Ratings based on 377 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from melbourne, australia

Excellent hotel in good position and quiet.

Posted May 9, 2015
Pros: The nice rooms
Location: Very central and within walking distance of most things in the city to visit or to eat .
This is a lovely boutique hotel with beautiful large rooms which are comfortable and tastefully decorated. The staff are helpful and most obliging. My stay was perfect for the 4 nights I spent in Philadelphia. Also good value for a hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from California

Fantastic hotel

Posted Apr 16, 2015
Pros: Location, staff, room size and bed
Cons: Nothing.
Location: Everything is within walking distance
It was a fantastic three-night stay at the Independent hotel. The staff were really kind and accomodating. They went out of their way to make our stay really enjoyable. The rooms were big and clean. This boutique hotel reminded me of the hotels in Europe. Don't miss out on the opportunity.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from brisbane, australia

Great hotel, very friendly staff

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Great hotel, very friendly and helpful staff and location is perfect-you can walk pretty much everywhere in the city. Big rooms and very clean, good new bathrooms stocked with l'occitane toiletries. There is a microwave and a mini fridge, which is great, however there is no hot water jug or any crockery or cutlery. Only complaint is the pillows were pretty uncomfortable and lumpy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pamela from chicago

good hotel

Posted Apr 2, 2015 on Hotels
Charming hotel in a great location!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Daniel from Baltimore

Good but know what to expect.

Posted Mar 29, 2015 on Hotels
Everything was pretty good except that the lower floors on the street side get a lot of street noise (when there is some). It happened when I was there this week and it kept me up all night. Also the hotel is often understaffed with just one person manning the reception desk etc. If that person is tied up helping a guest your calls to the front desk can go unanswered for a very long time. Otherwise the rooms are very nice, spacious, etc.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by john, Hotel Management
Dear Daniel, Thank you for choosing the independent hotel for your stay in Philadelphia, We also appreciate your time you spent to give us your feedback, as it is very important to know where we stand in order to improve and meet your needs, in the meantime we apologize for the inconvenience that was caused due to the street noise, in the future visit please do not hesitate to give us a call in advance as we may need to update your profile in our system to make sure to assign you in a room located on the high level, we always will try to do our best to accommodate and meet your request. Again we thank you and looking forward to your next stay with us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Ori from תל אביב

לילה מצוין במלון Independant

Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
מיקום מעולה. חדרים גדולים. ריהוט מרשים. אחלה מקום
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 28, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

comfortable central city hotel

Posted Mar 26, 2015
Very comfortable bed, central location, reasonably quiet and very nice staff
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 31, 2015 by John B, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the independent hotel, your feedback is so important to us and very much appreciated. We appreciate your business and looking forward to your next stay with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Independently Happy

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
Location was great and very pleased with the size and cleanliness of the room. Welcoming, comfortable lobby. A little noisy during the early morning hours as our room was adjacent to the lobby.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by john, Hotel Management
Dear value guest, We are so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we also so proud of it, The independent hotel staff is looking forward to serve you again in the near future. We appreciate your business and our sincere apologizes for the noise sounds you experienced during your stay. please feel free to contact us in the future reservation and we will do our best to assign you to a room that a little far from the lobby area as we also can add such request to your profile to make sure we meet such request in advance. Sincerely,
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Maria from Portland

Very nice, clean and convenient!

Posted Mar 26, 2015 on Hotels
Very nice and comfortable rooms. Clean, with hardwood flooring. Friendly and helpful staff. Convenient lotion with nice cafes and restaurants around. Walking distance from the Convention Center and the Independence Hall.
Comment from Hotel Management
May 30, 2015 by john, Hotel Management
Dear Maria, We are so honored to have you as our guest and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback is very much appreciated it , and looking forward to have you again at the independent hotel, next time you visit Philadelphia. Sincerely,