Ratings based on 640 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
75% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

OMG I HEARD THE GHOSTS!

Posted Oct 26, 2014
OMG I heard the racket in hall all night. Had to put TV on to get past it. Can't believe when I looked it up, people say its the ghosts of three kids! The hotel is old but kept up. Its historic which is cool. Sort of a boutique hotel these days. No restaurant, shop, etc. And of course ...whose afraid of ghosts? Its usually well priced for downtown Phoenix and available when the big ones are booked. I'd stay again but bringing my Ecktoplasm trap :-)
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Golden CO

Would not recommend

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Historical aspect, close to light rail
Cons: Everything
Location: Only attended conference at the conference center close by.
Walls are paper thin, I could hear the room next to me calling for takeout on their cell phone, let alone other conversations along with other "noises." The bathroom is extremely small old, outdated, and smelled like sewer gas. Upon checkout the hotel attendant asked how my stay was and I said "not very good" she stated Oh, and didn't even apologize.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 24, 2014
Pros: Large bath towels
Cons: Bathroom and sound proofing.
Location: Walking distance to Phoenix convention center
More old than classic. Also elevator was out of order for at least 2 days.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from chicago

Historic Value

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Pros: in the middle of downtown Phoenix
Cons: nicer bathrooms,
Location: downtown phoenix
Old facility, if youre looking for historic feel of your stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Nice location

Posted Aug 30, 2014
Pros: Old historical hotel with a lot of old Hollywood history. Has bronze stars on side walk indentifying the stars who stayed there back in the day
Cons: elevators and the vending machine areas.
Location: Central to a lot of activties
Great location was central to everything . Walking distance to many eateries, hotels and shopping.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice historical hotel in downtown Phoenix

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Location: Walking distance to all the downtown attractions including Chase Field and the US Airways Center.
Nice historical hotel in the heart of downtown Phoenix. Walking distance to all the downtown attractions including Chase Field and the US Airways Center.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Almost nice

Posted Aug 25, 2014
Beautifully furnished in period style, nice staff, great location...but thin walls, tiny bathroom with old fixtures, and noisy A/C. It was almost a great experience, if only I could have slept.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The San Carlos, a vintage Downtown Phoenix Hotel

Posted Aug 22, 2014
Pros: The location and the friendliness of the staff.
Cons: If there could be more insulation installed to dull the noise it would be good. Air is not controlled in each room but centrally and inconsistently.
Location: It is very close to the Phoenix Convention Center and reasonably close to good restaurants, theatre, a mall. and the Arizona Science Center.
The hotel staff was very courteous and my room was very clean. It was a very small room and over the weekend it was quite loud. The convenience to downtown was good, but there weren't good restaurants downstairs or close by.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from tucson

Close to US Airways Center

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Very cool historic hotel, close to concert venues. Only thing it needed was a bar!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

HOTEL EXPERIENCE

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: The history and rooftop pool
Cons: The flooring (carpet, tile) in the rooms and plumbing
Location: Multiple shopping centers, many amazing restaurants and venues for concerts and sporting events.
This hotel was in an excellent location downtown. I was able to walk to every venue that I was in town for. The parking was challenging but a close by parking garage provided the best rate and security. The staff was very helpful and friendly. Although the room itself needed upgrades in carpeting and plumbing, the essence of the history and ambience of the hotel was charming. The pool on the roof was relaxing and impressive. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay and would recommend this hotel.