Ratings based on 233 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
79% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.8 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Chadfrom Arizona

Terrible stay

Posted Apr 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
Had a terrible stay. Key cards did not work properly so each time we tried to enter the room we had problems, including four trips to the front desk to reprogram. Staff offered no apologies or regret (as if they experience/expect these problems. Was excited about my stay in Scottsdale, but hotel stay dragged down an otherwise nice weekend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Run Down

Posted Apr 6, 2014
The carpet floors were stained and dirty, the furniture was warped and uncomfortable, and even though we had a Do Not Disturb sign on our door the entire time, the hotel staff opened our room to deliver a package.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Lawyer/owner inhospitable

Posted Mar 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
My husband and I recently stayed at Scottsdale Resort and Athletic Club which was close to his father's home who is currently on Hospice. We enjoyed having such a nice gym but had to leave after staying there just one night. Our room key would not work which left us having to go to the front desk to inform them of the problem. The gentleman at the front desk came to our room and also had great difficulty getting the room key to open our door. This employee then had a maintenance man come to correct the problem. The problem was not corrected. The front desk suggested we move to the room next door which would have been fine had the room key worked on that room but it did not. After talking with management they refused to do anything to compensate us for the ongoing inconvenience of struggling to simply enter the room we paid for. The owner of the hotel has ignored upkeep of the grounds. While he may be a lawyer he clearly is dense to the fact that the hotel industry is competitive and if you're unwilling to make amends mistakes made and inconveniencing guests people will decide to stay elsewhere. Overall the hotel was adequate but overpriced and staffers have been instructed to disregard "complaints" by saying there's nothing that can be done. We were dissatisfied so we left the hotel after staying one night despite our four night reservation.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Not your typical Scottsdale resort

Posted Feb 7, 2014
Broken lawn chairs cold limited breakfast and the gym is not free
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Holiday Stay

Posted Jan 7, 2014
Cons: Rooms need flat screen TVs
Hotel staff, especially Matt, were awesome. He was very attentive and made me feel at home the moment I walked through the door. Suite was much larger than any suite I have ever stayed in. There were a few small things that were disappointing about the room. No microwave in a full kitchen was odd. Not able to heat anything up. The room seemed to have not been used for awhile prior to me as the bathtub knob was stuck, a wine cork on the floor by the couch, and in general seemed as if no one had been there for awhile. The TVs were probably the most disappointing part. The room was top notch in space, upgrades, location, but the TVs are tubes. I would expect a flat screen with a clear picture. The picture was fuzzy my entire stay. Athletic club was FANTASTIC! Thank you Niles and Dan! It was easy to get court time, easy to join in clinics and my private lesson changed my game. I learned so much in the few days I was there. Location was good as well. Goldman's Deli is a gem that is within walking distance. Unfortunately I did not have time to venture far from the resort as I spent most of my time playing tennis, soaking up the sun and taking advantage of the spa.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 2, 2014
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom portland, OR

Disgusting hotel- rude front office manager

Posted Dec 10, 2013
Standard room smelled like urine. Manager offered 'upgrade' to nicer room for full price. Dirty used Q-tip behind furniture in lobby. Paid for upgrade- stained carpet- questionable linens. Requested extra towel- never came. Overall disgusting.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by dlj travelerfrom 33701

less than promised

Posted Nov 9, 2013 on Hotels.com
the room itself was okay but the location was not. Less than 12% of the rooms were booked the days i was there and yet they gave me a room away from the resort area(pool etc). the desk person told me that the other rooms were not ready even though it was 10:30 at night. The breakfast had no healthy options and I wanted a can opener and they could not locate one in the entire hotel
3 out of 5
by sfrom NC

Scottsdale Resort & Athletic Club

Posted Oct 28, 2013
Pros: Quiet area. Easy to find.
Cons: Customer service and quality of amenities.
My first encounter with this facility was ok. The desk clerk was helpful in describing the facility and their amenities. Aethsteically the room was great, until I opened the TV cabinet... the TV was a tube version, disappointment. Plenty of space in the room. The A/C was fine, but extremely loud when running. The shower was not sparkling clean, enough said. Also, the toilet did not properly flush. The continental breakfast was a joke. It did not open until 7am. The toaster oven half worked. A small room with only a half dozen chairs or so. The milk was left at room temperature, not on ice. The morning desk clerk had nothing to say in regards to my experience or even a thank you for choosing their facility when I turned in my room keys.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by Danette

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Oct 24, 2013 on Hotels.com