Ratings based on 838 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
99% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Indiana

If you like the movie National Treasure ...

Posted Jul 2, 2015
Pros: Location
Great hotel, across street from Independence Hall. Hear the same clock chimes Franklin and Hancock did! Outstanding service. Spacious rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 1, 2015
nice place to stay. rooms a little small but nice overall.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Swedesboro, NJ

Nice boutique hotel in Olde City

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: From the front desk to room service, everyone we came into contact with was pleasant, courteous and helpful.
Location: Its right in the heart of the historical section of Philadelphia, so many things right outside the door to see. Independence hall, Constitution Center
Hotel Monaco (Chicago) has long been one of my favorite hotels, so when I recently had a chance to stay in the Philadelphia location, I was excited to see what they had to offer. Nightly happy hour in the lobby is always a very nice touch! Aside from a couple of housekeeping issues, we had a wonderful stay and I'd recommend to anyone.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from M

Really Nice Hotel (but very overpriced).

Posted Jun 21, 2015
While the room was fun and certainly served its purpose... The Staff was about 85% great. There seems to be an "air" hovering around that "we are the coolest place in town so we don't have to approach clients well All the Time". It was a great room so don't get me wrong, and we had a Suite at this trendy place. It still seemed very overpriced all things considered. Had there not been a mountain of events going on in Philly we likely never would have chosen it. But as it was the only decent room available after having Major Spinal Surgery earlier in the week I did not want to settle for anything laying around at the bottom of the market. Would I ever do it again, only in the same situation... Which, pray GOD, that is not something that I EVER have to do again! IT IS AN ART/BOUTIQUE EXPERIENCE... And I am not an Art as Food person either.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Fort Smith,

Location CLOSE to Independence Hall

Posted Jun 18, 2015
Pros: We loved the location.
Cons: Having a spa would be great...
Location: Independence Hall was just across the street & food was "close" but still required a good amount of walking. A block over & up was a movie theater.
This site is located diagonally across from Independence Hall. It is a high traffic area where cabs are easy to get. It's one block up and over to a Philly Phlash stop and a subway stop. We enjoyed the location very much, it was easy to navigate the area. Our room was on the 2nd floor at a corner so we had a GREAT view of the action. We ate at the restaurant for breakfast twice and it was very good. One of our guests was gluten free and they had options available for him too. The hotel is very trendy in it's decoration, very enjoyable.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from new york

Very noisy due to club on upper floor

Posted Jun 13, 2015
Pounding music all night long. The hotel staff said they were lower rank than the club owner so they couldn't do anything.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia

Nice hotel, great location to site seeing.

Posted May 29, 2015
Pros: Location and staff were great.
Cons: Notification about our room not having any kind of view and which would give us a choice to go some where else if we didn't want that kind of view.
Location: Great site seeing area.
My wife and I were celebrating our tenth anniversary and we were excited about the location of the hotel, but were extremely disappointed in the location of our room. Out our window was three other walls to our hotel. we were at the bottom of a long tunnel. We couldn't tell if the sun was out or not. Terrible view.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Colorado

NIce, swank, clean, quite

Posted May 27, 2015
NIce Hotel, Loved the quite, nice bed, well appointed, helpful staff, clean, fashionable, great night of sleep. Note, the Liberty Bell and Liberty Sites all within a block of Hotel. Nice area, enjoyed Philly, and enjoyed it because of this excellent Hotel and location.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Connecticut

Wonderful hotel, great location.

Posted May 26, 2015
Location: Located near Independence Hall, The Liberty Bell, The Jewish Museum, The Betsy Ross House, Ben Franklin's grave and great restaurants.
Literally a stones throw from Independence Hall and The Liberty Bell, the Monaco is a great hotel. We love the Kimpton Hotels and this is definitely one of their best (although we also love their Palomar near Rittenhouse Square). The Monaco is whimsically designed, very comfortable, and the staff is very friendly. There's a lovely restaurant on the first floor as well as an awesome rooftop lounge. The beds are super comfortable. Just a great hotel in a great spot. We look forward to our next stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted May 24, 2015
Can see independence hall from the rooms but rooms are not kid friendly - bathrooms don't lock.