Ratings based on 835 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Phoenix, AZ

A swanky little hotel downtown

Posted Sep 9, 2014
My husband and I wanted to get away for a fun Staycation. This hotel was small, fun, and very trendy. The hotel is walking distance to the lightrail which runs to downtown and Tempe, which made our night time excursions exciting and hassle free. The hotel also offers free bike rentals, free pictures from their photo booth, and complimentary chips, gummy bears, and candy bars. ;-) All of which we took full advantage. The pool is a little on the small side but given it's a smaller hotel the pool was never crowded and there was an abundance of lounge chairs and cabanas. There was a pool side waiter and the pool is a salt water pool both of which were positives. The only negative was the carpet in the room was dirty. And I wouldn't describe the room as very romantic but the trendy style and unique touches definitely made up for it. Their 5th floor lounge was a great romantic chill spot. It was a GREAT hotel and we'd definitely stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Australia

WOW! What a surprise!

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Check out times, free bottle water, sodas and snacks.
Cons: There is mood lighting but in the restaurant, the lighting was on the darker side for my liking.
This one was an "Expedia mystery" pick and all I can say is, it was awesome!!!! The Clarendon Hotel and Spa has been newly remodeled on the inside and the staff were very friendly. Your check in time is also your check out time so, if you checked in at 2 pm you have until 2 pm the next day to check out! Great idea guys! The room was very clean and well decked out. Nice little extras like the free bottles of water, sodas and snacks. We went down stairs and eat at the restaurant. The Mexican food was up there with the best we had ever had and the chief actually came out and was asking people how the food was. Would definitely stay here again if I'm ever in Phoenix again!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from El Paso, TX

Awesome boutique hotel with excellent staff

Posted Sep 7, 2014
The staff were extremely friendly and helpful. The room was clean and the atmosphere is outstanding. My only complaint is that their claim to fame (the sky bar) closes early and doesn't actually have a bar or staff in it.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Great night away

Posted Sep 1, 2014
Location: FEZ is an excellent restaurant nearby.
The hotel is beautiful and different than any I've stayed at before and the staff is personable and at your service. The facility is small(er than typical hotels), quiet and was filled with younger couples and individuals from all different walks of life.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Posted Sep 1, 2014
I wouldn't rate it a four start hotel. This is an old hotel that has (and is) being refurbished. A 3 - 3.5 rating would be more appropriate.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from SoCal

Great boutique hotel in Phoenix

Posted Aug 26, 2014
Pros: The staff was always asking if I needed anything. Great service.
Location: Go to the "Yard". Super fun atmosphere and three restaurants to chose from.
I just loved this hotel. It had a great hip, mod style and the staff was amazing.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from San Diego

Cool hotel in the city

Posted Aug 25, 2014
My friends and I had a couple of rooms this weekend and loved this place! The rooms were large, chic and relaxing. The pool was awesome - saltwater chlorination - with comfortable lounge chairs and outdoor servers to bring drinks and snacks. The restaurant was delicious and inexpensive. We are already planning to go back!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 25, 2014
nice room, good restaurant, wonderful pool. I will recommend this hotel to any friend who will visit phoenix.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Denver

Nice boutique hotel.

Posted Aug 19, 2014
Very short stay but excellent experience. Right at home.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

This is a 4 Star Hotel? Good Grief!

Posted Aug 14, 2014
I purchased a package deal to attend my mother's funeral, and I unluckily ended up at this hotel. My brother had warned me about the location (he lives in Phoenix), described in the package description as being in downtown Phoenix. I later found out this is not downtown Phoenix, instead located in a seedier part on the outskirts of Phoenix downtown proper. Anyway, I was moved to the room next door because my shampoo dispenser was lacking shampoo, in addition to the conditioner's pump falling right off of the shower stall. My next room had hairs on the bath tub and on the toilet tank, and I let the morning front desk staff about the room not being clean. (Remember, I'm here for my mother's funeral and am too exhausted to do so the evening before). After the funeral the same black hair are there to greet me (I'm a redhead!), even though the check out day's front desk staff told me that they had ordered a "deep" cleaning the day before. This is an old hotel in a bad part of town. Don't let the star rating and photos of the room lead you to believe this is a good buy. In this hotel's case, appearances are truly deceiving!