Ratings based on 663 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom North America

Nice boutique hotel

Posted May 6, 2015
Pros: Peaceful and quite.
Cons: Some of the rooms are showing their age but they are all unique and clean.
If you are looking for the unusual verses the predictable then spend a night or two at the Royal Palms. This is a romantic Mediterranean property that has some special features.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Omaha, NE

Posted Apr 27, 2015
exceeded my expectations. very user friendly. staff was very attentive.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pittsburgh, PA

Old Style Elegance

Posted Apr 26, 2015
Pros: It is everything The Phoenician is not. Warm, friendly and inviting. Upscale in the best possible way.
Cons: Try not to change it.
Location: Set at the base of Camelback Mountain; great for hiking, day-tripping to the desert, etc. Convenient access to great restaurants, shopping.
Not much to criticize here. Wonderful ambiance, great staff, friendly atmosphere, gorgeous location. I will definitely return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom denver, co

Best hotel ever

Posted Apr 23, 2015
My husband I stayed here for three nights & could not have been more pleased. The grounds are beautiful, the service exceptional. It's a large complex but feels cozy due to endless nooks and crannies and flowers everywhere. Great food & wine at the restaurant, prompt room service.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Room is not worth the price.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
We arrived at the hotel to have the lady at the front desk tell us someone had been moved into our room so we needed to wait for another room. I had booked our room in advance. We waited 25 mins to get into another room which was not to the specifications we had booked. Then she told us we would have to pay an additional price to get in the type of room we had booked because they would have to upgrade us due to them giving our room away to someone else. They eventually made it right after an argument and we did not get charged the upgrade fee. Room service was impossible to get ahold of at night and in the morning for tea. It is just one person so he would take the phone orders and also deliver them. The room had little spiders everywhere in it. My daughter barely slept. It also had a 12" X 12" hole in the wall leading to outside with a screen over it that had a very cold draft coming in all night. Not sure what the rooms were like for all the good reviews but this was not a $400 good experience at all for one night. The next night we stayed at sheraton wild horse pass and had gorgous room and great staff for $100 less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

unique hotel and great and attentive valet staff.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: food pool beautiful setting
Cons: spa was ridiculously overpriced and would not recommend. Staff did not know how to ring up the service either
Location: very accessible to everything we wanted to do
Was a great hotel but probably had the worst room available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by sescobedo, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments about our unique hotel and attentive staff! We look forward to welcoming you back and will ensure you have a more comfortable room to suit your needs the next time you visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pleasanton, Ca

Loved this resort!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Mostly everything. Loved it's history and its beautiful architecture and the lovely grounds. Wonderful place to unwind and relax.
Cons: I wasn't happy about the $30.00/day resort fee. A lot. It was universal around the hotel. You didn't tip certain people but you tipped others.
Location: It was only 20 minutes from the airport and about 10 tops from downtown Scottsdale. Golf courses very close. Great location.
Loved the atmosphere,history,room,view and staff. Loved the mix-up bar for drinks,the pool food and T. Cook's breakfast. So relaxing and homey! Must return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This hotel has world class customer service

Posted Feb 14, 2015
The hotel was overbooked so they had to rebook us somewhere else. They paid for our room and dinner at their restaurany which was a nice touch. The food was excellent too !
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Feb 9, 2015 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Beautiful Property…But Beware of Spa Credit

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: What a beautiful property! The grounds and the rooms size and setup were amazing! Loved the steam shower and outdoor fireplace/shower and courtyard.
Cons: Carpets we worn and significantly stained. Dated decor. I'd like my $50 of spa credit back.
The spa credit is not a credit; it is a discount coupon. The $50 can only be used for any of the 50 minute+ spa services costing $150+. It is essentially a discount coupon for 33% off. Unlike the $50 food and beverage credit--which can be used like credit for any item room service or restaurant--the spa "credit" is terribly misleading. "Restrictions Apply" doesn't note that distinction. I discussed this with hotel management upon folio review and checkout, but was met with blank stares and no resolution. Boo…