Ratings based on 174 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
94% of guests recommend
4.0 Room cleanliness
4.1 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Iowa

A Nice Retro Resort

Posted May 2, 2015
Pros: It was a short drive to my get to see my family. The pool area was nice and clean. I liked having a full kitchen available.
Cons: Recycling of cans, glass, plastic and paper. Maybe some kind automatic room spray.
Location: There is a high end shopping mall close by. The canal trail is close by to walk or run.
When we arrived the atmosphere of the resort and the rooms reminded me of stepping into the 1970's. I was a little disappointed that we were charged extra for a 'daily resort fee' upon our departure, when I used the pool and facilities only once during my 5 day stay. Most of our stay was with family so we were not at the hotel very much. The place was nicely maintained and clean. I did not appreciate the sidewalk cleaner(power washer)running for 2 hours for the only day that I did spend at the pool area, which happened to be a Saturday. When we arrived at our room there was a musty, old hotel type of odor, but it was not because the room wasn't clean because it was. I purchased some air freshener and candles to attempt to mask the odor, it seemed to be some better when we left. I don't know if I would stay at the El Dorado again, mainly because of the musty smell in the room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Lawrence from El Cerrito, CA

Time travel to the 1970's?

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
Different, but nice. Very convenient to the restaurants and the ballpark, especially with the abundant golf-cart taxi's and the fat tired beach cruiser bicycles one can borrow. More of a mid-century garden apartment vibe than a motel; with bright accent colors and bits of whimsy. Nice pool with shaded and sunny areas. Suffers a bit from lack of maintenance, but where else to get Paul the real live peacock!
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by JASON from Phoenix

Can't Recommmend

Posted Mar 17, 2015 on Hotels
Very old and run down hotel. A/C didn't work and they were "kind" enough to leave a stickie note above the thermostat stating this fact. Well it was 87 degrees the day we stayed there so this is totally unacceptable. Definitely not worth $300 a night but unfortunately the time of the year and the location they can get away with it. I would definitely not stay there again
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by James

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Mar 14, 2015 on Hotels
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by jerry from canada

think of the 50,s

Posted Mar 2, 2015 on Hotels
just what I was looking for
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AZ

Quaint but dated and wifi was not so good...

Posted Mar 1, 2015
Pros: Kind of a cool retro vibe, nice staff, good parking, close to Old Town.
Cons: Overall it's a bit rundown and could use a facelift.
Location: Excellent location.
It was a combo business and personal trip that could have been greatly improved by a reliable wifi or internet connection. Signal was weak at best over a 3 day visit and at $39 per day a bit overpriced. Location is good, pool is nice, jacuzzi does not work. Quiet spot close to Old Town Scottsdale. Overall "ok" but I would not be in a hurry to return.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

No heat in the rooms. Be weary of cold nights

Posted Feb 21, 2015 on Hotels
The rooms do not have any Heat. The front desk told me it was turned off for the season. It was 45 degrees the night I stayed, so this was an unfortunate surprise. Very lovely hotel otherwise- I just wish the weather was more forgiving.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Wonderful little hideaway!

Posted Feb 20, 2015 on Hotels
What a wonderful place. I stayed in a new upgraded two bedroom for the same price as a two star hotel. Fun, eclectic, beautiful pool and sitting areas, nice staff, comfortable beds, and for cooks a real fully stocked kitchen. A great lovers hideaway tucked walking distance from Old Town where there's tons to see, eat, and drink. Be realistic folks, this is an apartment bldg converted into a hotel, not a five star resort. But if you want space, charm, and value, this is the best place let alone the best value. I'll be back again!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Arizona

great location, chic vibe

Posted Feb 17, 2015
Pros: The decor, the location
Cons: TV in the bedroom too, please! (not just the living area)
Location: Hop skip and a jump from downtown scottsdale
Apartment complex turned motel w/funky decor, a pool, a bbq, and an on-site peacock!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Little Secret Place

Posted Feb 13, 2015 on Hotels
This is a wonderful apartment. Two bedroom, two bath excellent large space for two couples or with children. Livingroom, kitchen, balcony and a courtyard for all to sit and enjoy. No breakfast but that's ok.