Ratings based on 631 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old but interesting

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Location: We went for the baseball games. This place works well with the Metro Light Rail.
Yeah, if your overweight don't book room 719. The bathroom will be a trap for you. it's nice but tight....... Room was nice and not like the complaints I'd read. I don't care for HBO but those who do can get it all. Disappointed they have no coffee shop for breakfast.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Misty from Polson MT

Historical location

Posted Jun 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
Good service
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hot and cold

Posted Jun 18, 2014
It's obviously an older historic hotel, but I didn't have any hot water in the bathroom, but as it's Phoenix in the summer, the cold wasn't too bad. Good location to walk to the Dbacks game.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Hot and uncomfortable

Posted Jun 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Hotel room was hot and the beds very uncomfortable. The location was excellent though and centrally located to restaurants, bars as well as the sporting venues.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
very comfortable
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Wendy from Tucson, AZ

Good location, centrally located

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
The location of the hotel was very convenient for the event we attended (Comicon 2014) which was located a couple blocks away. It was about a 5-10 minute walk from the convention center, which is nice when it comes to Phoenix's heat. The front desk was friendly, got us checked in quickly, informed us of the complementary wi-fi and gave us the password and we were on our way. The room was a standard room; it was a little smaller than I expected it be but it was comfortable and inviting after wandering out all day long. The walls are a thin, so we were able to hear our neighbors quite well and anything going on in the hallway, but it's an older building so I knew there would be some faults. The water wasn't consistent in temperature it seemed; you could hear your neighbors turn on the faucets and the water would either go cold or really hot--it didn't bother me as much as it did my boyfriend. Again, the location is ideal. The light rail was just outside the hotel, which we didn't need to use but if anyone considering it needed it. There are a couple of restaurants down by the lobby, and another option of Subway across the street, and many more in the neighborhood. All together, the stay fairly pleasant.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by AJ from Scottsdale

Historic hotel with great location.

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Because of its age and size of rooms, this not qualify as a 4 or 5 star hotel, but it does have a great location if you need to be close to the phoenix convention center. The hotel staff are most helpful and try to accommodate your room location as best as they can. (suggest asking for a cooler room location in the summer as the A/C is not updated enough to keep it cool at the higher levels)
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Fabian Pugliese from North Phoenix

Walking distance to everything and anything

Posted Jun 10, 2014 on Hotels.com
Anyone can stay at Hyatt or the Sheraton, which are also nearby, but the San Carlos has history on every floor. Even on the hottest days of the year, the rooms and hallways at the hotel very cool and refreshing.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by bob from anaheim, ca

Close to convention center and Comicon.

Posted Jun 9, 2014
Good. Nice people. Room was too hot!! No way to a just a/c had a fan but not enough to cool room
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Aime from Scottsdale

Historic hotel with good location

Posted Jun 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
We needed a place close to the Phoenix Convention Center that wasn't outrageously priced. This hotel fit the bill perfectly. It is an old historic hotel, so don't expect much in the way of modern conveniences. Rooms are very small and bathrooms even smaller. But, the front desk staff were very pleasant and helpful.