Ratings based on 192 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.6 out of 5
91% of guests recommend
4.6 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice grounds,close to hiking ,peaceful.

Posted Mar 26, 2014
Pros: Food,Health club,Grounds all perfect.
As soon as we got out of the cab ,everyone was quite helpful and friendly,poolside was sweet and the staff quite helpful and friendly,overall quite A relaxing time.
3 out of 5
by Kim from New York, NY

Overbuilt and overrated

Posted Mar 16, 2014
Pros: A beautiful setting, meticulously landscaped and maintained.
Cons: See above. Also, room seemed somewhat dark and dreary.
Location: Scottsdale is great! Wonderful hiking, shopping, golf, restaurants etc
We stayed at the Sanctuary when it first opened and it was fantastic. Fast forward a number of years: they have added too many rooms and over burdened the infrastructure. The pool area was jammed, to the point where they could not possibly have squeezed another lounge chair in if they tried. Relaxing was the last word I would use for this scenario; you couldn't move, and I felt as if I were in everyone else's personal (and cellphone!) conversations. We were unable to makes a reservation in the hotel restaurant, Elements, until 9:00 because it was busy with non-hotel diners. I felt that we should have been offered a reservation time upon check-in, or at least have been given preferential treatment because we were guests. Other small things: dirty glassware not replaced, turndown service done very late. Our unit was next to some kind of housekeeping storage area and the housekeeping staff made lots of noise going constantly in and out.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Dr. from Michigan

Excellent stay

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Utmost in customer service - very relaxed and genuinely NICE knowledgable people. no pretense to it at all.
no problems in any regard. great food, great service, great weather, great accomodations.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by hsaag from manchester, uk

Most wonderful stay

Posted Feb 12, 2014
We have been to Scottsdale/Paradise Valley many times in the last few years and each time have stayed in a different hotel. This trip was gong to be no different except the Sanctuary on camelback exceeded all our expectations. It ticked every box and we are desperatly studying our calender to find a date to go back. Thank you Samctuary you were faultless
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 21, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great service and BEAUTIFUL facilities

Posted Nov 19, 2013
Pros: The service.
Cons: no - exceeded expectations
Location: Close to town, but why leave such a wonderful resort??? We climbed the mountain...was awesome.
We wanted a girl trip away from the kids and Sanctuary blew our expectations away. It was relaxation from the moment we drove up to the resort. The staff is friendly, helpful, and ready to serve. The spa was AMAZING. Every service - we indulged in 3 different ones during our stay. We will definitely be going back! And if you are up for breakfast - do not pass up the homemade waffles with salted caramel syrup.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Nov 12, 2013
3 out of 5
by Ash

Decent hotel, but falls short of positive reviews

Posted Oct 29, 2013
We stayed at the Sanctuary for 3 nights in October. We were excited for the trip, based on the positive reviews here and on tripadvisor. Perhaps I'm spoiled by the type of hotels we stay in regularly, but I was disappointed. The faciliites, as a general matter, are nice but nothing spectacular. The pool is older -- the pool furniture is fine, but it's what I would expect of a 3-star hotel. The room is what really feel short. I literally was shocked when I walked into our first room. It was like a cave. Dark, no real light coming in from the windows, and short ceilings. It was marketed as "mountain view," but it literally overlooked a parking lot. I called and asked for a room switch and to inquire if an upgrade was available (at our cost), to be told that the hotel was fully booked. After additional conversations, they found a different room, at the top of the hill, with better light and a better view, but the cave-like features remained. In all, it's a nice place. Don't get me wrong - we're not talking about a Motel 6 here. But I expected more based on the hype.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 16, 2013 on Hotels.com
Fantastic location, stunning views, calm and quiet but still a lot to do; Very good food snd friendly service.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by A verified traveler from Houston, TX

Nice property

Posted Sep 6, 2013 on Hotels.com
We stayed in a mountain suite which was very nice. These suites were built in the 50s or 60s and have been recently remodeled. The rooms are very comfortable and quite large. There were some niggly details that I think the property needs to pay attention to. Firstly one of the bath sinks didn't drain correctly. Secondly, the suite had a kitchenette but no cooking utensils like pots/pans, spatulas,etc. It took 2 calls to get a frying pan...but no spatula - I like to cook my own eggs for breakfast. I feel like if you aren't setup for people to cook something in the suite, you shouldn't advertise it as such. We also had considerable problems with the TV in the bedroom, though they were very helpful in trying to get it resolved. The staff at the property is quite lovely...everyone says hello. The pool staff was very eager to please and friendly. I think the staff makes a huge difference here and they're obviously well-trained. The restaurant food was very good as well.