Ratings based on 774 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Juncos, PR

Historical hotel at Downtown Phoenix

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location and historical value. Stars walkway.
Location: Located at downtown near the convention centers and the Sports facilities
The San Carlos is an historical work of art of early 20th century full of memorabilia. If you are willing to exchange some confort for the chance of been in a hunted hotel, this is for you. If you are traveling with family, forget it! The rooms are disined with 1928 style and space in mind, so they are little and the bathrooms are "complicated" to deal with (almost like airplane bathrooms). On the other hand, its location is perfect for convention travellers. It's in the middle of downtown and you can use the City Light Train to travel the city without rentiong a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Beautiful, historic hotel.

Posted May 31, 2015
The property is full of wonderful history, and you can walk to many downtown Phoenix attractions. Light rail runs right outside, so lots of other fun is within a reasonable distance. Staff is personable and accommodating. Paper thin walls, though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice location

Posted May 25, 2015
Not the most comfortable accomodations but...,The Hotel San Carlos is walking distance to the Diamond Back's Chase Field and US Airways arena. The hotel does not have a bar or restraunt but there are plenty of choices near by. We were in town to see U2 and caught a Diamondback Cubs game the night before the show.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Conveniently located near the convention center

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Classic old hotel
Cons: Bathrooms small, but clean
Location: Downtown and convention center.
Staff very accommodating. Very clean. Great location at a great price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto Ca

Charming historical

Posted May 4, 2015
Historical building. Close to the convention center. Staff went out if there way to make our stay excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sun City West, AZ

A revived boutique gem...

Posted Apr 22, 2015
The hotel and room reminded us of the smaller, private boutique hotels in New Orleans, LA. The property is kept in good condition and still has a 1930's feel, even after renovation. Our only complaint was that the mattress was rather hard for our liking. A good experience overall, with an attentive and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic, but very small bathroom, super small.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Close to the convention center
Cons: Not much, just the info to potential customers
Location: Downtown was close with good places near by to eat.
Cecelia was very helpful and friendly checking in. The room was old but the bathroom was the size of a closet. In fact the closet was bigger than the bathroom. The shower was the size of a camping shower and I had to walk sideways to get to it. Bed was fine and room was secure. Paper thin walls, could hear the man snoring next door and the other neighbor throwing up!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Ohio

Cute and historic

Posted Apr 7, 2015
Pros: Location
Cons: the Wi-Fi kept kicking me off.
Location: I've learned there isn't much to do in downtown Phoenix. the location is great though, very close to the convention center.
this hotel was sufficient for my stay but did lack the updates that one would have had with a newer hotel. The room was small, as was the shower, the water temp changed continuously. the walls were thin. But it was charming and cute for it's age.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Ted and Marc from Denver

Never Again

Posted Apr 1, 2015 on Hotels
Bathroom tile was severely cracked. We had no hot water even after letting the water run for more than 10 min. The rooms are very tiny. The furnishings are dated. This hotel really needs to undergo major renovations. I travel for a living and this hotel is very overrated. I've stayed in nicer motels than this. Upon check out I told the front desk about having no hot water and they didn't apologize, offer to compensate us or even acknowledge they would get it fixed for the other guests.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Pat from Flagstaff, AZ

A little pricey, but a nice place.

Posted Mar 31, 2015 on Hotels
We stayed to be near downtown Phoenix for an event. It's a good central location with things to do nearby. The only thing was that they gave us a full size bed when it was advertised as a queen size bed on-line. I brought this up with a desk person who then offered to let management know. I was hoping they would give us a discount. Otherwise, we had no problems. The valet was quick and helpful.