Ratings based on 2,423 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.9 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.5 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Arizona

Posted Jul 24, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: management needs to disclose fees/deposits to customers prior to paying for the room.
Location: lots of restaurants and shopping.
Scottsdale Cottonwoods Resort: arrived at the "resort" to check in on July 22, 14. the desk clerk said there is a $18.00 resort fee. ok, i'm fine with that. Then he said there is a $100.00 deposit. Refund will be credited to my account within 10 days or so.... now, i am getting very leary. Why do they need 100.00 deposit. I paid for the room one week ago. I paid the deposit and went to my room. upon opening the door i couldnt believe what i saw. You call this a "resort" ? Motel 8 has better rooms than this "resort". Carpet stains...old outdated furniture. I left 5 minutes later and expressed my issues with one of the hotel manages. They didnt seem to care. i dare you to post this comment---i sincerely doubt it...but i hope someone reads this.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Has really become thread bare

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Pros: Expedia
Cons: a lot , see above
We stayed at this hotel several years back and loved the layout but things have not been taken care of since then. The grounds have been kept beautifully still, but the exterior of the casitas have chunks missing on the walls, saw some walls that had mold, patio were not maintained at all. Did not even have a broom to sweep off the patio to be able to sit out. The carpet was in need of a good cleaning, the chairs upholstery was thread bare. The restaurant is only open for breakfast now, some food available at the pool. This hotel is in such a good area, its too bad that a little maintance daily would have really kept it up. Sorry to see this. Probably wouldn't stay there again unless they did quite a bit of maintance .
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice place, good price.

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: It was spacious.
Cons: Updated rooms
Location: A lot of restaurants and a great mall.
The staff was excellent, the room was cozy, and the pool was excellent!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

Great Location

Posted Jul 7, 2014
Pros: Casita style rooms are great! Location is awesome!
Cons: A lot of renovation would greatly benefit this amazingly located resort.
Location: Massive amount of shopping and restaurants nearby. Night life is tremendous. Nearly centrally located to almost anything Phoenix has to offer.
Living in Scottsdale, maybe a different expectation for a resort in Scottsdale. However, this 'resort' shows the signs of age and moderate neglect over time. Likely because this resort is not affiliated with the big chains. In the style of Camelback Inn and some of the competing resorts, the casita design is nice. Surprisingly quiet in the rooms no matter what is going on outside. Unfortunately, these are dated and less than inviting overall. Definitely in need of an update to take advantage of the great overall design and layout of the resort. Though no real services were required during our stay, the front desk was only staffed with one person. It took a long time to just check out and gave me a lot of time to review the surroundings which further reflected the 'living on the past' of this facility. So much potential especially located next to the Borgata which has always been upscale and was recently updated completely. Location is awesome especially for night life opportunities. More of an adult adventure than for kids. Though TV wouldn't be a major part of the day, cable TV only has about 24 channels but does include HBO. Again, okay for adults but not kids. Maybe no a niche they really want to cater to. I would love to give it a better review as I wasn't extremely disappointed in my stay as much as I know I would not be looking to go back there. A lot of other options in the area.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Scottsdale, AZ

Comfy Casitas & Large Pool

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Great price for large extended families. Large pool with shallow to deep sides. Very nice front desk & staff. Perfect path for early morning runs! Our families enjoyed our lengthy stay.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Old School

Posted Jul 6, 2014
Pros: Location is great
Cons: Needs total renovation
Location: Lots of food and drink.
Cotton Wood could be cool but is under achievers. Pool area is awful. Needs a over haul.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

MISREPRESENTATION

Posted Jul 2, 2014
Hidden resort fee that was not visible upon purchase of package deal. At 18$ a day I felt no added special staff attention regarding service. Highly disappointed with pool conditions. NO coolers allowed in pool area, which in AZ is not my acceptible due to the intense temperatures. Cool decking chipped and not maintained, pool chairs disgusting due to other patrons sweat marks left behind because NO POOLTOWELS WERE AVAILABLE AT THE POOL. Having to use room towels and then chase down additional room towels was not exactly my idea of what a vacation pampering excursion should be. Personally I think they need to spend money to remodel and upgrade.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Jun 24, 2014 on Hotels.com
Was disappointed from the moment we pulled into the parking lot. Would not stay again.
1 out of 5
by j potter from MI

Terrible!!!!!!!

Posted Jun 24, 2014
Did not get the service they advertised, old dirty and under staffed. Then was charged a resort fee on top of cost of hotel $18 a day. Pool area dirty and never a bartender on at the pool bar and when he was we found out he wasn't even a bartender they just put him down there he did not have a clue what he was doing and didn't really seem to care.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Reno, NV

Terrribly run down hotel in Scottsdale

Posted Jun 23, 2014
Pros: Nothing, it should be leveled
I checked into the hotel but was not sure. I then went to my room and was horrified how run down it was. I sat on the bed and I sunk at least 5 inches as it was a conoe. I proceeded to check out.