the other reviews and you get similar experiences so it's obviously a known fact that isn't being addressed. Note that this hotel is only "managed" by Crowne Plaza, but owned by "The Social Security Corporation" and as such they do not appear to be interested in remediating the issue.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel, literally next to Petra entrance.

Posted Apr 26, 2014
Cons: The only thing that would improve this hotel is a pool, that being said this is a great hotel in a brilliant location.
Great hotel, right next to the entrance to Petra, great and friendly staff. If this hotel had a pool it would tick every box. I would definitely go back to this hotel
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by phil b from KSA

Accomodation for stay at Petra

Posted Apr 17, 2014
Pros: Location for Lost city is perfect.
Cons: Get rid of the bath over shower and install shower cubicles. Stop smoking in the rooms and hotel corridors.
Location: Great for the Lost City as already mentioned. You could travel to Wadi Rum if you have your own transport (hire car).
Very good for your visit to Petra as it is the nearest accommodation, being right next to the Petra Lost City entrance. Although there are hotel style rooms, we were accommodated in one of the chalet style rooms, which were both and functional and clean, and although you pay for internet use, this is refunded upon your departure, so is in fact free as advertised. The only disappointing part to our stay was shower over bath, which by modern standards is fairly poor although functional. The in house restaurant served nice food with prices comparable with local eateries, so venturing downtown, which is somewhat limited anyway, seemed pointless to us, but it's down to personal choice. Alcohol is stupidly expensive no matter what the establishment, but the in house Cave bar has a pleasant ambience, and sisha if you feel the urge.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrew

Great location

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Pros: Great location, friendly staff, Cave bar, reasonably priced
Cons: Bit noisy, room could be more comfortable, food could be better
Location: Petra, it goes without saying, is every bit as amazing as I hoped!
This is as close to Petra as you can get without being a bedouin! Very handy after a long and fruitful trek through the site and especially for the early start to avoid the crowds. Staff helpful and friendly. Room was nice (we got upgraded to a larger room for free) though it was a bit noisy with building work at the entrance to Petra going on through into the night. Also, the aircon did not work properly making for a warm night, though it was fixed next day. The bed and shower over bath could have been more comfortable. Cave bar is excellent for a relaxing drink, food is nothing special though both reasoanbly priced (for Jordan)
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by malak

petra

Posted Nov 22, 2013
Pros: slocation
the hotel location is great and the people are very helpfull
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ale from Mexico

Excellent option

Posted Oct 14, 2013
Pros: Location and staff.
Location: There are several shops just outside the hotel, as well as restaurants to eat some typical beduin and arabic food.
This is the closest hotel to the archeological site, staff are wonderful, they arranged everything for us to go and see little petra and have dinner in a beduin camp, for a reasonable price. My husband twisted his ankle and they brought ice and you could actually feel that they were taking care of you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler

Great Location

Posted Aug 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
Literally located next to the Petra visitor's center, the hotel was clean and very nice. It was perfect for our time in Petra. The included breakfast was more than I expected as well.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Shane from Dubai

Comfortable stay in a great location

Posted Aug 12, 2013
My stay at the Petra Guest House was a very pleasant one. The location is fantastic - right next to the entrance to Petra - and the rooms are very spacious, clean and comfortable. The service was very good and everyone was very friendly. Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

wonderful

Posted Jul 7, 2013
Location: best location for visiting ancient Petra
A cool oasis in a hot and challenging visit to ancient Petra.