Ratings based on 550 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.8 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.8 Service & staff
4.8 Room comfort
4.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Business trip

Posted Aug 17, 2014
Great experience! Wonderful staff! Facility a beautiful charming resort!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson, AZ

Oasis in the desert

Posted Aug 13, 2014
Pros: Price during summer was way below market price during high season.
Location: Convenient location between Scottsdale and Phoenix on Camelback, but you'll need a car.
Beautiful, historic property. Exquisite example of Mexican colonial style architecture with hidden pools, fountains and courtyards. Room with bathroom for handicapped guest was comfortable but not huge. Easy to access elevator to parking garage.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Tucson Az

Posted Aug 11, 2014
This was the 1st time I have stayed at this hotel and loved it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Nebraska

When you want a full service, tip free environment

Posted Aug 6, 2014
Pros: Elegant and old school. Wait staff was over the top. Consicierge (sp) was a mind reader.
Cons: Air conditioning in the valencia casita. We visited during monsoon season.
Location: Lots to do, many resturants and attractions...did I mention golf courses?
When you want to go to a place where you will be treated like you own the property. This is it. Relaxing and elegant. We are goimg back! The gift they gave us for our anniversary was unexpected and perfect. GO HERE!!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from Dallas, Texas

Great hotel.. Nice and quiet.. Great Staff!

Posted Aug 4, 2014
We stayed at this hotel over the weekend. Great Staff and no kids! The spa was awesome and the valet guys were all over it.. The poolside cabana was a great deal and the staff made you feel like a VIP.. Thanks to the entire staff of The Royal Palms!
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 16, 2014 by Director of Guest Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for your review! We are thrilled you enjoyed your stay at Royal Palms and felt like a VIP! We look forward to seeing you again soon.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful Retreat

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Planned to stay here for one night, but the place was so beautiful that we extended our stay.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Beautiful and wonderful staff. Outdated suite.

Posted Jul 27, 2014
Pros: Back bar and restaurant. Shaded or covered walkways.
Cons: State of some of the suites.
Have stayed before and wonderful. This time had suite which was outdated.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Wedding experience

Posted Jul 21, 2014
I will say every cent I spent was well worth it. The hotel and staff are awesome can't wait to visit again!!!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 26, 2014 by Director of Guest Service, Hotel Management
Thank you for your outstanding review of Royal Palms! We are thrilled that you had a wonderful wedding experience and look forward to welcoming you back again soon!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from m

Fair

Posted Jul 11, 2014
We didn't get the room we paid for. They substituted another room but it didn't had a bath. Then they didn't have record of the credits? Very disappointing when the next day they were more than 1/2 price online.
4 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Los Angeles

Hotel is Beautiful, Service is declining

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: The well maintained grounds, beautiful rooms, the drink menu by the pool and always friendly valet team.
Cons: Pool Service!!!
Location: Downtown Scottsdale restaurants and bars.
The Royal Palms has always been our #1 choice over the past few years for a relaxing vacation but after our most recent trip I think we will be searching out a new option. The hotel is still one of the nicest properties in Scottsdale that isn't overrun by too many guests like the bigger properties but service is definitely declining from what we have experienced in previous visits. We rented a cabana by the pool and we were lucky if we got a drink every 90 minutes from Adam(i think that was his name). He was only one attendant servicing about 25 people at the pool but he only popped his head out occasionally from the kitchen area. Most guests had to stand at the bar until someone came out from the back and clean up previous guests towels to find shade. Then we were woken up by housekeeping at 8:30 in the morning to clean the room the day after 4th of July. I guess part of it was my fault for not putting the privacy sign on the door but the previous day they cleaned the room at 4:30PM so I assumed it would have been later. Hopefully this property can improve these easily resolved issues because it is a great place. We did have one other incident where we came back to the room one night and found the back door we locked open but luckily nothing was missing and the only odd part was a filthy bath tub which we never used. Front Desk was not concerned and we were leaving the next day so we didn't make a big deal of it.