Ratings based on 778 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Not pleased

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: Rooms where clean and location close to metro and main station for regional train.
Cons: Staff attitude and conditions of lobby during construction
Hotel undergoing construction at the entrance level, longer walk. Staff overall aggravated all the time. Area also under construction.
2 out of 5
by Brian from Montreal

under construction

Posted Apr 14, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Very Disappointed, high rise motel. The future plans look great, but how about letting the people know before booking that the hotel is getting renovated.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Under construction and not at all good place

Posted Apr 8, 2014
Pros: The staff.
Cons: I guess they are working in improving all of the hotel. So wait until is finished.
Location: Not a pretty neighborhood, centrally located at Market Street so you can walk to interesting places like city hall, the market, and convention center.
Staff was pleasing, hotel conditions are terrible since they are under construction. The room furniture was old and used. The new hotel photos look good, so wait and go when all construction is finished.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 12, 2014 by Ellen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback and we appreciate your honest comments. We are glad to hear that the staff was able accommodate you during your stay as we strive to provide excellent service even through renovation. We hope you will visit us again once we are complete and see our gorgeous new look!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JAQ from US

Completely Deceiving

Posted Apr 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
When I booked the hotel I booked it based on the information and photos available on the website. However, in reality they are going through a huge renovation and lack all the amenities they advertise. Don’t believe any of the photos posted here or on their website. Those photos are proposed designs / models and not actually what it currently is. There is no lobby, no bar/ restaurant, the rooms are tiny, and I never experienced such an uncomfortable pillow. For the same price I could have booked a much better hotel down the street. Maybe once the renovation is complete it will be a nicer hotel. However, the fact that they don’t tell you about the renovation and the photos are fake, is completely misleading and unacceptable. For that I can’t give them anything above two stars. The only redeeming quality was the location and the professionalism of the staff.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ann

Unknown Construction

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Common areas were under construction. No noise related complaints but a shock to see when I arrived.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by Ellen, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review and for your comments. We are working hard to minimize any impact the renovation is having on our current guests and I am glad that you were not disturbed during your stay. We hope that you will come back and see our finished product in the future!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The rooms are nice and clean but very small. The only parking made available was valet parking. I came to the hotel after 10pm and left at 6am and was charged $42 for parking. It would have been less than half the price to use a parking meter, absolutely ridiculous parking charge in a neighborhood with plenty of other parking for much less than $42 for less than 8 hours.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

It was only fair

Posted Apr 3, 2014 on Hotels.com
The website did not disclosed that they were under-construction; which began 7am-8pm during my three day stay. The restaurant was closed and the lobby decor was unsightly. I was so sad that I had pre-paid to stay at Sonnesta.
2 out of 5
Recommended
by KR from Boston, MA

Posted Apr 2, 2014 on Hotels.com
No fridge in the room, phones not working. Restaurant shut down earlier this month. Lobby being reno'd now and entry is an absolute disaster, smells. "Reception area" is a makeshift corner of a..hallway?conference room? I can only hope they extend the reno to the ancient looking guest rooms. Amazing they charge what they do given the current condition of the hotel. Pros: Convenient location, friendly accommodating staff
2 out of 5
by m from SF

Under renovation

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: see above
Cons: see above
Location: Smiths on 19th good casual bar/restaurant
Totally get that on occasion hotels renovate. What is inexcusable is that this hotel was not up front about the renovation underway when i mad a reservation. Clearly i would have sought an alternative but there were not forthcoming with this info.Arrival area, entryway and lobby were totally torn apart. Elevators were covered in cardboard, no hotel services, wifi did not work. Again, just be up front about what is going on when the reservation is made. Because of this not inclined to return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 5, 2014 by Ellen, Hotel Management
We appreciate your feedback and thank you for sharing it. As we work to improve the hotel for the better, all of our services, except for the lobby restaurant, are available. Our concierge is on duty daily to assist with restaurant recommendations and reservations and our business center, fitness center and In-Room Dining are all still open. We wish we could have provided you with a better stay and hope that you will give us another opportunity once we are complete!