Ratings based on 29 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Well located, comfortable Hotel

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: Location Good Food quality and choice Good bed Great staff
Cons: Room noise levels when in rooms that have ajoining doors
Sunway Hotel is very well located in central Phnom Penh, close to the river and good eating area. The Hotel is clean and staff friendly and efficient. Great place to return to.
2 out of 5
by Alex from Ottawa, Canada

Great location but outdated facility

Posted May 20, 2014
Pros: Bar at lobby - very attentive staff! As mentioned - if you're there try SPA. All girls are very good and you'll feel refreshed after
Cons: Facility is old and long due for renovation! Breakfast - is awful.
Location: Well, there is not much you can do in this city. You are next to night market but it works only Fri-Sun. Visit S-21 prison or genocide museum!
This facility is most definitely due for renovation! Breakfast - is just terrible!!! Staff in the restaurant is ignorant and they are not pay any attention to customers. The only positive experience is Spa - very, very professional! Also I would love to notice very good internet connection.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Honest review from All over dawg all over

A perfect review

Posted May 5, 2014
It is a grand older hotel next to the US embassy. It is a tour used hotel with very kind staff.But that is in all of Cambodia. Room is clean not perfect but clean Harder than needed beds. Breakfast was o.k. That means it had the usual for a large hotel buffet. Not great.coffee was a bit tired but o.k. Safe feeling at the hotel.Guardmen outside. Tuk tuk drivers not allowed in which is good They will get you one in 3 seconds Dont be a tool and negotiate to cheap a price to the S21 high School torture musuem. Give this hotel a Phnom Penh 4 But if it was in Siem Reap or Saigon more like a 3.5 By all means great if you dont like the smaller artsy fartsy hotels a bit closer on the river. One downer no pool.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

very nice

Posted Apr 10, 2014
It was a pleasant experience, the staff was very helpful and curtious.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Great staff but AC needs work. Altogether I give it A-.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good location. Better than Naga. No tobacco smell.

Posted Mar 11, 2014
Good staff. Accommodations dated but good for Cambodia
2 out of 5
by Aloha, from Hawaii

I made a mistake in choosing the Sunway hotel.

Posted Feb 6, 2014
Pros: The breakfast buffet was excellent.
We requested Sunway hotel for the airport pickup, but nobody was waiting for us at the airport. When we arrived at the hotel by a taxi and went to the lobby and the check in counter, I had a feeling that I made a mistake in choosing the hotel. Sunway hotel is supposed to be a 4 star hotel but it's no where near my expectations. What most bothered me when we stayed was that our room's wall to the next room was like paper. We could hear everything from the room beside us. We were not comfortable staying in this hotel, therefore we moved out from the hotel for two nights even though we paid for 4 nights. However, the breakfast buffet was excellent. My advice to viewers is to book one night and get a feeling of the hotel, if you don't like it then take a look at another hotel unless it's high season.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by vignesh

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 19, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good location

Posted Jan 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very comfy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Bob from Shrewsbury, UK

Good hotel but overall impression spoilt by lifts

Posted Nov 11, 2013
Pros: Staff service was friendly and helpful
Cons: Lift maintenance
Location: Excellent riverside restaurants not far away.
Good hotel but overall impression marred by the fact that neither lift in the main lobby was working. Had to use service lift or service stairs and both were a bit grubby. Hotel does not have its own swimming pool but nearby Raffles Hotel pool is superb and can be used on purchase of a Raffles day pass at a cost of 25 USD - worth every penny! Would not recommend walking down to the river at night from the hotel unless you go in a party of 4 or more, as parts of the route are poorly lit and pavements in very poor state.