Ratings based on 1,051 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.0 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel walking distance to upenn

Posted Sep 15, 2014
The hotel was excellent and the hotel restaurant has really good breakfast. The only downside was the bathtub it needs to be remodeled otherwise the room was great.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

Very good in general but three bad marks

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: Extremely well situated for getting around Philadelphia. Helpful staff particularly when I wanted help in getting to somewhere in an outer suburb.
Cons: Get rid of that awful "music" in the reception area. Improve the WiFi system in the upper floors..
Location: I didn't visit many places in Philadelphia but I did find out that the city has an extensive train and bus system, so it's easy to get anywhere.
There were three reasons why this was not one of the best I have stayed at in the USA, The WiFi would not work satisfactorily in my room on the 14th floor so I have to keep going down to the reception area to get connected. Awful "music" was being played there continuously and I found that terribly annoying, Any sort of music in a hotel foyer is totally unnecessary anyway. I regret that I do not like far-eastern food and that was all that was available in this hotel in the evenings. Fortunately there are many alternative eating places around. I did have breakfasts in the hotel and I found the staff were very friendly and the food reasonable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

University City Hotel

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Cons: The elevators were not working properly during my stay. I had to wait a long time every time I needed one. Only 2 out of 4 were active.
The hotel location is very good if you go the Upenn or the surrounding areas. The room was comfortable and clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

dropping off my daughter for college!!!!

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: Serve breakfast inside hotel
Location: Safe to walk around streets, steak, seafood, café, pizza.
We have stayed at the Sheraton several times while touring colleges. We have enjoyed our stay every time.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Penn

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Elevators kept breaking down. Long waits to get on. Very annoying.
Great location for Penn Parents. Amenities are few. Beds VERY uncomfortable. Staff nice and helpful.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Northern NJ

Location ideal ..hotel is just okay

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Pros: Location, location location location Bed and bedding were great
Cons: As noted above
Location: U Penn, Drexel
Hotel is really close to U Penn and Drexel so location is great. Cab stand in front and Starbucks and many locations nearby Staffing is light - hotel has no valet, no place to drop luggage, must park in attached garage for $25 a day and bring in yourself. Room is fair -----long working table with lots of plugs outlets but bathroom was really tight (inches gap between shower and toilet, awkward storage below counter Wifi required multiple calls to help desk and came without clarification about need to log in (i.e. desk said just no password required) and needed reset daily and hard to come up on browser each day Room was okay..had several minor complaints that were ignored. Breakfast offered in adjacent Asian restaurant - friendly but very very slow even when empty.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Nice hotel, lots of facilities.

Posted Aug 6, 2014
I had a pleasant stay at the Sheraton Uni. Very good location for those who want to be near the university, but a bit faraway from the city centre (30-40 mn walking distance). A nice hotel, very clean, with good facilities. Breakfast and snack in the club lounge was also a good experience. I would recommend it for families and business travelers.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from N

Birthday celebration!

Posted Aug 1, 2014
Had to be in Philly over my husband's BDay and asked Evan at the front desk for recommendations for dinner and he was a wealth of information as well treated my husband like a King!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Harrisburg, PA

In the heart of the city

Posted Jul 14, 2014
Pros: Location, convenience of parking, and the gorgeous views from the rooms.
Location: Right in the heart of University City, you can take a beautiful walk through Penn's campus. Lots of shopping and charming restaurants along Sansom St.
This is one of my favorite hotels to stay at when I come to the city. Very close to Center City, everything about this hotel is just convenient. Parking garage is connected to the hotel and you can charge your parking to the incidentals. Rooms are clean and comfortable. If you have the extra cash, I would recommend the junior king suite. Hotel staff is very friendly and room service is prompt!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler from Boston

Overnight

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Good neighborhood near the University
Cons: See above about another restaurant, perhaps on their first floor which is taken up by conference rooms.
Location: Reasonable easy to get to the Mann Center, which was why I was in town.
Nice room, good parking facility, nice Chinese restaurant for lunch, but wish they had a breakfast restaurant within the hotel. Fortunately a nice little breakfast cafe down the block