Ratings based on 321 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mark from Richmond, Va.

Family vacation in Arizona

Posted Apr 18, 2014
Pros: location, breakfast, happy hour, pool hot tub
We stayed two nights while visiting Phoenix and other parts of Arizona. The hotel was wonderful and was everything we could ask for. Ten minute drive to Camelback Mountain. Ten minute walk to Old Town Scottsdale. Great pool and hot tub. Delicious breakfast and free Happy Hour. We would stay here again if we return to Arizona.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Steve from London, UK

Excellent choice in Scottsdale

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Huge room, comfortable beds
Cons: Housekeeping attention to detail
Location: Right across the street from a Red Lobster which served really nice food
We've stayed here a few times in the past (family of four) and this time was every bit as good. Prices have gone up quite a bit over the last year, but overall I am very happy with my choice. Only gripe was with housekeeping. We found our room door had been left ajar one day and on several occasions they did not replenish some items during the daily service - toilet tools and shampoo. Rooms are large and offer a decent level of comfort. There is a separate living area with a sofa bed. I highly recommend this HI Express.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Pat from New Jersey

Nice extra touches put this hotel over the top

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, location, staff.
Cons: Unsweetened, unflavored breakfast options. There's already enough sugar on the buffet to kill a hummingbird.
Location: Old town Scottsdale is nice. Desert Botanical Garden quite beautiful.
Breakfast was good, certainly better than most hotels in this category, but not gourmet. The cinnamon rolls were a nice touch and very tasty. Selection of yogurt and oatmeal left something to be desired (both sweetened -- I don't understand why, as anyone can *add* sugar or honey, but you can't take it out). Rooms were nice and large (suites) and well appointed. Cleaning staff did a good job, but didn't replace the coffee and had to be called in. The person above us stomped around like a herd of elephants; don't know that much could be done about that, other than putting up signs: "Be considerate -- your loud feet can wake up the people beneath you."
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by CC from Calgary Canada

Another enjoyable stay

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Location, breakfast, Wifi, parking included. Happy hour and milk and cookies nice touches
Cons: Have been lots of motorbikes around, the wash bay set up outside our room. A bit noisy when they fire up.
Location: Good access to freeway, main arteries to get around, fast food and groceries close by
This is the second time we have booked at this location. The first time was our first experience with HIE and I wasn't sure what to expect. Suffice to say we were so pleased that this has become our first choice when booking in Scottsdale with Expedia. The Old Town HIE location is perfect for us - we golf and shop so it is a good central location to start from. The complimentary breakfast (love the lil pancake maker!) is great before we head out in the mornings. The complimentary happy hour and milk and cookies in the evenings are added "feel good" perks that go a long way. We have learned that not all HIE have these extras. We were very happy with our room (king suite - plenty of room for clubs and luggage), mini fridge and microwave great for snacks and keeping bottled water cold. We will be back whenever we are in the Phoenix area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Peg from Iowa

close to Old Scottsdale, walked there every day

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Breakfast, happy hour and the room
Really like the hotel. Stayed at another one close by the last time and Holiday Inn Express was a much, much better experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Matt T from San Francisco, CA

Good spot close to Scottsdale Stadium

Posted Mar 17, 2014
Pros: Great location, shuttle to local spots and free happy hour.
Cons: See above
This was our second trip staying at this hotel for spring training. We had an enjoyable stay and would recommend this place to others. Hotel staff were not nearly as professional as our prior stay here. We were told to call in to request the airport shuttle upon our arrival at the airport. When we called the staff member told us it would be around 20-25 minutes but under a half hour. We called after 40 minutes to make sure the shuttle was still coming and were told that he had another drop off but he was coming. Shuttle took an hour and 15 minutes to arrive and we paid 20 bucks for that. We understand when dealing with airports delays happen, but staff need to properly manage expectations. We should have been called and made aware that pickup would be severely delayed. Would have gladly opted to take another car service. Our time is worth more than the money saved from the shuttle.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice renovation!

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Wonderful affordable inn, conveniently close to Old Town Scottsdale.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice close to Old Town

Posted Jan 20, 2014
Very conveniet, great staff
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by TJ

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 20, 2014
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice Hotel, great location

Posted Jan 18, 2014
Pros: Location
Location: Shopping, Restaurants, Bars
This hotel was a great location. Approximately a 10 min walk to Old Town Scottsdale and a 20 min walk to the Fashion mall. There are many great bars and restaurants in the area.