Ratings based on 31 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent hoilday

Posted Oct 1, 2014
Great Hotel with excellent pools and staff. Very reasonable food and drinks
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from perth wa

Over charged very poor people skills

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Resort was new clean
Cons: Staff management need to improve skills relating to guests
Location: Abit out of the way
Resort very nice location abit far away from other parts of Phuket.very poorly dealt with by staff on arrival heavily over charged for one nite when we arrived close to mid nitre.spoke to staff and manager nothing was done .we left not happy.stayed 3 times at Katathani and always been happy staff so helpful and friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

AWESOME!

Posted Jul 5, 2014
Pros: Everything.
One of the best Hotel / Resort I have ever been to. Great staff, great service, great view, great location. Everything is just good. The only downside I would say will be the Breakfast which serves almost the same food haha! But these same food are ever delicious! Will definitely go back again with my family!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nick from Sydney, Australia

Awesome hotel with awesome facilities and staff!!

Posted May 22, 2014
My first time to Thailand and this resort ticked all the boxes. Amazing resort with excellent staff, pools were great and rooms were top notch. It is a big resort but it's not too hard to find everything and to walk from one area to another. Would certainly return in a heartbeat!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Beth from Singapore

Excellent service, fantastic food - perfect!

Posted May 6, 2014
I cannot rate this hotel and our experience here highly enough! The friendliness and genuine care from the team here was evident throughout our stay, especially during my daughters birthday meal. I literally do not have any negative experiences to impart, our stay was fantastic!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Yorkshire, UK

A great hotel

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Had a lovely stay at the sands. Hotel is modern with good facilities. Hotel is in a great location within easy reach of all that khao lak has to offer. I highly recommend and would not hesitate to revisit.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by restless from Singapore

Refused to let my guests come to my room!

Posted Feb 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
Overall, Sands was very impressive, in terms of the hotel itself, but I have never experienced a hotel refusing to let my friend come to my room and also very sticky about late check out. I had to pay a half day rate in the end.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted Feb 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Nice place, location, condition and service all acceptable, can't fault much about the place. Biggest let down was the evening buffet meal - expensive and some of the food recycled from breakfast. Much better bet is to walk down the beach for 10 minutes and buy some of the tasty red snapper from one of the shacks - delicious and inexpensive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Stu from Australia

Very good resort for relaxation and rest

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: The location is good, the facilities are very good and the swim-up pool room was sensational. The staff were almost all fantastic.
Cons: Just a few "fit and finish" things, a greater variety of food at the lunches and room-service menus and not much else.
Location: Nearby there are things to do, we didn't take advantage of the diving etc. we did go visit some of the nearby restaruants which were all pretty good
Overall we had an excellent stay at The Sands, most of the staff were exceptional always making us feel welcome. The only exception were the staff that operated the bar near the kids club, they never seemed as happy and engaging as other staff. The beach is nice. The food is not too bad but more options would be greatly appreciated. When you consider this is trying to be a 5-star resort there are a few little things that see it coming up short and this is one of them. We had a room with the swim up pool and with our 3yo used it a lot. It was so convenient and by far the best rooms of this type are those from room number 3017-3028 (from memory, we had 3020 and is was great). There were a few minor things but nothing that really troubled us and overall I'd definitely stay again and recommend to friends looking for a quite resort. In fact the worst part of it was the general rudeness of some of the other travellers, people "racing" to get sun bed at 6am is crazy, perhaps the resort needs a few more? But as they say if you can't beat them you join them, we generally only wanted the beds in the morning to swim at the beach anyway. Anyhow we had a good time so no complaints here. Special mention to Kateena (I think that's how you spell her name) at breakfast in the morning she always made us welcome and our 3yo son took a great liking to her.