Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Trudy and Steve from NS Canada

Great Hotel excellent food

Posted Apr 9, 2014
Pros: Close to great restaurants including the Hotel's and lots of entertainment The staff were fantastic. Our room was always cleaned daily
Cons: The wakeup call and the ice machine on the 3rd floor. Perhaps mini fridges would be nice
Location: Golf and lots of entertainment, great restaurants
Great Hotel only 2 problems - 1 the ice machine did not work on the 3rd floor. The 2nd and most important problem which I'm emailing them today (we just got home yesterday) is we did not receive not 1 but 2 WAKEUP CALLS- Very important! I'm not sure why they have a problem with this The 1st was for golf which we ended up being late for our Tee Time, The Crown Plaza has a wake-up call policy that states your night is free if you do not receive your call within a 5 min. time period. When I called the front desk I was transferred 3 times and finally told that the Day Manager would be informed and because we booked through Expedia it would take some time to be refunded and they would get back to me later that day- never heard from anyone. Same evening we call about our Wake-up call for the next day confirmed yes by the front desk. Guess what no call and we are catching our plane so I called the front desk and a girl tells us that the policy is not in effect because we booked thru Expedia???Anyway we had to leave and we just got home yesterday so I'm going to try to get in touch today with someone. I was not expecting 2 nights free however if that's their guarantee I feel it should be honored no matter who it was booked thru. Other than that our stay was wonderful
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Pool was exceptionally nice...very clean.

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Rooms were very spacious and quiet. Like having food available without having to go out all the time..especially when we were in the pool
Cons: Hallways could have been a little cleaner....seemed there were lots of bird droppings but am sure it is hard with the hallways being outside.
Location: Location is ok...easy to get to.
Resort staff were very accomadating. Bathroom could have been a little cleaner. This was my third time staying there and I would probably stay there again. It should be really nice when all the revovating is completed. Restaurant was very nice.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

close to downtown Chandler

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: the restaurant & staff we very good!
Tub backed up during the night (no one using it!) & left black "gunk" in the bottom of the tub. No refrigerator in the room. But did get one delivered when we asked for one. Housing keeping did a very good job of straightened out our room every day & making sure we had towels, shampoo, etc.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Paco from nogales

Service

Posted Mar 9, 2014
They don't weak me up at we request and was late for my appointment, too bad
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor accommodation

Posted Mar 4, 2014
Pros: Bright and beautiful outside but my room was leaking on the outside.
The place was leaking and my room door was wet and lift was out of order. I have to carry 4 big languages down from level 2 to exit. I was late for my airport shuffle to the airport.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by T from Tempe, AZ

Over night stay for My Daughters birthday.

Posted Feb 25, 2014
Pros: The whole experience.
Cons: communications between front desk regarding staff..
Location: Lots of neat places to eat, see, lots of History. They have something every weekend regarding entertainment.. They had a neat antique car last wknd.
The room I had booked was not available when we arrived, and seemed it hadn't been put into system.. I did book on-line, [Expedia] but call San Marcos 4 days before we arrived to check everything went, through and speaking to front desk they are the ones who booked the room location. Anyway, we got another room; The room was so nice and clean I was pleased with the room. I had ordered some amenities, to arrive before we dot to the room to surprise my daughter, they were not in the room, they did after waiting two hours for them to take of this, but my daughter was happy. The food at A.J'S is pretty good for the price, and the brunch is pretty good. The pool is wonderful! Hotel is really close to other close to restaurants so that is a plus. I would recommend this property.. Our waitress was Linda, she is awesome! Hotel staff really nice. I would go back.. From Tempe, AZ
3 out of 5
by Greg from Brooklyn, NY

Not really for me. I would do it twice

Posted Feb 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Cons: Hotel needs a major upgrade.
Location: you can walk to restaurants and bars so no need to drink and drive.
I chose this Hotel because I wsn't really going to be in it. I Just needed a place to rest my head. everything was nice except no fridge in the room. I could have gotten one from downstairs probably for a fee but I wasn't in the room for long periods except to sleep so it didn't really matter. the Furniture doesn't match. They have a very nice red oak headboard but the rest of the furniture looks like bad formica. the Iron in the room barely worked it just kept turning off and on when it felt like it. The elevator is like an old death trap. I walked up and down 4 floors as I wasn't going to be the one stuck on it. The ice machine on my floor didn't produce ice, I had to go down one floor to get ice. Honestly I compare this place to a holiday Inn. I chose it because if its a golf resort, I thought It might be a little on the 3 going on 4 stars but its a hard 3. Next time I will go to the holiday inn and save a few bucks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cory from Winnipeg

Go for the golf, stay for the beer.

Posted Feb 8, 2014
Pros: Having a golf course next door is great.
Cons: The shower drain was pretty slow, but that is a chronic problem with most hotels. The lack of a fridge made us need to use a cooler.
Location: See above.
This hotel layout makes for a nice quiet stay. The golf course is one of the greenest and well-kept in the Phoenix area. The salt-water hot tub is huge and clean with complimentary towels. Despite Chandler being a sleepy town, there are a few decent nightspots within a couple blocks for those looking to whoop it up, especially Bourbon Jack's and San Tan Brewing. The sushi place across the street to the north has a great selection of $2 plates on a conveyor belt, and Guedo's nearby has authentic mexican food. There is even a Starbuck's right in the main building. My only complaints were minor: the message light on our phone blinked the entire stay, as none of the front desk staff could tell me how to access my message. The other complaint is the extra $10/day "hotel fee" dropped on the last day. But with great wifi, free parking, and rental cars on-site that can be dropped at the airport, I would recommend this hotel.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Noisy

Posted Feb 2, 2014
We had a gang of guests playing loud music all night and even if we called three times no response from the front desk. Music ended 4.30 in the morning Carl Nylander
2 out of 5
by Margaret from Tucson, AZ

Historical Hotel Disappoints

Posted Jan 28, 2014
Pros: Not much. The lobby area was nice and the breakfast buffet was adequate. The room was clean except the toilet was dirty. The maid did not clean it.
Cons: More attention to their guests' needs. More friendly staff.
Location: We were staying for three days for our daughter's wedding so we did not have time to visit any attractions in the area.
When we checked into the San Marcos for a 3-night stay, there were two employees chatting with the check-in clerk. They continued to chat while we stood there. Seeing that we were not going to be helped, I went to another clerk who was not paying any attention to us, and pushed our reservation his way and said we wanted our room. No one made an attempt to help us with luggage. In front of our hotel room's doorway was a small refrigerator and a tray of dirty dishes. In our room which had no clock, no trash cans, and no heat, we called the front desk asking for these items to be supplied, and asked to have the dirty dishes removed. It took several calls to accomplish the tasks. Someone from electrical came by to fix the heat--to no avail. The next morning a maintenance man came to fix the heat, and he told us that the room should never have been occupied because it was slated for maintenance due to the heating problem. He said we should ask for another room and we did. We demanded compensation for all the difficulties. We were given 2 free breakfasts for two mornings and the added room fee was deleted from our bill. It certainly was not enough to compensate for the bad service and the condition of the room. We will never stay here again and we will not recommend San Marcos to our friends.