Ratings based on 654 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom los angeles

Room is not worth the price.

Posted Apr 11, 2015
We arrived at the hotel to have the lady at the front desk tell us someone had been moved into our room so we needed to wait for another room. I had booked our room in advance. We waited 25 mins to get into another room which was not to the specifications we had booked. Then she told us we would have to pay an additional price to get in the type of room we had booked because they would have to upgrade us due to them giving our room away to someone else. They eventually made it right after an argument and we did not get charged the upgrade fee. Room service was impossible to get ahold of at night and in the morning for tea. It is just one person so he would take the phone orders and also deliver them. The room had little spiders everywhere in it. My daughter barely slept. It also had a 12" X 12" hole in the wall leading to outside with a screen over it that had a very cold draft coming in all night. Not sure what the rooms were like for all the good reviews but this was not a $400 good experience at all for one night. The next night we stayed at sheraton wild horse pass and had gorgous room and great staff for $100 less.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

unique hotel and great and attentive valet staff.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: food pool beautiful setting
Cons: spa was ridiculously overpriced and would not recommend. Staff did not know how to ring up the service either
Location: very accessible to everything we wanted to do
Was a great hotel but probably had the worst room available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by sescobedo, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments about our unique hotel and attentive staff! We look forward to welcoming you back and will ensure you have a more comfortable room to suit your needs the next time you visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pleasanton, Ca

Loved this resort!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Mostly everything. Loved it's history and its beautiful architecture and the lovely grounds. Wonderful place to unwind and relax.
Cons: I wasn't happy about the $30.00/day resort fee. A lot. It was universal around the hotel. You didn't tip certain people but you tipped others.
Location: It was only 20 minutes from the airport and about 10 tops from downtown Scottsdale. Golf courses very close. Great location.
Loved the atmosphere,history,room,view and staff. Loved the mix-up bar for drinks,the pool food and T. Cook's breakfast. So relaxing and homey! Must return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This hotel has world class customer service

Posted Feb 14, 2015
The hotel was overbooked so they had to rebook us somewhere else. They paid for our room and dinner at their restaurany which was a nice touch. The food was excellent too !
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Beautiful Property…But Beware of Spa Credit

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: What a beautiful property! The grounds and the rooms size and setup were amazing! Loved the steam shower and outdoor fireplace/shower and courtyard.
Cons: Carpets we worn and significantly stained. Dated decor. I'd like my $50 of spa credit back.
The spa credit is not a credit; it is a discount coupon. The $50 can only be used for any of the 50 minute+ spa services costing $150+. It is essentially a discount coupon for 33% off. Unlike the $50 food and beverage credit--which can be used like credit for any item room service or restaurant--the spa "credit" is terribly misleading. "Restrictions Apply" doesn't note that distinction. I discussed this with hotel management upon folio review and checkout, but was met with blank stares and no resolution. Boo…
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver WA

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Late at night it is illuminated and the grounds appear lovely until you see the decay and lack of maintenance during the day.
Cons: Ethics of operation. $679 a night plus the mandatory $25 hotel fee plus the $19 parking fee - fortunately there was not a fee for the sewer gas option
The very aged hotel with leaks in the bathroom roof, a trash bin filled with water and brown residue on the bathroom fixtures was the greeting we had upon arrival of this very overpriced room. When we called to have something done we were told it would be but nobody came to clean until I found someone myself to get it done. The sewer gas smell that penetrated the rest of the room for the two days was a delightful reminder that this is a hotel managing itself by minimizing its expense in an area it likely does not expect repeat visitors. Upon our checking out I was asked how things were, as if there had been no communication about this previously, and when I mentioned these issues was told the hotel manager would certainly reach out to me. Of course this has never happened.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2015 by Director of Guest Service, Hotel Management
We are extremely disappointed to read your review and apologize for the challenges you experienced. This certainly does not sound like the standards we maintain in our guestrooms or throughout the resort. We have since contacted you directly. We look forward to making this right and providing you with an enjoyable visit in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Beautiful, relaxing property. It seemed so big at first but within a day I felt at home and living in a villa. Staff was excellent and well-intentioned. Spa quite was slightly small and not as much natural sunlight as I prefer, but exquisite.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Kylefrom Durham

Calming Charm

Posted Jan 7, 2015 on Hotels.com
This resort is absolutely incredible. The relaxed feel and beautifully landscaped walkways were exactly what we were looking for. The resort stay was very pleasant and extremely helpful. The resort is just a short drive away from old town Scottsdale which provides amazing choice for shop and cuisine. The breathtaking views of Camelback and that Arizona Sun are hard to beat. The hotel restaurant, "T. Cooks" has an amazing breakfast that did not once disappoint and the Spa does an amazing job at providing services to relax and rejuvenate the body! We loved it and when we come back I hope to stay longer than a week!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Danafrom Washington

Beautiful grounds, housekeeping could do better

Posted Jan 3, 2015 on Hotels.com
Good location, cute rooms. Very comfortable. The property has an old Spanish feel to it and is well maintained. Some staff was a little quirky but most were great. Housekeeping could do better. There were long hairs in several places in the bathroom which grossed me out. Also our sink drained slowly. Overall a good experience.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2015
wonderful!! did't like the shower.... spa was amazing... restaurant food wonderful/room service too