Ratings based on 414 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.6 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
3.7 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.5 Room comfort
3.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

For the summer price it was ok.

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: I like that it was a free breakfast. It basic eggs and meat with choices of bread and cereal. It fed us. My daughter loved the pool. There are 2
Cons: The a/c in the room is only in the front part and not in the bedroom. I prefer the bedroom COLD!!!
I got the room for a cheap price due to the summer rates. It was only one night so I tolerated the room.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London, U.K.

convenient location by I10

Posted Aug 23, 2014
Cons: The TVs are outdated but work; bathroom shower was difficult to handle, faucet was barely working so all sanitary equipment is in need of overhaul.
Pools are smaller than they appear on the pictures but were clean and in order; staff was actually helpful in retracing my cords I left in the room after I had checked out; had to make many calls but finally it was secured. So overall good location (not far is a Walmart) and for the money I spent absolutely appropriate and normal.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 7, 2014
Its a very good option to travel under tight budget because its a great location near everything you need for shopping, and has a very nice pool and Spa.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Seattle

Watch out when weather is hot

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Price
Cons: See above
After checking in at 10:00pm we found our room with the air conditioning off (apparently all day) despite the temperature reaching 113 degrees that day. The outside air temp was still 106 and our room was heat soaked and about 10 degrees hotter than that. The adjoining two rooms had a single A/C unit with a fan moving the air from one room to the other. This was completely inadequate and after abot 40 uncomfortable minutes with the temp little changed we were told by the front desk that all other rooms were in the same condition. Only after explaining that we could not endure the heat and would like a referral to another hotel were we offered a "cool" room. The hotel's (only) printer was broken and they could not print a receipt. Other than these items there were no problems.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from WR, AZ

It was ok

Posted Jul 26, 2014
Pros: the kids pool
Cons: upgrade the rooms and cover up work keep pools clean
Location: location was ok right off the street but only one way into place
Okay this area this town is HOT and you would think that they would have coolers on in the room especially if they going to rent them out, I was so hot they brought me a dirty plastic fan which didnt work until late at night. outdated comforters no air condition in living room area so hot rooms for 4 guest only came with 2 towels. you can also see that work has been done to room but nothing has been done to cover it up.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nm

Nice

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Very clean room was nice and cool, temp outside was over 100 degrees and upon entering room it was already cool
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Right off the interstate. Staff was kind

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Nice location. Felt secure and safe. Staff made small talk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson

Surprisingly comfortable and pleasant

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: Professional staff and easy check in and check out.
Location: This was in Tempe. So you are surrounded by the Phoenix/Scottsdale area, as well. Lots of options if you have a car.
I typically stay at five star resorts with full kitchens, living room space etc. But I only needed a room for one night and chose Days Inn and Suites. I expected the basic and just wanted clean. The staff was wonderful. Check in and check out took all of about two minutes. The pools/spa area were a plus. The room had a small refrigerator, counter top w/coffee pot and a microwave. So, I felt this was above the basics. Free continental breakfast was included. I experienced making my own fresh waffle at their breakfast station. All in all, I would definitely go back there for shorter stays.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Convenient Location to our Friends Home

Posted Jun 13, 2014
Pros: The pool(s)
Cons: Hotel rooms need to be updated and attention to detail cleaning in the bathroom.
Booked this hotel due to past positive experiences with this hotel chain. Very disappointed in the dirty, dated décor, carpet, curtains and furniture in our room. If we could have cancelled and been refunded - we would have been gone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 18, 2014 by familyinn, Hotel Management
We would like to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations on your recent visit. We have shared your feedback with all our staff and we can assure you we are working diligently to implement improvements to ensure that this similar situation does not occur again. Your feedback and satisfaction are very important to us.We sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future. We truly hope you will give us another chance to provide you with superior service and accommodations and exceed your expectations on your next visit.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by familyinn, Hotel Management
Thank you for sharing the details about your recent visit. We are glad that you chose to book with us again because of past positive experiences with our hotel. We sincerely apologize this time, however, that you were very disappointed with your recent visit. We regret that you were very disappointed with the dirty, dated décor, carpet, curtains and furniture in our your room. We can assure you that your comments will be communicated with the head of our housekeeping department for corrective actions to be employed, as we do not want our room standards to be compromised. Your satisfaction is most important to us. On behalf of Days Inn and Suites, we thank you again for taking the time to share your feedback. We truly appreciate it and we sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future. We hope that you will visit us again soon. We truly hope to exceed your expectations on your next visit. It would be a pleasure to welcome you back to our hotel.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Hotel room

Posted Jun 11, 2014
There was a big cochroach in the room, the ac didn't work very well, the light in the bathroom stopped working, the cochroach was the worst part I want a refund or a big discount
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 19, 2014 by familyinn, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to complete our online survey about your recent stay at Days Inn & Suites. We would like to apologize on behalf of our hotel for failing to meet your expectations regarding the cleanliness and working order of our amenities in your room on your recent visit. We sincerely apologize for the big cockroach in your room, the air-conditioning unit that didn't work very well and the light in your bathroom that stopped working. We can assure you that we are working diligently to implement improvements to ensure that a similar situation does not occur again. Your feedback and satisfaction are very important to us and we will do everything we can to make sure that your every visit will be an enjoyable and memorable experience. We sincerely hope that we may be given a chance to change your perception of our hotel in the future. Once again on behalf of our hotel, we thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We appreciate it and we truly hope that you will be more satisfied on your next stay should you decide to stay with us again.