Ratings based on 341 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal

Great location, no surprises

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: Location. The free breakfast is served early enough so we can get going fast. The free access to a printer ( for boarding passes). Quiet at night.
Cons: Stronger lighting for the rooms in the back. The 3$ bottled water in the room is a bit much. Free Ice water in the mini fridge would be better.
Location: Just go out the door and walk. You will find many things to see and do.
4 days of vacationing. The location is great because you are close to everything that is interesting in Philadelphia. I appreciated the understanding attendant in the dining room who was very helpful when i spilled a whole cup of coffee on the table. I had to go back to my room after checking out to pick up some things I had forgotten. I had to be accompanied by a staff member. It took a while. A bit stressful since I had to get to the airport as fast as I could. Why not just give me the key so I could get my things myself ?? Other than that, nothing was stressful.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from california

Great location!

Posted Aug 7, 2014
The location couldn't be better; the parking was convenient and not too expensive but the breakfast was ho-hum with mediocre coffee. It's an older hotel, so the air conditioning was either too hot or too cold. When we were there, construction across the street was really noisy and began early. We weren't bothered but one of our party was.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Nice and simple.

Posted Jul 10, 2014
Pros: Comfortable Bed!
Cons: It was a bit outdated and could use some updating.
Location: Great location in Old City Philadelphia - The Ritz for movies, tons of restaurants and shops!
Our stay was very comfortable. The room was outdated but clean and the bed was comfortable. Staff were also very nice.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from united kingdom

Very nice hotel

Posted Jul 3, 2014
Pros: This hotel was very clean the staff are very friendly and helpful.
Location: This hotel is very close to Carpenters hall, National liberty museum, Benjamin franklin museum and post office and many more sites.
I liked this hotel very much it was close to most of the sites i wanted to visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JMV from Falls Church, VA

I loved my stay here

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Five stars all the way. I would stay here again. The staff was wonderful and I loved my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by john from indy

Philly

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
excellant in all ways
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Centrally located

Posted May 27, 2014
Pros: Loved the rooms, the staff, and the food. Boy did they feed us!
Cons: No... We totally loved this hotel. Staff was very helpful, the decor was colonial and well maintained. The beds were very comfortable and very quite
Location: This hotel was centrally located to all the historical places in Philadelphia.
Our stay was awesome, the hotel was next to all the historically places. Even though the hotel was located near all the historical sites, the rooms were very quite even with the window open. The hotel had a historical charm and was very clean. They had tons of food for breakfast. My son loved the Liberty Bell waffles he made. The hotel also had food out all day in the lobby. The receptionist were very helpful with all my questions. I very enjoyed our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by DeeDee from West Coast

Historic, centrally located in the Old City

Posted May 14, 2014
Pros: We like the history of the building, the furnishings and architecture. It is very clean, very nicely decorated. The staff was wonderful!
Location: Independence Park, Penn's Landing (on the weekends), historic buildings, beautiful parks for relaxing or picnicking, 2 blocks from the subway station.
We completely enjoyed our stay at this hotel! It's been restored, and upgraded with modern amenities yet the building retains it's historic character both inside and out. Most of the main historic sites are within a few blocks, easy walking distance. There are so many pubs and restaurants close by, we ate at a different spot for every meal. Philadelphia should be on your list of must-do 3 day weekends. Travelers should remember that these old buildings aren't quite as sound proof as newer hotels, you may hear people in the hallways. My husband and I enjoy staying in the old places, and our room in the Independence Park Inn was very quiet. But that's not always the case with older accommodations. Parking is at a premium, as it is in the historic district of most cities. We came from the airport on a shuttle, and returned via the subway and airport train. Easy and convenient. The staff was helpful, friendly, good natured. Our room was very clean, plenty of towels and pillows. If we're ever in Philly again, we'll stay here.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by erika

Great location

Posted Apr 25, 2014
Close to main attractions. Pretty hotel, breakfast included. Just what is needed in Philadelphia!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Marcia from Los angeles, CA

A lovely and comfortable hotel

Posted Apr 12, 2014
Pros: Comfortable rooms, breakfast was a delicious selection and the breakfast room clean and attractive. We also enjoyed the tea and wine and cheese.
Cons: For us, we wouldn't improve anything.
The Independence was a spectacular find. Walking to all of the major sights and transportation close at hand. Restaurants within a few blocks were fabulous, as well.