Ratings based on 618 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
74% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice location

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Old historical hotel with a lot of old Hollywood history. Has bronze stars on side walk indentifying the stars who stayed there back in the day
Cons: elevators and the vending machine areas.
Location: Central to a lot of activties
Great location was central to everything . Walking distance to many eateries, hotels and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historical hotel in downtown Phoenix

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Location: Walking distance to all the downtown attractions including Chase Field and the US Airways Center.
Nice historical hotel in the heart of downtown Phoenix. Walking distance to all the downtown attractions including Chase Field and the US Airways Center.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Almost nice

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Beautifully furnished in period style, nice staff, great location...but thin walls, tiny bathroom with old fixtures, and noisy A/C. It was almost a great experience, if only I could have slept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The San Carlos, a vintage Downtown Phoenix Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The location and the friendliness of the staff.
Cons: If there could be more insulation installed to dull the noise it would be good. Air is not controlled in each room but centrally and inconsistently.
Location: It is very close to the Phoenix Convention Center and reasonably close to good restaurants, theatre, a mall. and the Arizona Science Center.
The hotel staff was very courteous and my room was very clean. It was a very small room and over the weekend it was quite loud. The convenience to downtown was good, but there weren't good restaurants downstairs or close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tucson

Close to US Airways Center

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Very cool historic hotel, close to concert venues. Only thing it needed was a bar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

HOTEL EXPERIENCE

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The history and rooftop pool
Cons: The flooring (carpet, tile) in the rooms and plumbing
Location: Multiple shopping centers, many amazing restaurants and venues for concerts and sporting events.
This hotel was in an excellent location downtown. I was able to walk to every venue that I was in town for. The parking was challenging but a close by parking garage provided the best rate and security. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Although the room itself needed upgrades in carpeting and plumbing, the essence of the history and ambience of the hotel was charming. The pool on the roof was relaxing and impressive. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Toronto, ON

Very central downtown, walk everywhere!

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Very helpful and nice personel. Nice bar at the lobby. Small rooms, inexpensive.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Lake Havasu, Az.

Close to ballfield.

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Like that it is walking distance to Chase Field. Rooms are clean and the staff is friendly. Air conditioning works awesome. We stayed July 2014.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 3, 2014
We had a wonderful time during our stay. The staff was very courteous.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Old but interesting

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Location: We went for the baseball games. This place works well with the Metro Light Rail.
Yeah, if your overweight don't book room 719. The bathroom will be a trap for you. it's nice but tight....... Room was nice and not like the complaints I'd read. I don't care for HBO but those who do can get it all. Disappointed they have no coffee shop for breakfast.