Ratings based on 77 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
90% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Philadelphia, PA

How Rude

Posted Nov 24, 2014
The owner of this B&B was very rude and unwelcoming. She greeted me with an attitude, walked into my room without knocking or asking if it was ok, and began to shout at me because I told her I would be checking out early so I would not need the complimentary breakfast. She made me feel very uncomfortable. I will never stay here again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified travelerfrom Grand Rapids, MI

Quiet and convenient.

Posted Sep 20, 2014
Pros: Quiet & Convenient
Cons: Stair width and bed.
Location: Close to Amtrak station and major roads.
Narrow stairs to second floor room were a challenge with suitcases and a walking cane. Bed was too soft for an old body and only a rain shower head is for the much younger set. I was glad to experience the shower before I had one installed in my home. Plastic mattress cover was a turn off. Great host and outstanding breakfasts!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Overnight Stay Before Destination
by Pennyfrom On the Road

Quaint and Eclectic in Philadelphia

Posted Sep 20, 2014 on Hotels.com
Chelle makes an awesome breakfast! Also her suggestion about following the river walk up to the Philadelphia Museum of Art was spot on. Wed nights, they are open late and you pay what you want for admission. It was a win-win situation for me. Thank you for everything.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Tomfrom Chicago

Recommend

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had a very nice stay at South Bridge B&B. Chelle the owner is personable and accommodating. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The location is situated in a residential area convenient to Penn University and Rittenhouse square. The heart of the Center City business district is close by, little over a mile. Public transportation is available nearby.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by JandTfrom West Coast

Hidden Gem

Posted Aug 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
If you have a problem with cats or you want the characterless sterility of a typical downtown hotel, look elsewhere. If you like eclectic decor, a friendly and interesting hostess, and want to feel like you are actually part of the quirky center city neighborhood near UPenn, then this is the place for you. Easy access to the river walk, restaurants, train stations and the university/hospital. I was not a big fan of Philly before this visit, but staying at the South Bridge B&B changed my mind.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It was so bad I refused to stay there

Posted Aug 4, 2014
BAD OK I WANT MY MONEY BACK//////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////////BYE
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Pamfrom Dallas

Lovely Bed & Breakfast

Posted Jul 26, 2014 on Hotels.com
We very much enjoyed our stay and would definitely return. Delicious breakfasts and the location is perfect if you are visiting a Drexel or Penn student. Right on a bus line and in a lovely neighborhood. Chelle was a charming hostess.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Sasha

Posted Jul 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Our room was very clean and comfortable. The location is very pretty and the park around the corner is an easy short cut to 30th street station and many museums. The owner of the bed and breakfast is very nice and helpful. She will cook you an amazing gourmet breakfast! It would have been nice to have an accessible mini fridge and microwave. Overall it was a very satisfying stay.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A disappointed travelerfrom Columbus, MS

Neither convenient nor clean!

Posted Jun 27, 2014 on Hotels.com
I had asked the hotels.com agent for a place close to the Amtrak Station....not close at all, actually, unless you're up for a mile walk...it's very obvious this lady doesn't like having guests in her home...she's just in it for income...she won't let you go to your room early, even to just drop off your luggage......she has cats and what a nightmare! when we came out of our room to go out for supper, there was a HUGE pile of cat feces on the landing outside our room! The linens on the bed were old and very worn..."rubbed up, nubby".....the towels in the bathroom were very worn as well... there were numerous "picks" on them....it wasn't in an upscale area, as we had been told....as a matter of fact, we put our chair with luggage in it in front of the door before going to bed.....the next morning at breakfast, on the floor right beside the table where we ate breakfast, there was a tray of cat food and also a tray of cat litter! The kitchen and her living area appeared to be a big mess.....She did serve an interesting breakfast, but not something that a man would enjoy so much...my husband was disappointed......We left immediately afterward and were so glad to be gone from there.....If this lady wants to have a bed and breakfast establishment, she need to go all out or get out.....either stick to being a cat lady or make up her mind to do it right.....We would never ever consider staying here again!