Ratings based on 195 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great spa

Posted Jul 20, 2014
I have stayed at this hotels competition in the area and I would say that this is my favorite, lap pool in spa is great , they keep the water cool for lap swimmers on 100 degree summer days , very nice rooms , super great beds , told they are all new
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Cape Town

Nice location, supreme comfort

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Suite proved extremely comfortable with a small kitchenette, lounge/dining room and patio - the lack of a bath tub might be the only negative to the room. Views were great, location was good for scottsdale shopping and Sky Harbor airport (just over 10mi), staff were great and hospitable. Food and facilities were also good.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Ian from Toronto, Canada

Fantastic location, occasional lapses in service

Posted Apr 21, 2014
Pros: The Tennis staff was very good. Horst runs a fun group of professionals who don't over-coach and keep the sessions flowing.
Cons: Staff in the restaurants and bar. Either they didn't have enough or they didn't know how to keep up on guests.
Location: Great location, with excellent views of the valley. Close to the Echo Canyon Trailhead, which is a spectacular (though difficult) hike up Camelback.
We were very pleased with our stay. The location is excellent, perched right on Camelback Mountain. The facilities are in great shape, with a couple beautiful pools, well appointed spa and good tennis courts. Outside of the staff at the tennis center, the service levels were erratic. Housekeeping seemed to show up quite late in the day but the bigger issue was in Elements Restaurant and Jade Bar. The staff were universally pleasant (particularly Denise in Elements), but often they seemed to tune out. On three separate occasions, we just got up and left because no one would take our order or follow up on a request (bringing the entrée before the appetizer, really?).When we finally asked for management, they didn't seem too fussed but did offer some drinks coupons.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice grounds,close to hiking ,peaceful.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Food,Health club,Grounds all perfect.
As soon as we got out of the cab ,everyone was quite helpful and friendly,poolside was sweet and the staff quite helpful and friendly,overall quite A relaxing time.
3 out of 5
by Kim from New York, NY

Overbuilt and overrated

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: A beautiful setting, meticulously landscaped and maintained.
Cons: See above. Also, room seemed somewhat dark and dreary.
Location: Scottsdale is great! Wonderful hiking, shopping, golf, restaurants etc
We stayed at the Sanctuary when it first opened and it was fantastic. Fast forward a number of years: they have added too many rooms and over burdened the infrastructure. The pool area was jammed, to the point where they could not possibly have squeezed another lounge chair in if they tried. Relaxing was the last word I would use for this scenario; you couldn't move, and I felt as if I were in everyone else's personal (and cellphone!) conversations. We were unable to makes a reservation in the hotel restaurant, Elements, until 9:00 because it was busy with non-hotel diners. I felt that we should have been offered a reservation time upon check-in, or at least have been given preferential treatment because we were guests. Other small things: dirty glassware not replaced, turndown service done very late. Our unit was next to some kind of housekeeping storage area and the housekeeping staff made lots of noise going constantly in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr. from Michigan

Excellent stay

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Utmost in customer service - very relaxed and genuinely NICE knowledgable people. no pretense to it at all.
no problems in any regard. great food, great service, great weather, great accomodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hsaag from manchester, uk

Most wonderful stay

Posted Feb 12, 2014
We have been to Scottsdale/Paradise Valley many times in the last few years and each time have stayed in a different hotel. This trip was gong to be no different except the Sanctuary on camelback exceeded all our expectations. It ticked every box and we are desperatly studying our calender to find a date to go back. Thank you Samctuary you were faultless
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service and BEAUTIFUL facilities

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: The service.
Cons: no - exceeded expectations
Location: Close to town, but why leave such a wonderful resort??? We climbed the mountain...was awesome.
We wanted a girl trip away from the kids and Sanctuary blew our expectations away. It was relaxation from the moment we drove up to the resort. The staff is friendly, helpful, and ready to serve. The spa was AMAZING. Every service - we indulged in 3 different ones during our stay. We will definitely be going back! And if you are up for breakfast - do not pass up the homemade waffles with salted caramel syrup.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013