Ratings based on 837 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

A step back in time!

Posted Jul 28, 2015
Just lovely! We will definately be returning for a longer stay. Maybe a week by the pool!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 30, 2015 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Splendid, see you next time!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cayman Islands

Lovely, cool hotel

Posted Jul 25, 2015
This is a wonderful hotel near the heart of old town Scottsdale - and it has been amazingly redone. It's look stepping back in time, but with current modern comforts. My room was spacious, including cool mood lighting over the bathtub, and a private patio too. The pool is gorgeous and the workout facilities top notch. The staff were all very professional and friendly. I hope to stay here again in the future!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2015 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your review.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Fun mid century and close to shops restaurants

Posted Jul 25, 2015
Friendly staff excellent food nice rooms contemporary and design great views looked over the pool great location
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 27, 2015 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from AB Canada

Amazing weekend at a fabulous hotel!

Posted Jul 22, 2015
Location was so great! We walked old town and found some boutique shops and restaurants. If we went anywhere the car service was a fabulous option. Pool party so fun and DJ was good! Highly recommend this hotel!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! We appreciate your review.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from uk

Return to Valley Ho after 37year gap

Posted Jul 20, 2015
Things move on for good and bad over time in this case I was disappointed with the experience at the Valley Ho. Since the hotel chain bought this once family run business it has lost its identity. Bar staff not very welcoming. Pool unable to use the facility due to what appeared to be a corporate event. When checking out we found a cockroach checking in. 😕
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Kristin, Hotel Management
I’m very sorry you did not enjoy your stay with us. Hotel Valley Ho is in fact locally owned and independently operated; we are not a chain property and have invested over $80 million in the renovation of the hotel. I’m sorry if the service at the bar was lacking; we would love more information so we can determine what went wrong. We host limited events at the pool after 6:30 p.m., when food and beverage service has concluded and demand is lower, while always ensuring that at least one of the two pools is completely available to guests. Please let us know which room you were in so that we can inspect the area immediately. Thank you.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing, Wonderful, and Enjoyable

Posted Jul 14, 2015
I wish i could give 6 stars to kevin the poolside bartender and alfred at the front desk! My gf and i travel a lot and are total lodging snobs. Our total experience was first rate. My only complaint is that i couldnt find ANYTHING to complain about. If your going to scottsdale stay here
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Wow, thank you for your review! We hope to see you again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Flagstaff, AZ

Great hotel

Posted Jul 14, 2015
Had a wonderful time at the hotel. Clean comfy rooms, great staff and food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from arizona

Great staff!!

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Location: City hall steak house for dinner after a little shopping at the Scottsdale fashion mall
I felt very welcomed the minute I walked in, greeted by many workers. Love the hippy cool vibe of the place, it has a fun retro look. When I got to my room I was pleased to find it very clean!! If I have one complaint it would be the bed, the full size bed is to small for two and the mattress is way to soft for me...but that's it!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 15, 2015 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Thank you for staying with us! I’m sorry you found the mattress too soft. Due to the hotel being built in 1956 and working with the original room size, our rooms have either one king bed or two double beds; unfortunately two queen beds do not fit comfortably. We hope to see you again.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Peoria

Party Hotel for those 35 and under

Posted Jul 13, 2015
Pros: I would only recommend this hotel to young people who like a good party.
Cons: More security at the back entrances. ie-using your hotel keycard.
Location: Near downtown Old Scottsdale and Fashion Square. Camelback Mountain is nearby-but, I don't recommend hiking there if you are inexperienced.
I booked this hotel for a birthday surprise weekend. Although the room was pleasing, there were many things that were not- a) In Phoenix where it is 105 degrees in the summer, you would expect the A/C to work better b) Anyone can walk in the side doors of the different wings until midnight c) There were many cracks in the cement of the balconies d) They had an "event" on the weekend we were there and it felt like spring break in college. Many drunk people carrying buckets of beer into the pool. Of course they were then up in the middle of the night in the hallways. e) the amenities in the room for showering smelled like flowers Wondering how the men enjoyed washing up with that floral scent. f) Was woken up at 6:30 am by barking dogs...didn't know this was a pet friendly hotel
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 22, 2015 by Kristin, Hotel Management
I’m sorry if the room did not get cool enough for you and hope you were able to bring that to our attention so our engineering team could inspect the system. It can get hot here in the summertime and we want all of our guests to stay cool. Some of our guests park in the lot and enter through the north end of the property to check-in, rather than using the main valet entrance. We allow the gates to remain open until midnight so that these guests can easily walk to the front desk without having to walk around the property. Our security team monitors the property 24 hours a day to ensure your safety. We are renovating the guest rooms in the original wings this summer, including the balconies. I apologize if any guests acted inappropriately at the pool or near your room. We have DJ entertainment on Saturdays in the summer, which we promote through social media, advertising, our website, and phone reservations. I’m sorry if this was a surprise. We also have the relaxing OHasis Pool as an alternative to the main OH Pool. The atmosphere at the OH Pool is more laid back on weekdays during the summer, and all week long in the non-summer months. There is a no-party policy for our guest rooms, and we respond to any noise complaints regarding people or pets. We definitely want everyone to get a good night’s sleep; my apologies that you did not. The amenities in the rooms feature an Icelandic Moonflower scent by Red Flower that was custom created for the hotel. It has a clean, subtly floral scent that most of our guests really enjoy. I’m sorry if it was not to your liking. We appreciate your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Awesome

Posted Jun 22, 2015
Pros: Everything
Cons: Bigger pool and bar pool
Location: Scottsdale night life
Everything from check in to check out was easy. friendly. and accommodating.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 30, 2015 by Kristin, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review, we appreciate it!