Ratings based on 140 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Michelle

Lovely historic boutique hotel

Posted May 9, 2014
This is a lovely hotel, located very close to the historic heart of Philadelphia. It has a lovely lounge and breakfast area with open fires. Complimentary happy hour drinks and breakfast are included. The rooms, especially the bathrooms, are a little dated, but in a old fashioned quaint way. The rooms are very peaceful and quiet and the beds are very comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Tom

a good choice for boutique accommodation in Philly

Posted May 5, 2014
Pros: Location (close to the historic area of Philly and the Walnut theatre), its old-world charm, the open fire in the lounge, the breakfast room.
Cons: not much-it's very nice. Judging from the bathroom in my first room, a bathroom makeover or two wouldn't go astray
Location: close to the historic area (Independence Hall etc) and Washington Square. Stumbling distance to/from Talulah's Garden Restaurant (highly recommended).
I stayed at 2 different rooms at the Morris-the first was in the main building. It was very comfortable and quiet, but perhaps a little on the "tired" side. For example, the bathroom could have done with a renovation. My second room was an "extended suite" in the so-called coach house. It was fabulous. Very roomy (separate kitchen and lounge) and obviously quite recently renovated. Also more pricey (but worth it, given what I heard some of my colleagues were paying for accommodation in Philly at the same time). The shared lounge was nice, and very cosy with an open fire (a good place to meet other guests and plan dinner venues!). Service on the desk was a little patchy. Breakfast was excellent. Would stay here again, but would definitely choose the coach house if my budget allowed.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Danielle from Media, Pa.

Fabulous Place filled with History!!

Posted Feb 4, 2014
Pros: It Is filled with history and antiques----Lovely
Location: A lot of wonderful places to eat within walking distance!
All the employees were so helpful and provided us with a lot of facts about the hotel! It was so cozy-----we just LOVED IT!!! And some one wrote about hearing the train ----we never once heard it!!! Highly recommend this quaint hotel!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by C.L. from Long Island, NY

Close to Jefferson Hospitals

Posted Jan 30, 2014
Pros: It is different from other hotels. It feels like a new home. If one wants something different while on a short term business trip, this is perfect.
Cons: The heating panel is too close to the bed and blows the air right into you, I turned it off, kept the bathroom door open (separate space heater), OK.
Location: There are many places to eat and walk around safely. Big shopping place nearby.
It was a pleasant surprise to see this historic building turned into a bed and breakfast facility. The enormous size of the room is something I would like to have in NYC especially with the wall to wall bookcases. Perhaps, because it was not constructed to be a hotel, there are missing conveniences that may be important to others. There is no closet for clothes in the room assigned to me. There is an armoire with TV inside and clothes hanger as well. For me staying only for the night, this was not an issue. There is no tub and the shower is just right for me with smaller body frame. A heavier person might find this space challenging. There is some tremors in the room when a particular train passes by that may raise concern in someone who has not stayed in a city with trains. There were rooms above me and I heard no noises but there may not have been guests there for which I was very grateful. I am one of those who cannot sleep with noises around me. Overall, I will go back to this place.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Bed and Breakfast appeal

Posted Jan 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Charming small hotel that's really more like a bed and breakfast. Clean room with nice historic furnishings, plus fluffy pillow. Wireless was available in the guest rooms (listing isn't clear about that). Short walking distance to all of the independence park stuff, so the location couldn't be beat for the price. Staff was super nice. Tricky stuff: The front of the hotel actually faces St. James street, which will confuse the cabbies a bit. If you're an especially light sleeper, you probably won't appreciate the creaky floorboards and the rumbling of the subway line, but I thought it was part of the fun of a historic property.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Amanda from CT

Charming!

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
The staff could not have been nicer or more accommodating. Fires going in the fireplaces in the common room and breakfast room- so cozy- and an awesome breakfast. Would definitely come back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Cristen from Sheppard

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 5, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 25, 2013 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Big E from Alexandria, VA

Posted Dec 23, 2013
Pros: Very friendly staff, clean room, beautiful common areas.
Cons: Nothing. :)
Location: Downtown Philly - Everything is nearby, including Independence Hall, Philly Cheesesteaks, and Shopping.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Richard from Taiwan

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Dec 22, 2013 on Hotels.com