Ratings based on 402 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lori from Richmond VA

Lovely hotel full of charm, not super kid friendly

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: It's "old world charm." Good service from the employees. The lobby is inviting and smells wonderful.
Cons: The fan in the bathroom is extremely loud and annoying. More kid activities, access to Sporting Club.
Location: We visited Independence Hall and the Liberty Bell. We took a 90 minute double decker "Big Bus" tour which was terrific. Phillies game was great too.
We loved the "old style" hotel. We found it charming and lovely. It reminded us of some of the "grand ole" quality hotels of the South, The Greenbrier, The Homestead, and some lovely older hotels in Europe. Beautiful chandeliers. Comfortable beds with great sheets as one would expect from Hyatt. Room service was delicious, cooked perfectly and delivered hot. The Sporting Club at The Bellevue was amazing and my husband and I both enjoyed working out there. Our almost 16 year old son was very disappointed to not be able to use any of the Sporting Club's facilities, not the basketball court, the work-out area, or even the pool. We learned that the pool is only open to people under 18 on Wednesday, Saturday and Sunday for limited hours. We found this to be a disappointing aspect of our visit to this Hyatt, especially over our student's Spring Break. The hotel did not offer much for kids.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel in heart of downtown

Posted Apr 16, 2014
The hotel was nice, uniquely decorated to meet the era of the structure. The room was large, even with 4 of us sharing the space.The only complaint was that there was no mirror outside of the restroom, so if anyone was using it others had to wait to get ready. I would suggest the hotel put a mirror on the wall or in the closet door to maximize one's time as there is so much to see and do in Philadelphia! The staff were very helpful and pleasant in the lobby, which we greatly appreciated. We stopped at the restaurant/bar on the nineteenth floor and wish we would have had time to have a drink or brunch, definitely a nice place, relaxing environment and great view!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Alexis from New York, NY

Classic gem in Center City

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Pros: The classic architecture, attractive and very clean rooms, and very impressive Restaurant XIX on the 19th Floor.
Location: The location is in the Arts District and near the very impressive City Hall building. Rittenhouse Square is also a short walk away.
A second visit to Hyatt at The Bellevue confirmed my initial impression. It is a beautiful old building with handsome room decor. The staff is friendly and accommodating. Restaurant XIX provides an elegant, comfortable environment for delicious dining.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by OJ from Edmonton, AB

Good location for trains, tour buses, and pubs.

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Great location for catching the trains to the games, tour buses to see sights, tavern on broad, and close to adult activites. Nice fitness facilities.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by John from southern California

Good Central Location

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: Central location to a Center City. The conference was held at the same place, so very convenient. The staff was very friendly and attentive.
Cons: It could be freshened up.
Location: N/A
It's an old hotel. Some might find it charming, but my preference is something more contemporary. The decor looks like it has not changed in 50+ years - wall paper in the halls, pasley carpeting, and layers of paint covering the once detailed mouldings. If not for the flat screen tv in the room, you would think you were transported to the 50-60s era. The room was clean and the staff is very pleasant.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by LAX traveler from Philly suburbs

glad the party ended early

Posted Feb 2, 2014
Pros: good rooms, helpful staff
Cons: The 12th floor interior rooms are on the same level as the reception and hence would have the most noise. Avoid these if you want quiet.
Location: center city near theaters, restaurants, short walk to Independence Mall or to Parkway museums
The room was large and attractively furnished. It did not have an exterior window but instead windows looked out into a reception hall with a pretty spirited party. Fortunately the party ended early.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Garry from Adelaide, SA, Australia

Classy hotel in a great location

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Location and great value via Expedia
Cons: Free wireless please!
Location: We walked to Phily Museum of Arts / Rocky steps.
Another typical Hyatt experience. Great location in the centre of the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by philh from philly

Great stay overall. But!

Posted Jan 14, 2014 on Hotels.com
Shower liner was a lil dirty and sprinklers in room haven't been dusted in years. Very dissatisfied about that. For what I paid this room should be flawless.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Marty A from CT

Very nice experience

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This was our 2nd stay and there will be more. I honestly have no complaints. The staff was excellent, friendly and helpful. Parking was easy. Stay here don't look any further.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

A truly grand old palace.

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
Super. This was a return visit. The 19th floor breakfast room is just dynamite.