Ratings based on 651 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.4 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Hotel needs a refresh in basics like clean carpet. Has a strong musty smell because of this. Staff, including managerial, require significant training in customer service - though D was a nice guy - be prepared for lengthy uncomfortable debates around surprise charges on your credit card due to hotel error. Multiple basic mix-ups by the staff resulted in lots of standing around waiting for them to correct, then phone conversations later to correct the issues.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Cheap hotel in downtown area

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Located close to convention area.
Cons: They could implode the building and start over.
This is an OLD hotel. The room was small and the bathroom was tiny. I've never seen a bathroom this small. If you like rustic, this is the place for you. The front desk personnel were polite and helpful and the maids did a commendable job cleaning the room. Unfortunately, the staff don't have much to work with due to the age of the facility.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OMG I HEARD THE GHOSTS!

Posted Oct 26, 2014
OMG I heard the racket in hall all night. Had to put TV on to get past it. Can't believe when I looked it up, people say its the ghosts of three kids! The hotel is old but kept up. Its historic which is cool. Sort of a boutique hotel these days. No restaurant, shop, etc. And of course ...whose afraid of ghosts? Its usually well priced for downtown Phoenix and available when the big ones are booked. I'd stay again but bringing my Ecktoplasm trap :-)
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Golden CO

Would not recommend

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Historical aspect, close to light rail
Cons: Everything
Location: Only attended conference at the conference center close by.
Walls are paper thin, I could hear the room next to me calling for takeout on their cell phone, let alone other conversations along with other "noises." The bathroom is extremely small old, outdated, and smelled like sewer gas. Upon checkout the hotel attendant asked how my stay was and I said "not very good" she stated Oh, and didn't even apologize.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Large bath towels
Cons: Bathroom and sound proofing.
Location: Walking distance to Phoenix convention center
More old than classic. Also elevator was out of order for at least 2 days.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom chicago

Historic Value

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: in the middle of downtown Phoenix
Cons: nicer bathrooms,
Location: downtown phoenix
Old facility, if youre looking for historic feel of your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom New Jersey

Nice location

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Old historical hotel with a lot of old Hollywood history. Has bronze stars on side walk indentifying the stars who stayed there back in the day
Cons: elevators and the vending machine areas.
Location: Central to a lot of activties
Great location was central to everything . Walking distance to many eateries, hotels and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historical hotel in downtown Phoenix

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Location: Walking distance to all the downtown attractions including Chase Field and the US Airways Center.
Nice historical hotel in the heart of downtown Phoenix. Walking distance to all the downtown attractions including Chase Field and the US Airways Center.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Dawnfrom Winslow

Posted Aug 25, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel was very quaint. the employees, from front desk to valet were very friendly and helpful.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Almost nice

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Beautifully furnished in period style, nice staff, great location...but thin walls, tiny bathroom with old fixtures, and noisy A/C. It was almost a great experience, if only I could have slept.