Ratings based on 594 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Poor service, not guest friendly

Posted Nov 11, 2014
Pros: Nothing
Cons: Service, rooms need to be upgraded. New beds.
Got out of the shower after arrival, no bath towels; the only hotel I've ever stayed in Phoenix area (probably a dozen hotels) which did not put complimentary water in the room (and the room cost $399 per night, $480 with tax other fees); bed sagged in the middle; awakened at 7 am (6 am my time) by the upstairs guests on a Saturday; complained to the front desk and manager, who didn't care. The noise continued until 9 am when I promptly checked out. I would not recommend this hotel. I've never been awakened by an upstairs guest in any hotel, including a lower end hotel in a foreign country. The only positive thing I can stay is that the valets were friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom St. Paul, MN

Old school charm

Posted Oct 30, 2014
Pros: Beautiful grounds
Cons: I'm not a fan of tack-on resort fees, but the hotel staff was great, so it didn't feel so much like a ripoff.
Great place for a long weekend. We had a great time strolling around the immaculately kept grounds. Staff was great. Our Valencia room was on the edge of the property, and we loved having a private walkway and patio in our corner of the world. Pool was clean and kept warm enough for a morning swim. We will definitely be back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Colorado

Beautiful resort. It was small and quaint.

Posted Oct 21, 2014
It was a very relaxing atmosphere and exactly what we were hoping for when we planned a weekend getaway.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom St. Louis, MO

Quaint hotel, great location

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Cons: The bed was a little uncomfortable.
Royal Palms is a royal treat! The resort is beautiful, the food is delicious, and the staff is the friendliest I have ever encountered at any resort. The pool is small but very quiet and relaxing. The location is fantastic- close to Camelback Mountain and great shopping. I can't wait for my next stay at Royal Palms!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Portland, OR

Historic Luxury

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Pros: The bed was extremely comfortable. Also, they allowed us to not only upgrade our room, but also to check in when we arrived at 1 pm.
This is a wonderful hotel. I had no idea that it was an historic hotel and really appreciated the layout, the gardens, and excellent service by the staff. Whenever we asked a staff person directions around the hotel, they immediately offered to show us the way. T. Cook's is an amazing restaurant with terrific food. We also liked that the resort fees included all tips for housekeeping and bell service. It is truly a relaxing environment with a nice pool and exercise room.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom stl

Shouldn't be called resort

Posted Sep 29, 2014
This is not really a "resort" it's open to public so u have to make reservations to eat. The cabanas at the pool are already reserved by locals. 80% of there business is from locals. All I have to say is it's not worth the money. The food is excellent and staff friendly but I have stayed at places way better and way cheaper then this place.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 14, 2014 by Director of Guest Service, Hotel Management
We are very sorry to read your comments about your visit. Our restaurant T.Cook's is a local favorite and we highly recommend confirming reservations in advance. However, we do not allow local guests to utilize the facilities such as the pool and Cabana Café. These amenities are only for the use of our resort and spa guests. We hope that you will give Royal Palms another try when you are in the Phoenix/Scottsdale area.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Nevada

Impeccable!!

Posted Sep 24, 2014
Pros: Everything!
Cons: The weather!! It was humid!
This is a first class, one-of-a-kind property! It has beautiful history and everything about the resort is perfect! Stay in a casita with outside sitting area!
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 25, 2014 by Director of Guest Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for your amazing review! We are so glad that you enjoyed the rich history of the property and that your stay was perfect. We look forward to seeing you again soon!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Boston, MA

A Wonderful Surprise

Posted Sep 21, 2014
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

weekend get away

Posted Sep 15, 2014
Pros: relaxing and quite
Cons: exterior maintence trimming
Location: not sure
room where nice a little musty from recent rains as cartper was wet by door ,dissapointed with the maintence of the landscape such nice rooms and the grass was high saturday by the pool palm trees full of dead branches walks not trimmed back for walking comfort etc such a nice gree cozy place and weak on exterior scape
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Sedona

Well needed get-a -way

Posted Aug 28, 2014
Pros: I loved going out to the pool and being greeted right away with towels and a cold glass of lemon water. Entertainment in the Mix-up was fun.
Location: Fabulous location, fashion square very close ,and many fine restaurants in this area.
Love the Royal Palms, 5 star first class resort.All staff members were friendly and attentive.I would have loved a room with bath tub, which is what I thought we were getting, otherwise everything was great.