Ratings based on 413 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Historic elegance

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Historic facility.
Cons: Add a "ghost tour" to bring in others.
Location: Independence Hall, Liberty Bell, Benjamin Franklin house and museum, Betsy Ross house and museum, Christ Church and burial ground, etc.
Wonderful hotel to stay when you experience historic Philadelphia. Most sites are about 1.2 mile walks or less from the hotel. Great shopping in the building and within a few blocks.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not the grande dame anymore.

Posted Jul 6, 2014
This is a beautiful, historic hotel in the heart of Center City Philadelphia. It has been a destination hotel in the past - with stellar appointments, staff and ambiance. Not so any more. Stains on the carpets. Worn furniture. Blase staff. Aside from the location, which is ideal, not much to recommend it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from NEW YORK

Good service and comfortable place for stay

Posted Jul 1, 2014
Like Hytt hotel in Philadelphia. Great Hotel here.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lish from Bucks County, PA

good location near theatres

Posted Jun 18, 2014
Pros: Staff, general cleanliness, location and architectural detail.
Cons: The bathrooms are definitely dated. Everything was very clean but there are aspects of the hotel that are very dated, some of this is the charm.
Location: Great location on the Avenue of the Arts central to all aspects of center city and especially great restaurants and the theatres.
The staff at this Hyatt and Penns Landing location are amazing. Pleasant, easy and accomodating. We arrived early to hotel with no expectations of goetting in to a room but, wanted to drop our bags before our show. The front desk person easily put us in a room immediately. Breakfast the next day at the upstairs restaurant over looking the city was really over priced but, good and a beautiful view. they have done a fine job at preserving the buildings details.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Vic from Newark, DE

Not the Value I thought I Would Get

Posted May 19, 2014
Pros: Staff was nice, helpful. Did not eat there. Room was clean.
Cons: Should not rent a room in that location
Location: Excellent location for Kimmel Center, Academy of Music and local restaurants as Capital Grill and the Brazilian Steakhouse Fogo de Chao.
Overall Experience was OK. The check in process was clean and the staff cordial. They made a comment something to the effect of "oh, you booked with Expedia." We were given a room across from a "staff only" area that was very noisy with carts going back and forth, sounded like dishes. We woke up several times during the night as a result. Unfortunately told no other rooms left and this was for a birthday night on the town for my wife. This resulted in a sub par experience although I would recommend the hotel to others. Thank you, not sure if I will us Expedia to book a hotel again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Historic property in need of modernization

Posted May 18, 2014
Pros: staff, service , location, character of the building
Historic building with character, rooms are spacious, service is excellent. Rooms are very dated and in need of some modern updates that still maintain its character. good location close to restaurants and entertainment. Room rates are a bit pricey and based on location more than amenities
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Gorgeous historic hotel, but top floor smells

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: I liked the rooms, location, entrance hall, stores, staff, parking near, etc
Cons: Do something about top floor smell in restaurant and bar.
Hotel is elegant, great location, rooms are very well decorated, but the restaurant and bar on the top floor smells of dust. Couldn't stand having breakfast there.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lori from Richmond VA

Lovely hotel full of charm, not super kid friendly

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: It's "old world charm." Good service from the employees. The lobby is inviting and smells wonderful.
Cons: The fan in the bathroom is extremely loud and annoying. More kid activities, access to Sporting Club.
Location: We visited Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. We took a 90 minute double decker "Big Bus" tour which was terrific. Phillies game was great too.
We loved the "old style" hotel. We found it charming and lovely. It reminded us of some of the "grand ole" quality hotels of the South, The Greenbrier, The Homestead, and some lovely older hotels in Europe. Beautiful chandeliers. Comfortable beds with great sheets as one would expect from Hyatt. Room service was delicious, cooked perfectly and delivered hot. The Sporting Club at The Bellevue was amazing and my husband and I both enjoyed working out there. Our almost 16 year old son was very disappointed to not be able to use any of the Sporting Club's facilities, not the basketball court, the work-out area, or even the pool. We learned that the pool is only open to people under 18 on Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday for limited hours. We found this to be a disappointing aspect of our visit to this Hyatt, especially over our student's Spring Break. The hotel did not offer much for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in heart of downtown

Posted Apr 16, 2014
The hotel was nice, uniquely decorated to meet the era of the structure. The room was large, even with 4 of us sharing the space.The only complaint was that there was no mirror outside of the restroom, so if anyone was using it others had to wait to get ready. I would suggest the hotel put a mirror on the wall or in the closet door to maximize one's time as there is so much to see and do in Philadelphia! The staff were very helpful and pleasant in the lobby, which we greatly appreciated. We stopped at the restaurant/bar on the nineteenth floor and wish we would have had time to have a drink or brunch, definitely a nice place, relaxing environment and great view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexis from New York, NY

Classic gem in Center City

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The classic architecture, attractive and very clean rooms, and very impressive Restaurant XIX on the 19th Floor.
Location: The location is in the Arts District and near the very impressive City Hall building. Rittenhouse Square is also a short walk away.
A second visit to Hyatt at The Bellevue confirmed my initial impression. It is a beautiful old building with handsome room decor. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Restaurant XIX provides an elegant, comfortable environment for delicious dining.