Ratings based on 780 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.5 out of 5
77% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.3 Room comfort
3.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from San Diego

A pleasant surprise!

Posted Jul 31, 2015
Pros: My favorite things about this hotel were the staff and the wifi.
Cons: Room was very clean but had a perception of being dated based on colors and furniture options. I also would like to be able to control my own ac.
Location: Great location - easy walk to the Convention Center as well as LOTS of great restaurants in downtown.
I was doing work this week with the Phoenix Convention Center and wanted to stay at the Hyatt but it wasn't available to stayed here. My first impression was mixed as the rooms are small and you can't control your own ac. However, I had a great stay and wouldn't mind going back if needed without hesitation. The staff and the wifi were the best! The staff was great - very friendly and always took the time to say "welcome back" when I came back to the hotel. The wifi was easy to connect to and never had any issues using it. Room was very clean.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Nashville, TN

Great Histotical Hotel

Posted Jul 29, 2015
Had a great night at the Hotel San Carlos! I wish I had time to go floor by floor and read the stories on the walls about the great history of this place. Great location! Excellent service!!!! Awsome pool! Being an older hotel, the bathroom was a little small. But that just added to the charm!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Convenient downtown location

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Quaint. On the historic register. Has touches of the old hotel. Good price for what you get. Fantastic location for any downtown activity.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Juncos, PR

Historical hotel at Downtown Phoenix

Posted Jun 24, 2015
Pros: Location and historical value. Stars walkway.
Location: Located at downtown near the convention centers and the Sports facilities
The San Carlos is an historical work of art of early 20th century full of memorabilia. If you are willing to exchange some confort for the chance of been in a hunted hotel, this is for you. If you are traveling with family, forget it! The rooms are disined with 1928 style and space in mind, so they are little and the bathrooms are "complicated" to deal with (almost like airplane bathrooms). On the other hand, its location is perfect for convention travellers. It's in the middle of downtown and you can use the City Light Train to travel the city without rentiong a car.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Beautiful, historic hotel.

Posted May 31, 2015
The property is full of wonderful history, and you can walk to many downtown Phoenix attractions. Light rail runs right outside, so lots of other fun is within a reasonable distance. Staff is personable and accommodating. Paper thin walls, though.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from B

Nice location

Posted May 25, 2015
Not the most comfortable accomodations but...,The Hotel San Carlos is walking distance to the Diamond Back's Chase Field and US Airways arena. The hotel does not have a bar or restraunt but there are plenty of choices near by. We were in town to see U2 and caught a Diamondback Cubs game the night before the show.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from indiana

Conveniently located near the convention center

Posted May 4, 2015
Pros: Classic old hotel
Cons: Bathrooms small, but clean
Location: Downtown and convention center.
Staff very accommodating. Very clean. Great location at a great price.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Modesto Ca

Charming historical

Posted May 4, 2015
Historical building. Close to the convention center. Staff went out if there way to make our stay excellent
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Sun City West, AZ

A revived boutique gem...

Posted Apr 22, 2015
The hotel and room reminded us of the smaller, private boutique hotels in New Orleans, LA. The property is kept in good condition and still has a 1930's feel, even after renovation. Our only complaint was that the mattress was rather hard for our liking. A good experience overall, with an attentive and friendly staff.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Historic, but very small bathroom, super small.

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Pros: Close to the convention center
Cons: Not much, just the info to potential customers
Location: Downtown was close with good places near by to eat.
Cecelia was very helpful and friendly checking in. The room was old but the bathroom was the size of a closet. In fact the closet was bigger than the bathroom. The shower was the size of a camping shower and I had to walk sideways to get to it. Bed was fine and room was secure. Paper thin walls, could hear the man snoring next door and the other neighbor throwing up!