Ratings based on 176 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing location!

Posted Dec 16, 2014
Rooms were smaller than expected but still a cozy feel to it. The location was incredible and the staff gave a lot of helpful tips about the city.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom NY

Great!

Posted Dec 8, 2014
Clean and charming hotel in a great neighborhood; would highly recommend!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Honolulu, HI

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: This was our first visit to Philadelphia and I was very happy with the location and surrounding neighborhood.
Location: It's an easy walk to Independence Hall.
This is a boutique hotel that is very well located with lots of restaurants nearby. They offer a fairly extensive breakfast that is constantly monitored and replenished.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern Neck, VA

Lovely Boutique Hotel, Near Philly's Centre City!

Posted Dec 7, 2014
Pros: Cozy, Quaint, Nicely Appointed and within walking distance to Philly's Historic Sites.
awesome, Awesome, AWESOME! Located in a Friendly Neighborhood, this Lil' Gem Will "Knock Your Socks Off" and It's A Great Value. If your LQQKing for the Foot Service, offered by the Big Box Hotel Chains, don't bother...... But, if it's Character You Seek, The Friendliness and Warmth of The Alexander Hotel and It's Superior Staff, is where You Need To Be...... Bar None, The Hotel Staff Makes You Feel, This Is Your Home, Away From Home!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Great location, friendly staff....

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Pros: location & friendly staff
Cons: Walls are a bit thin, could hear neighbors talking....
Location: easy walking distance to popular sightseeing....
We only spent one night, so views limited, but from what we did experience, we loved the place. Friendly, helpful staff, rooms are nice, we got the bigger room as we had a fair bit of luggage.... comfy bed, soft pillows... smallish bathroom, but adequate.... cannot complain about anything and great location.... and the room included free breakfast AND wifi was good strength too! Would definitely recommend....
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location for Center City sightseeing

Posted Oct 31, 2014
Our first visit to Center City, and chose Alexander Inn for a family group. The Inn is lovely and located near quiet streets and many delicious eateries. We could easily walk to Old City sights, as well as to the theater and even to Eastern State Penn and the Art Museum. The staff was friendly and helpful. The breakfast included delicious pastries from a nearby bakery. We will chose Alexander Inn for our next stay in Center City.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Long Island, New York

Very pleasant stay!

Posted Oct 29, 2014
Pros: It is a simple little place that is clean, friendly and comfortable.
Cons: The pastry at the breakfast could be a little fresher and more tasty.
Location: It is located in Center City, a $10 cab ride from University City. There are little shops and restaurants scattered nearby.
I was visiting my daughter at the University of Pennsylvania for parents weekend and took a chance on this "non name brand" hotel....and I was extremely delighted with this quaint and clean hotel. Love the neighborhood and will certainly be staying here again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Meyers, CA

A few nights in Philadelphia

Posted Oct 18, 2014
Pros: Friendly folks.
Cons: Art work on the walls, perhaps.
Location: They provided information at the office for sites, restaurants, etc.
The Alexander Hotel sits in an ideal location for walking quaint neighborhoods on the way to Historic sites and is close to some very nice restaurants and pubs. The staff were friendly and helpful with information and local chat. We enjoyed our stay. Interesting guests and conversations at breakfast. However, if it's a upscale hotel you are looking for, you might want to look elsewhere. The Alexander is old and the rooms are small. If you are like us and want to get out and see the sites, come back to crash and up and out again the next day--well, go for it. Internet was good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Mechanicsburg, PA

Nice old building

Posted Oct 17, 2014
Pros: It is nice and old, which I like, because I live in an old Victorian home.
Cons: Not sure if parking was listed in description, but I would let people know that in advance of booking.
Location: Centrally located near just about everything that Philly has to offer
The one and only complaint I have, and it really isn't a complaint because I did not ask about parking. We had to drop our car several blocks away, which would not have been an issue if it was not absolutely pouring rain. I did not ask about parking I just assumed it was available at the Inn. So that was my fault not theirs.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Very convenient. Staff are very courteous.

Posted Oct 14, 2014
Location: the convention center; the multiple restaurants and cafes; public transportation stations
I enjoyed my stay. I appreciated the little things (WiFi and breakfast without hassle)