Ratings based on 1,162 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.4 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Motel with a fresh coat of paint

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Lobby is nice. Food could be better.
Cons: Not charging the bogus resort fee.
Location: Good location for walking to downtown scottsdale
Beware of the'resort' fee which is charged. I am not sure what qualifies this hotel as a resort. Very disappointed in this property not up to the Kimpton standards. Putting a fresh coat of paint on the days inn doesn't make it a resort. Also you can not earn any Kimpton rewards if you book through expedia.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 25, 2015 by Cheryl, Hotel Management
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy our resort or our amenities. I want my guests happy and feel taken care of in a clean and maintained environment. We let you down and I hope you will accept my apology. Cheryl GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New York

Resort amenities in the heart of Scottsdale

Posted Apr 13, 2015
Pros: -free amenities (s'mores,coffee in lobby, free wine hour) -nice pool -updated, clean room -
Location: -art galleries -great restaurants
Firesky is well situated in the heart of Scottsdale, close to art galleries and restaurants, but once you are on the property you feel like you are at a destination resort. Fantastic lobby, great decor, pool and amenities make this a great getaway spot. They had s'mores by the fire pit, free wine hour and many amenities that other hotels charge for.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 16, 2015 by Cheryl, Hotel Management
Thanks so much for the 5 star review. I am thrilled you enjoyed what we offer, and you are so right, our location is absolutely the perfect choice for Scottsdale. Cheryl
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom M. , Harwood Heights, IL

Great hotel with mini beach

Posted Apr 11, 2015
This was a second time in this beautiful hotel. We love the mini beach, beautiful landscaping and great atmosphere in this hotel. Walking distance to the shopping center that is getting bigger and bigger each year. Close to the airpoirt as well. I would recommend this hotel to anyone.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 13, 2015 by Cheryl, Hotel Management
Thanks for returning to the FireSky and the wonderful review! Cheryl, GM
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Plainfield, il

Great location

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Pros: They offer a free shuttle with in a 3 mile radius.
Cons: There are a lot of tree around the pool so everyone fight for chairs in the sun. The hotel needs some over all improvements. It is out dated.
Location: Some fun things to do is to go to a Cubs spring training game and to to Sedona for a day trip and go on a jeep adventure ride.
We had a nice experience at this hotel. I do think the pictures are better than what you see in person. The location of this hotel is excellent. You can walk to shops and many restaurants. This hotel does need some renovating. There are a lot of trees and shade around the pool. You need to get to the pool early to reserve a chair if you like to be in the sun. They offer a free shuttle service within a 3 mile radius which we used every night to go to dinner. The hotel has a section for people that bring their pets. We were put in a pet friendly room and it was gross. When you enter the building it smelled like a zoo and was worse when you went in your room. We told them our daughter has allergies and we couldn't stay in that building. They did move us with no problems. The next room they put us in was fine and smelled like a normal hotel. Also, our room faced the parking lot. Next time I would pay a little extra to face the pool.
Comment from Hotel Management
Apr 8, 2015 by Cheryl, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review!. The smell is unacceptable and I will immediately look into this. Please accept my apology.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Oregon

Close to an outstanding facility

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: With the exception of the hotel restaurant, what's not to like?
Cons: The hotel restaurant area is clean and attractive with plenty of outdoor seating. The waitstaff were fine. The food itself is not up to par.
Location: Conveniently located near old town Scottsdale.
Stayed six nights during a business and spring training baseball trip to the Phoenix area. It's just a beautiful facility, with an attentive staff and a colorful lushly maintained pool area that includes water features, trees and flowers. I thought it was just exceptionally well landscaped and very relaxing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 24, 2015 by Cheryl, Hotel Management
Thanks for the review. I am wondering how we could have achieved 5 stars. I am open to all feedback. Cheryl Martin, GM
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Millbrae, Ca.

Great location

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Cons: I wish the rooms had more or brighter lighting...the were a little dark
We booked three rooms for a family reunion. The pool setup was perfect as we had some young children in the family. We were able to relax and play at the childrens pool, order food and drinks from the friendly and accommodating staff. It was a most enjoyable day. They offer lots of lounges, towels for comfort, and bikes for those of us that didn't want to swim. They were able to seat 15 of us for dinner on short notice and the food was delicious. Their concierge found us a great restaurant and booked seating for 19 on another night. It was perfect. All in all, we would definitely stay again...many thanks to all the staff from the valets, drivers, front desk, concierge, restaurant, pool and wait staff...you made our stay most enjoyable
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 17, 2015 by Cheryl, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 stars Barbara! I love your review and thanks for telling Expedia. The FireSky is quite special and I hope you all do come back soon. Cheryl GM
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice but lacking

Posted Feb 16, 2015
The bed was so uncomfortable that we ended up not spending the night there. The room was decent but didn't smell all that great. The room and patio could also use some upgrading there were cracks visible everywhere.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom San Francisco, CA

Posted Feb 10, 2015
Staff is great and very eager to please. The hotel restaurant is terrific and the evening wine hour is a nice plus. Pools are good and service at the pools (drinks, food) was great. Loved having a free hotel shuttle. My only complaint is the room. The decor is random and it just felt tired. No coffee in the room and the products (shampoo, etc.) were pretty basic. I've had better at less expensive hotels. Overall a perfectly nice place to stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overall good - with minor caveats

Posted Feb 10, 2015
I booked on Expedia under 'unpublished rate'. So the hotel was a pleasant surprise. The experience with most of the specifics of the hotel was excellent: rooms are spacious and clean; staff is super friendly; the salt-water pool is divine; the hotel lobby is gorgeous; the shuttle service is excellent; the location is wonderful. Three minor but irritating items, however, detract from the excellence - and so the whole is, sadly, less than the sum of all of its parts. First, there was a daily $22 "resort fee" that I had apparently missed on the "unpublished rate" page when I booked. I normally pay close attention, and so it's odd that I missed it. Regardless, an "all-in" rate should be an "all-in" rate; the extra $125 was an unwelcome surprise after a pleasant stay. Second, at the Spa (beautiful place; great staff), I was informed that "the computer generates a 20% gratuity". Well, bully for the computer. I did not argue and paid it - I was there to relax, not to bicker over an extra five or ten dollars - but came away miffed. The facial was expensive enough; the "gratuity" was just a moral tax. Not good. Third, the restaurant. Pizza I had the first night was good. The rest ... not so good. The Benedict was served with hard-boiled eggs; the cappuccino was small and expensive; the burger somewhat rubbery and without character; the fries too salty. Eat across the street at Posh or breakfast down the street in the old town.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom seattle,wa

Wonderful!

Posted Feb 2, 2015
Beautiful grounds, staff was great, food was yummy! Brought my 7 year old and we made s'mores at night by the fire and we had a goldfish in our room!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 6, 2015 by Cheryl, Hotel Management
Yummy in Taggia! Could be our new tag line! Thanks for the review and I am thrilled to hear that you and your son enjoyed the s'mores and our guppy love program. Cheryl