Ratings based on 401 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.7 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.8 Room cleanliness
4.7 Service & staff
4.7 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort hotel

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Pros: Hotel is very nice - what you would expect for the price. They seem to try to keep it a feel working operation but it is a large hotel.
Cons: I rented a bike to ride around area. The bike really could have used better maintenance - wish I had more choices. Other than that - all else ok
Location: Hiking is great
We stayed end of March - great weather as expected, hotel is a large busy establishment. For the most part they did a good job - small details like forgetting to put soap in room and problems with room keys note working. That aside the staff was excellent. Very responsive and accommodating. Amenities were nice, meals were excellent. Service at restaurant can get slow but ok. In summary I think you'll find accommodations very nice but mostly I give the staff 5 stars for top service.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Janet from Philadelphia

Paradise

Posted Mar 27, 2014
Cons: We were a family of 2 adults and 2 teenagers. A room with 2 double beds was a bit cramped. I will request a pool view next time.
Location: Sedona - pink jeep tour (so fun!); Taliesin West (Frank Lloyd Wright); Fashion Square Restaurants outside hotel: Salt Cellar; Pink Pony; Daily Dose
This was my 2nd stay at this most amazing resort. It's hard to know where to begin to describe our 5 days at this hotel. It is so much more than a hotel. It's an experience that I hope to repeat soon. The service is what stands out the most. The surroundings are something to behold: the beautiful lobby with marble fountain, pool areas, outside dining, cactus gardens, golf course, restaurants, furnishings, stores and more. The spa was a dream. They cannot do enough for you. I felt totally spoiled and pampered during my entire stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Relaxing

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: Rooms were clean and very comfortable
Location: Easy car ride to shopping at Nordstrom and other great shops
The staff, the many pools, the food all amazing plus great activities close by with shopping, hiking Camelback mountain all so much fun!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by lbl from Edmonton, AB

My first choice

Posted Feb 2, 2014
The Phoenician is my go to place... Great people, great food and great golf, great location. I highly recommend this paradise!
1 out of 5
Recommended
by Carina from Tahoe

Rude housekeeping Department

Posted Jan 13, 2014 on Hotels.com
I stay at multiple hotels for business around the country and planned a short vacation here expecting to be wowed. The Spa was mediocre and I was not informed that the hair and nails facility is actually in another building. If I wanted to get dressed and go to another building to have my nails done, there are plenty of reputable and much less expensive pedi/mani places, but I thought I was paying for a spa experience. I have on occasion left stuff in rooms, my fault, but I have never had a problem with these items being returned. I called the afternoon after I checked out about a dress I left in the closet and the housekeeping director was extremely rude and abrupt telling me that it could take days for lost items to be recovered, and said she would call me back. I had to call 2 more times to get an answer and apparently they never found my dress. I am not rich and the dress was for an important event. I am appalled that I couldn't even get a return phone call and when I finally got through to someone they told me they never found it. Perhaps the hotel doesn't pay the staff well enough to prevent theft from guests but I will NEVER stay here again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 13, 2014
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Winter Runaway from Toronto, Canada

Great Resort with wonderful staff.

Posted Jan 9, 2014
Cons: The rooms in the main building are tired. The carpet in the halls is faded and dirty looking. They need updating. The bathrooms are nice and large.
Location: It is definitely worth the trip to Sedona to see the gorgeous mountains.
The staff at this resort are excellent. Every person that we spoke to was helpful and friendly. The resort itself is on a huge property with huge sprawling pools and a wonderful fun slide for the kids. The fitness center is above average for a resort. I did a great class with a very dedicated instructor. The food for breakfast and lunch is yummy. We never had dinner on the resort. We loved walking through the cactus garden with the amazing pamphlet from the hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by JF from Fort Wayne, IN

Perfect last minute getaway

Posted Jan 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
Over breakfast New Years Day I asked my wife, "what would you like to do today?" Her response..."go somewhere warm!" Now given that my wife is in her second trimester with twins, and the temperatures were dropping into the single digits in the Midwest, I was happy to oblige and we departed that afternoon. I travel to the Phoenix area about twice per year on business and have stayed in numerous resorts in the Scottsdale area. I had always wanted to try The Phoenician, and this seemed the perfect opportunity. From the moment you start your ascent up onto the resort grounds, you get the feeling that you're about to experience something special. The grounds are meticulously maintained and the staff, even as far out as the gatekeeper, are incredibly friendly and eager to serve. The staff at The Phoenician are masters of detail. From the moment you arrive on property till the moment you leave, you never touch a car door handle or a bag. My golf clubs were quickly swept from my car and not seen again until my tee time the following day, when they were perfectly unpacked along with my golf spikes waiting for me on my golf cart. Upon check in, we were double-upgraded to a room larger than our first apartment with a balcony large enough to host a party. We were a late arrival and by the time we reached our room, they'd already done the turndown service...lights dimmed, light classical music, and chocolate the pillows of our giant cloud of a bed. Following what felt like the best sleep I'd had in years, my wife & I ventured to breakfast. We sat on the patio under heat columns and enjoyed a panoramic view looking out over the pool. The food was VERY good, all very fresh and flavorful with an incredibly attentive wait staff who were refilling our drink with what seemed like every single sip we took. Following breakfast, we were ready for a hike up the mountain, of which The Phoenician is situated at the base. The concierge was very well educated on the mountain, the best trail to pursue, and gave us very specific directions and instructions. Within minutes, we were strolling through the grounds and out the east gate of the property to head up to the entrance of the trail less than a mile down the road. The hike was just the right amount of challenge and boasted some of the most incredible views of the valley I'd ever experienced! After our hike, my wife headed to the pool to catch up on her tabloids and I headed to the Desert course, 9 of the 27 holes of golf offered on property at The Phoenician. The course was challenging but as soon as I accepted that every shot breaks away from the mountain, I was able to realign my strategy and begin to enjoy the round. I believe I saw the beverage cart 2 or 3 times during my 9-hole round which was more than ample. The driver was very friendly and never forgot my name after hearing it the first time. The cart was fully stocked and she was prepared to make any drink I requested. Throughout the round, I was receiving picture messages from my wife of the pool and her lunch, which she was served in her lounge chair. She said it was THE best hummus she'd ever had and finished the entire meal. She said the pool staff was also very accommodating, and reminded her of the staff at The Four Seasons Maui whom we agreed are the best and most attentive in the world. Early evening began with a trip to the spa at The Phoenician, which did not disappoint. Although small and offering fewer amenities than the nearby JW Marriott Camelback Inn, the spa was very nice and the services we experienced were very thorough. It definitely met our expectations. Our second day at The Phoenician consisted of much the same but following dinner off-property, we brought some local friends back with us to enjoy a drink on the patio off the main lobby. We sat around a fantastic fire and enjoyed each other's company while a chef prepared fresh sushi for hotel guests from a station set up nearby and a local musician played acoustic guitar. We left, reluctantly I might add, the next morning. Upon check out, I noticed I had been charged for an additional day of valet (the only mistake I caught throughout our entire stay), which the desk staff immediately and without question removed from my bill with sincere apologies. Our car was promptly delivered to the front doors, bags packed into the car exactly how they'd been found upon our arrival 3 days prior, and we were off. All in all, The Phoenician was one of the very best...if not THE best...resorts my wife & I have ever experienced and we will absolutely be back. This resort truly has something for everyone, whether you're a couple looking for a quick getaway or a family on vacation. All of the children I saw on the grounds appeared to be having fun, playing lawn bowling or swimming at the pool. Lastly, the location of The Phoenician is the absolute BEST in Scottsdale as it feels totally private and remote, and yet, it's a 3 minute drive to the hustle and bustle of Fashion Square and Old Town Scottsdale. If you have the opportunity, give it a shot. If you come away disappointed, perhaps you simply need your Prozac dosage increased.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Andrea from Mesa, AZ

Lovely grounds, great service, close to everything

Posted Jan 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
We enjoyed every minute of our stay!!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The best

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: everything
Cons: nothing
Location: If you are a hiker then you must try Camel back but be prepared.
75 degrees in an idylic setting. Convenient to sky harbor. 5 star in every capacity.