Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by cindyny from New Rochelle NY

Cozy Hotel

Posted May 28, 2014
I must have to say this hotel is NOT close to Central Philadelphia. Its about 15 miles. The hotel was very cozy and staff was very friendly and nice. The room I stayed was 402 very comfy, although small, it had a desk, free WIFI and HD TV Hotel offered free continental breakfast with waffles, eggs, yogurt, bagels, coffee and juices, nothing crazy, yet neat. we also had dinner at the restaurant adjacent to the hotel, Chestnut Grill, the food was very good and the waitress very polite, we were very pleased with our choice. My 2 major complains about this hotel were: 1. when I dropped my cell under the bed and I saw all the dirty and dust when I got down on my knees to try to get it..... it was disgusting! looks like the cleaning lady only vacuums around the bed! Nasty, Nasty and 2. rooms are not sound proof which means we could hear some of the action going on in the room behind us. Overall I recommend this hotel, it looks like it was renewed and everything looked new. I went to Philly with my husband for Memorial Day Weekend and the hotel was perfect for us. Its located in a very residencial area with shops around. Bonus Points: Free Parking!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Margaret from Melbourne, Australia

Friends live nearby and recommended this hotel.

Posted Apr 29, 2014
Pros: Beautiful area of Philadelphia. Spacious Room, comfy bed, lovely breakfast.
Cons: it was in excellent order
Location: Enjoyed the local shops, cafes, restaurants. Friends took us for walks in the local parks. Transport into the city, right outside the hotel.
Our friends live in Chestnut Hill and have used this hotel for themselves, and their family, on many occasions, so we had every confidence in booking it for ourselves. Our room was spacious, the new bathroom wonderful, and the beds were the best I have ever slept in. Breakfast downstairs each morning was excellent with a wide range of food.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very good for a weekend, will stay again

Posted Dec 28, 2013
I visited chestnut hill hotel with my mother and we enjoyed the hotels location among shops and restaurants and convenient promiscuity with the train. The staff was all very nice and I will choose this hotel again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Jordan from lima ohio

Posted Oct 13, 2013
Very nice room! Nicely redone bathroom with luxurious amenities. The only issue we had was the toilet ran constantly. But I told the front desk woman and I am sure it was taken care of.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wonderful room, property & neighborhood

Posted Jun 17, 2013
Pros: Everything! Completely modernized room in the Carriage House was a great and pleasant surprise. Staff were extremely helpful. Price was reasonable
Cons: They were finishing some construction, and some areas of the hotel were blocked off
Location: Great fun restaurants, shops, and neighborhood.
Everything about this property was positive. Great character, people, food and drink and value. Fun things to walk to and near the train station to get you downtown, but you don't need to leave the neighborhood if you want a great weekend away.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dee Dee from Lawrence, KS, USA

Darling Boutique Hotel

Posted Apr 9, 2013
Pros: Location! It is in a safe cute area where we could walk to dinner , shop, and enjoy the town.
Location: This hotel is located on the main street of the charming Chestnut Hill area in NW Philadelphia.
This is a charming hotel and terrific staff. Our stay was great thanks to the hotel staff . They went out of their way to help us when our room wasn't warm enough to fix the issue promptly. They recommended a driver,Charles, to take us to and from University of Penn for my teen to tour . He was great and we hired him to take us to the airport too. This was a great place to stay and the restaurant beside the hotel was tasty too. The hotel's breakfast was ample and the china plates were a charming touch.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Joan from Washington, DC

A serene change from the huste and bustle

Posted Sep 22, 2012
Pros: Location, interiors
Cons: Couldn't get the radio to work!
Location: Upscale residential neighborhood of Philadelphia
This is a very pleasant boutique hotel in a wonderful village-like neighborhood. The adjacent restaurant is surprisingly good, and whoever did the interiors did a fabulous job. My bath only had a shower, no tub, but it was large and immaculate. The Occitane shampoo etc was a lovely touch. Bottom line: if you don't need to be downtown, this is a great place to stay. Chestnut Hill is gorgeous-- old gardens and older stone houses - so it's a terrifc place for long walks and bits of interesting shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great hotel for family or individuals.

Posted Sep 2, 2012
Old style with modern services. Located in an early American part of town. Very pleasant surroundings and staff. I plan on staying there any time I'm in the Philly area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Highly recommended

Posted Aug 26, 2012
Great location.the restaurant was excellent and obviously very popular. No complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Stay in the Carriage House

Posted Aug 17, 2012
My husband and I stayed in the carriage house, and it exceeded our expectations. We loved the fireplace, exposed stone wall, clawfoot bathtub, and beautiful king size bed. The location by the market was awesome. We loved our stay in Chestnut Hill and the Chestnut Hill Hotel was a fantastic place to stay.