Ratings based on 651 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.7 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

unique hotel and great and attentive valet staff.

Posted Mar 19, 2015
Pros: food pool beautiful setting
Cons: spa was ridiculously overpriced and would not recommend. Staff did not know how to ring up the service either
Location: very accessible to everything we wanted to do
Was a great hotel but probably had the worst room available.
Comment from Hotel Management
Mar 23, 2015 by sescobedo, Hotel Management
Thank you for your kind comments about our unique hotel and attentive staff! We look forward to welcoming you back and will ensure you have a more comfortable room to suit your needs the next time you visit.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Pleasanton, Ca

Loved this resort!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Mostly everything. Loved it's history and its beautiful architecture and the lovely grounds. Wonderful place to unwind and relax.
Cons: I wasn't happy about the $30.00/day resort fee. A lot. It was universal around the hotel. You didn't tip certain people but you tipped others.
Location: It was only 20 minutes from the airport and about 10 tops from downtown Scottsdale. Golf courses very close. Great location.
Loved the atmosphere,history,room,view and staff. Loved the mix-up bar for drinks,the pool food and T. Cook's breakfast. So relaxing and homey! Must return
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

This hotel has world class customer service

Posted Feb 14, 2015
The hotel was overbooked so they had to rebook us somewhere else. They paid for our room and dinner at their restaurany which was a nice touch. The food was excellent too !
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Utah

Beautiful Property…But Beware of Spa Credit

Posted Feb 9, 2015
Pros: What a beautiful property! The grounds and the rooms size and setup were amazing! Loved the steam shower and outdoor fireplace/shower and courtyard.
Cons: Carpets we worn and significantly stained. Dated decor. I'd like my $50 of spa credit back.
The spa credit is not a credit; it is a discount coupon. The $50 can only be used for any of the 50 minute+ spa services costing $150+. It is essentially a discount coupon for 33% off. Unlike the $50 food and beverage credit--which can be used like credit for any item room service or restaurant--the spa "credit" is terribly misleading. "Restrictions Apply" doesn't note that distinction. I discussed this with hotel management upon folio review and checkout, but was met with blank stares and no resolution. Boo…
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Vancouver WA

Posted Jan 17, 2015
Pros: Late at night it is illuminated and the grounds appear lovely until you see the decay and lack of maintenance during the day.
Cons: Ethics of operation. $679 a night plus the mandatory $25 hotel fee plus the $19 parking fee - fortunately there was not a fee for the sewer gas option
The very aged hotel with leaks in the bathroom roof, a trash bin filled with water and brown residue on the bathroom fixtures was the greeting we had upon arrival of this very overpriced room. When we called to have something done we were told it would be but nobody came to clean until I found someone myself to get it done. The sewer gas smell that penetrated the rest of the room for the two days was a delightful reminder that this is a hotel managing itself by minimizing its expense in an area it likely does not expect repeat visitors. Upon our checking out I was asked how things were, as if there had been no communication about this previously, and when I mentioned these issues was told the hotel manager would certainly reach out to me. Of course this has never happened.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 25, 2015 by Director of Guest Service, Hotel Management
We are extremely disappointed to read your review and apologize for the challenges you experienced. This certainly does not sound like the standards we maintain in our guestrooms or throughout the resort. We have since contacted you directly. We look forward to making this right and providing you with an enjoyable visit in the future.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 8, 2015
Beautiful, relaxing property. It seemed so big at first but within a day I felt at home and living in a villa. Staff was excellent and well-intentioned. Spa quite was slightly small and not as much natural sunlight as I prefer, but exquisite.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jan 2, 2015
wonderful!! did't like the shower.... spa was amazing... restaurant food wonderful/room service too
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Calgary

gorgeous resort

Posted Jan 1, 2015
Pros: Everything was perfect
Location: The concierge of this resort is really helpful and ready to help for planing your trip.
It is a place you can feel home. The way staff welcome you and how they take care of your request was so exceptionnel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Danbury, CT

This was an absolutely beautiful hotel.

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The location, the staff and the restaurant and bar.
Cons: The bed was a little too firm for me.
Location: The hotel is located in Phoenix/Scottsdale. There is plenty of shopping, places to hike, and restaurants near by.
The staff was extremely friendly and courteous. I felt like I was at a Spanish villa. The restaurant, T. Cooke's was amazing! I highly recommend booking a stay here.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Denver

Disappointed this time

Posted Dec 31, 2014
Pros: The grounds are wonderful , the location is central
Cons: the rooms , the overall service was lacking
Location: Zin burger down at the Biltmore shopping center has great shakes . For a crazy shopping experience try Nordstrom's " Last Chance "
This was our 5th stay at the Palm in eight years and it will be our last ! While the pool and grounds remain incredible , sadly the rooms are in need of a massive make over . For example , couch was old and dirty , TVs were cheap with bad sound and movie quality . Room was not cleaned well either . The staff ( apart from the female concierge who was awesome ) were generally friendly but not ' engaged ' in their jobs . An example of this was the awful room we were given ( as returning guests ) right on a corner by the road , I'm sorry but at over $400 a night I expect better . We ended up checking out early and going to another hotel .