Ratings based on 642 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver WA

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Late at night it is illuminated and the grounds appear lovely until you see the decay and lack of maintenance during the day.
Cons: Ethics of operation. $679 a night plus the mandatory $25 hotel fee plus the $19 parking fee - fortunately there was not a fee for the sewer gas option
The very aged hotel with leaks in the bathroom roof, a trash bin filled with water and brown residue on the bathroom fixtures was the greeting we had upon arrival of this very overpriced room. When we called to have something done we were told it would be but nobody came to clean until I found someone myself to get it done. The sewer gas smell that penetrated the rest of the room for the two days was a delightful reminder that this is a hotel managing itself by minimizing its expense in an area it likely does not expect repeat visitors. Upon our checking out I was asked how things were, as if there had been no communication about this previously, and when I mentioned these issues was told the hotel manager would certainly reach out to me. Of course this has never happened.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2015 by Director of Guest Service, Hotel Management
We are extremely disappointed to read your review and apologize for the challenges you experienced. This certainly does not sound like the standards we maintain in our guestrooms or throughout the resort. We have since contacted you directly. We look forward to making this right and providing you with an enjoyable visit in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Beautiful, relaxing property. It seemed so big at first but within a day I felt at home and living in a villa. Staff was excellent and well-intentioned. Spa quite was slightly small and not as much natural sunlight as I prefer, but exquisite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2015
wonderful!! did't like the shower.... spa was amazing... restaurant food wonderful/room service too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

gorgeous resort

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Everything was perfect
Location: The concierge of this resort is really helpful and ready to help for planing your trip.
It is a place you can feel home. The way staff welcome you and how they take care of your request was so exceptionnel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Danbury, CT

This was an absolutely beautiful hotel.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The location, the staff and the restaurant and bar.
Cons: The bed was a little too firm for me.
Location: The hotel is located in Phoenix/Scottsdale. There is plenty of shopping, places to hike, and restaurants near by.
The staff was extremely friendly and courteous. I felt like I was at a Spanish villa. The restaurant, T. Cooke's was amazing! I highly recommend booking a stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Disappointed this time

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The grounds are wonderful , the location is central
Cons: the rooms , the overall service was lacking
Location: Zin burger down at the Biltmore shopping center has great shakes . For a crazy shopping experience try Nordstrom's " Last Chance "
This was our 5th stay at the Palm in eight years and it will be our last ! While the pool and grounds remain incredible , sadly the rooms are in need of a massive make over . For example , couch was old and dirty , TVs were cheap with bad sound and movie quality . Room was not cleaned well either . The staff ( apart from the female concierge who was awesome ) were generally friendly but not ' engaged ' in their jobs . An example of this was the awful room we were given ( as returning guests ) right on a corner by the road , I'm sorry but at over $400 a night I expect better . We ended up checking out early and going to another hotel .
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Memphis, TN

Centrally Located for Scottsdale

Posted Dec 29, 2014
Pros: Staff, surroundings, location, view of Camelback Mountain, large private balcony - Montavista Terrace Room. Prefer "Valencia Casita".
Cons: Needs new carpet. Phones are antiquated. Room is sterile - needs plants, etc., to make it feel warmer/more inviting. Overrated for price!
Staff very accommodating and beautiful surroundings!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Charmingly romantic

Posted Dec 11, 2014
Pros: Very quiet and beautiful grounds. The pool and spa were enjoyable and the restaurant served really wonderful food.
Cons: Things were great, the resort fee and parking charge worked well, because tipping was included and the staff was out standing.
Location: Hotel is close to Scottsdale, Desert Botanical Garden. Enjoyed an NFL game and Fleetwood Mac concert
Great place to go with a loved one and share time.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

My stay at Royal Palm from Tues, Nov 25 - 28

Posted Dec 4, 2014
Was shocked to have to pay $30 daily -- in advance -- to cover all amenities. But was told by the concierge "feel free to leave a tip" !! Hotel is very confusing to navigate. One night, when I came home around 8pm, I went to the front desk to tell the person on duty that I didn't know how to find my room. Instead of getting someone to help me, she just handed me a map. After 15 minutes of trying to read the "map" in the dark, I finally came upon one of the valets who took me to my room.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Los Angeles

Posted Nov 24, 2014
Enjoyed a romantic weekend at this historic resort. The spa and the restaurant were among the best I've been to.