Ratings based on 902 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.4 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

great economical retreat

Posted Jun 12, 2015
Great surprise for my employees for another out of town trip. they loved it
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Disappointing.

Posted May 11, 2015
Pros: The pool
Cons: See comments
Location: Carefree and Cave Creek have many shops and restaurants to explore.
Thinking Carefree, AZ plus resort and spa, I was excited to stay here. However, it was disappointing. The pool was lovely and heated and the food in the restaurant was reasonably priced and good. The walls in the rooms are paper-thin, allowing me to hear the people next door sneeze. Housekeeping couldn't bother to put the pillow shams back on the bed and left them on the floor! The bathroom was dark and the ceiling fan didn't work. When a bulb burnt out and we reported it, it was never fixed. The beds were comfortable enough but the pillows were mis-matched and thin. The location was great for our purposes. We did not have time to use the spa or tennis courts. They do have bicycle rentals for a nominal fee per hour. Overall, it was (in my opinion) a mediocre "resort". Certainly not horrible but not excellent either.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Nice hotel resort with a 1950's vibe

Posted Apr 19, 2015
Pros: Although the location of the hotel seem to be in the middle of nowhere. The resort feels like an oasis in the desert.
Cons: The banging of guest's doors is very loud. The shower curtain was old and absolutely disgusting. Basically the bathroom needs a complete renovation!!
Location: There are a few western/country style pubs, restaurants and shops about 15 minutes away by car and Scottsdale is about 25 minutes drive from the hotel
The Carefree Resort's is in a quiet, isolated area, I think this place would appeal mostly to couples that want to get away from the city noise and also dog owners that travel with their pets. There's a beautifully landscaped garden where you can stroll and be surrounded by nature, in the early evenings you can hear crickets and the native birds sing.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
Took a weekend get-away with my girlfriend. This resort was a bit isolated, but proved to be extremely quiet and peaceful. The facilites here were excellent, especially the spa. I would most definitely come again for another get-away from the city.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 15, 2015
You guys are great. Thank you for a lovely experience. Ps. I'd like to meet the person who designed the pool area. Absolutely gorgeous!!! Thank you again.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chicago, IL

Comfortable and secluded

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: The personnel and the location of the property.
Cons: I would suggest a map of local stores to purchase groceries, food vendors that deliver and other restaurants in the vicinity.
Location: The local stores and bars were nice and nearby. But we had to find them on our own.
My family and i were definately happy with the facility, personnel and overall experience. I unfortunately cannot give this a good rating on the condition of the facilites. Our room had some repairs that were done and left very poorly. The edges of the drywall, where the ceramic tile ended, was patched very poorly. It was consistent thru out the rooms and a sore spot to look at. Disappointing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Montreal, Canada

A pleasant place for the whole family

Posted Apr 10, 2015
Pros: The staff was very friendly and usually extremely helpful. The location and setting is ideal.
Cons: At very busy times there appeared not to be enough staff to handle the workload, particularly in the bedrooms. Dining room staff didn't pin long hair
Location: The location is good. Reasonable shopping nearby. We enjoyed climbing the local hills and exploring some of the desert trails.
In general we enjoyed our stay very much. This is a lovely resort.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from oregon

Nice place to stay if you don't require sleep!

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: It was near a family members residence. Beautiful setting and a great place to have a wedding, etc.
Cons: Separation of space, soundproofing, and cleanliness. The fragrance use was way too strong and lighting could be improved.
Beautiful place with nice amenities. The problem, which to me was a big one was the noise factor! I had to make two calls to guest services, the latest being at 1:38 am to request a security sweep again. An entire wedding party had their rehearsal that day and continued to party out on their patios right beneath me. Yelling, laughing, and swearing. Also the pool, which is lovely must not have limited hours as by 8 am there were several loud children enjoying it. Getting six hours of rest here is a huge challenge!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Denise P from Cedar Crest, NM

Beautiful resort

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
quick 1 night stay for a golf tournament at a nearby course.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Yes and No

Posted Apr 3, 2015
I should have paid more attention. This would be a great place to take your spouse or family. For business, not so much. The property is laid out for privacy and security. This means you may walk over a 1/4 mile to get from your parking to your room, since the lobby is about the sole entry point. Not great after a You are also about 10 miles or h of anywhere your business would take you in Scottsdale. hr.day Additionally you are charged a $12 resort fee per day, when I asked what it was for I was told 2 waters in the room and then her voice trailed off. Beautiful property in a beautiful part of Arizona, just not practical for business.