Ratings based on 847 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
98% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Amazing grounds, but facilities need an upgrade

Posted May 19, 2015
Pros: Grounds are stunning, amazing views, spa was relatively good, multiple pools, walking trails, excellent service
Cons: The casitas have had some upgrades but are still dated, the small details that you'd expect in a 5-star were missing here
Stayed for 4 nights. Amazing grounds, service is excellent. Golf looked great but didn't take part. Loved the vegetation and the walking trails on the property were wonderful. Food is good but not amazing. Overall I think this resort has all the potential to be amazing but they really need to pay attention to the small details and go over and above if they want to really be a 5-star. There have been some upgrades that you can see, but seemed like they cut corners and just did the basics. Casitas have dated bathrooms and shower heads that don't even stay up so you have to splash yourself with the water. The sliding doors in our unit didn't close properly (old and warped) and so we couldn't have the windows open. Our casita looked straight into a service room which wasn't private and no view - maybe not a big deal if our shutters had been able to actually close properly on the windows instead of a 3-inch gap. We had torrential rain and had to stay in and decided to watch a movie - then found they don't offer any kind of pay per view and you have to request a DVD player and a DVD from the concierge. It's 2015! Restaurant bathrooms are old metal doored stalls that you'd see in a cheap bar. The spa was beautiful but oddly they missed it on the details - cheap spa products, 80's hairdryers, etc. I was expecting it to be top-notch given you're paying Waldorf prices.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
We stayed overnight in a casita that was clean and well maintained. It is clearly an older facility. Beautiful grounds and the boulders are spectacular. It is a quiet, relaxing resort and probably not the best resort for rambunctious families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted May 18, 2015
Had to leave early due to family emergency. Very comfortable, quiet and private location. Will come back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom frankort, il

Very private; Cater to your Needs!

Posted May 16, 2015
Very private settings! Felt like you were staying in a house. Patio was very private. Staff was extremely courteous. Jeff and Bob were aprime examples of this! Edwardo who was filling in temporarily (gone back to Texas) was great. Pedro ant the grill@ the golf course was engaging and nice. Overall I really liked our stay
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom san diego, ca

Beautiful high desert paradise

Posted May 6, 2015
Gorgeous place... Beautiful accommodations ... Terrific staff. Lots of birds and other wild life... I'm not a golfer but the golf course was beautiful and looked challenging....I would definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Toronto

Excellent

Posted May 2, 2015
Very nice. Comfortable, Clean, Scenic and friendly courteous staff.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, Ne

Best Girls trip ever

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: everything
Cons: Really not much . I could have used a second patio chair but brought the cushioned inside chair out to patio. The bath tub was a little scratched
Location: Go to Alberto's for dinner...a couple minutes from resort & the food and staff are amazing...
This experience was top notch. A friend & I wanted to get away for a few days & do just relaxing fun stuff. So we went to the internet to find the perfect trip and after much exploring & investigation we decided to lean on my past trip to The Boulders a very long time ago. Bought the package deal and thought no more of it. I was a bit nervous because my friend was relying completely on my judgment. Thank you Boulders for being the BEST ...from the minute we pulled up in our rental car the staff was amazing. Polite, friendly & so helpful. Always wanting to do more for us. The best part was the daily gratuity package that is added to cost of room. We came & went many times from the resort & I never worried about a single gratuity for valets, bag assistance etc. Now the spa!!!! Oh how wonderful. And I'm not just talking about the awesome relaxing services and amenities they offer but the classes and Spa Café. The food was too delicious. I can not say one thing about the resort that is negative. Believe me I am a seasoned traveler & quite a fussy lady but no worries if you go here. Enjoy your trip.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 22, 2015 by Boulders Resort Management Team, Hotel Management
Karen, Greetings from the beautiful Boulders Resort in Carefree, Arizona. We are so glad to hear that you had such a wonderful friends getaway. We hope that you had a wonderful and relaxing time with us at the resort, exploring our surrounding areas, and amazing dinner at Alberto’s. We hope you had the opportunity to experience not only our Spa, but our beautiful walking and hiking trails as well. Thank you for your kind words, we will definitely forward them to our team members. We hope you have created wonderful memories with us, and we look forward to welcoming your return soon. Best Regards,
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 1, 2015
Incredible resort with natural beauty, great service, wonderful food and overall a great place to relax and recharge in the desert.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Seattle, WA

Not Quite a 5 Star

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Location and overall atmosphere of the property.
Cons: This hotel was understaffed - see overall review.
Summary. The Boulders is a beautiful property, situated in a very posh area of Scottsdale. I found the grounds and most of the facilities to be 1st class... however, a beautiful golf course and impressive spa lobby does not a 5-star resort make. Last year we stayed at the Four Seasons, but unfortunately they weren’t available this year and they lived up to our expectations and beyond, The Boulders was disappointing. Also, if you are a person that values diversity in any way, shape or form, this hotel appears to have gone out of its way to exclude Latinos from any customer service roles; the entire staff is white and the only Latinos you see (in a region that is KNOWN for its Latino population) are house and groundskeepers, pretty sad. Pros: • Gorgeous well maintained grounds. • Friendly staff and engaged staff. I can honestly say there was only 1 person I wasn’t impressed with, but there’s always one… right? • Our room was the Boulder Casita suite, which was very spacious and had a very private patio area. Cons: • ROOM SMELLED HORRIBLE: from fireplace being used by previous guests with the flu closed apparently. We reported it to the bellman that dropped us at our room, but he just opened the flu and didn’t offer anything else. Our clothes smelled the entire time we were there. • THE PROPERTY IS UNDERSTAFFED. We had breakfast twice at the spa, both times there was only 1 server there and it took 45 minutes to get a simple meal (20 minutes was spent at the table waiting fo
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 26, 2015 by The Boulders Mananagement team, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our beautiful Sonoran Desert locale, spacious Casita accommodations, and “friendly and engaging” team members. Please accept our sincerest apologies for the inconveniences you experienced during your stay. We strive to exceed expectations for all our guests. We have shared your concerns with our Executive Management team. It is through guests such as yourself that we are able to identify areas of improvement and continue to provide unparalleled service to all of our guests. Best Regards, The Boulders Management Team
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Mar 12, 2015
Spectacular property with impeccable service and wonderful staff.