Ratings based on 832 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary Canada

If you like quiet Carefree is the place

Posted Nov 17, 2014
Pros: Quiet and comfortable.
Cons: More restaurants and maybe longer Bar hours.
Location: Hiking. Galleries, swimming, small shops of local artisans. Star gazing out of the city lights. It is only 10 mins from Scotsdale.
It was quiet away from the hustle and bustle of the Big city noises. The weather was exceptional, for mid- November . We hiked and enjoyed the pools. And really Loved the small town feel of unique little shops and Artisans and galleries.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Martha Lopez, Hotel Management
Hello a.e.p Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the pool as well as the grounds! We hope you visit us again soon! Thank you Kristen Brodie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom saskatchewan

Nice relaxing place

Posted Nov 17, 2014
We had a great time. Stayed here for a week. staff was friendly and helpful. We would stay again.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Martha Lopez, Hotel Management
Hello Bobby Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and had a great encounter with our staff! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you, Kristen Brodie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom MICHIGAN

Great vacation

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: Great location close enough to everything I wanted to see and expierence
Location: DIFFERENT TYPES OF SHOPPING GOLF RESTAURANTS SIGHTSEEING
First night room was not what I had expected but talked to staff and they were very accommodating in trying to change room when one became available and they did so
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Martha Lopez, Hotel Management
Hello Fred Thank you so much for your review! I am sorry to hear about the first room not meeting your expectations. However, I am happy to hear our staff was helpful with moving you to something more upgraded. We hope you stay with us again soon! Thank you Kristen Brodie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom La Conner, WA

Vintage Nostalgic -

Posted Nov 14, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: The hotel is in it's original form. No weird remodels... it is quite lovely overall
Location: hiking, fabulous restaurants, Mountains, Art Festivals, Galleries, Boutique Shopping, Colorful Locals... Fun!
Wonderful ambience - Gorgeous Setting. My husband was amazed that he had never tried the Carefree Inn before. Quiet, Serene - Nice size rooms
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Martha Lopez, Hotel Management
Hello Debbie Thank you so much for your review! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the resort grounds as well as your room! We hope to see you again soon! Thank you Kristen Brodie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Ottawa, ON

A real getaway

Posted Nov 13, 2014
Pros: The rooms were a good size, had an empty fridge, which was perfect. There was a grocery store nearby. The place is clean, the gardens are well-kept
Cons: More information about the nearby town of Careful. :-)
Location: It is tricky to find businesses nearby as there are not a lot of signs advertising them. You need to look for them, which was nice - no sign pollutio
It was a bit difficult to find the hotel in the dark late at night, but we had a GPS that got us there. This is a nice property, even though we requested a room with a pool view and we didn't get it, our view was better, the mountains. Everything about this hotel was good in our experience. We had the buffet breakfast twice, was yummy. We had a smaller pool near our unit which was better as it was quiet. We had parking close to our unit. The only thing we missed was the small town nearby, slightly north of the hotel, which we didn't find until the evening before we were leaving and everything was closed.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 19, 2014 by Martha Lopez, Hotel Management
Hello Cathy, Thank you so much for your review. We are very happy that you enjoyed our resort and had a good breakfast in our restaurant. Maybe on your next trip you can take advantage of our wonderful happy hour. Hope to see yo again soon. Thank you, Martha
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great stay

Posted Nov 9, 2014
Quiet location. Beautiful well kept grounds. Staff very friendly, welcoming and helpful. Great happy hour in bar with reduced price drinks and appetizers. Only ate breakfast at Lariat restaurant- food mediocre, but great service. We recommend and would stay here again. Hotel staff the best!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Martha Lopez, Hotel Management
Hello Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed the grounds and had an excellent encounter with our staff! We hope you visit us again soon! Thank you Kristen Brodie
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wicked Crawl

Posted Nov 6, 2014
I live in Phoenix. We have stayed here several times for different events in Cavecreek. We love it! This weekend was for the Wicked Pub Crawl for Halloween. Day time was for the kids, night time for us adults. We reserved 3 rooms for our group. It's an excellent option for those of us in the valley to escape for a day or two....
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 23, 2014 by Martha Lopez, Hotel Management
Hello Thank you so much for your review! We are glad to hear you enjoyed your stay with us and were able to enjoy the town events! We hope you visit us again soon! Thank you Kristen Brodie
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tucson

Fabulously restored retro 60's Resort

Posted Nov 1, 2014
Pros: Just about everything. Staff and grounds were probably the best.
Cons: Although the rooms were spacious and beautiful the bathroom and shower were dark. A minor inconvenience.
Location: The scenery is wonderful, downtown Carefree was quaint. We were there during an art festival. Plenty of Golf and Golf tournaments.
I just loved this place. It was so retro 1960 and so beautifully maintained. The room was spacious and beautifully decorated. The restaurant was very good and the staff extremely pleasant. The grounds were meticulously groomed desert landscaping. You could just imagine old Hollywood lounging by the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by Martha Lopez, Hotel Management
Hello Sara, Thank you so much for your review! We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay! I am happy to hear that you had a positive encounter with the staff and were able to enjoy the restaurant! We look forward to seeing you again soon! Thank you, Kristen Brodie
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Chicago

Noisy hotel

Posted Oct 31, 2014
The town of Carefree is absolutely great. There was a wedding the weekend we stayed there. We went to use the washroom in the lobby by the restaurant OMG. The mess and the smell kept us away. Around 2am we woke to screams The bridal party was drunk. It took more than an hour to settle them down. Be careful from the hot water in the bathroom, cause it's rreally HOT. I mean, burning, hot. When we checked out we were told there was a FEE of $21.86 to be paid!!!! Parking, WIFI etc. Ripp off, big time. I will not come back to this hotel.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by Martha Lopez, Hotel Management
Hello Edi, Thank you so much for your review! We appreciate you bringing this up to our attention as this feedback helps us identify where we need to improve to provide the best service possible. We have informed our Director of Operations as well as Upper Management of your comments as that is definitely not the standard to which we operate. We are glad to hear you enjoyed the town of Carefree! We hope you give us another opportunity and visit us again soon. Thank you, Kristen Brodie
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2014
All around bad experience. Not worth the time to type. Will never return.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 6, 2014 by Martha Lopez, Hotel Management
Hello, Thank you so much for your review. We appreciate your feedback and apologize for the bad experience you encountered at our resort. We hope you give us another opportunity and visit us again soon. Thank you, Kristen Brodie