Ratings based on 565 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
92% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent location

Posted Nov 4, 2014
Pros: Location and price
Cons: furniture in room and bathroom
Location: Walking distance to Old Town , Fifth Avenue and the Fashion Mall. Enjoyed having access to bikes and gym facilities.
Hotel staff very friendly and helpful. Rooms and bathroom could be updated.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Australia

Nice hotel in the lower to mid range price wise

Posted Oct 20, 2014
Pros: Well located, availability of larger rooms and an excellent staff
Cons: See comments above
Location: Very close to Scottsdale Fashion Square, access to excellent array of restaurants in area.
We took a large room on Floor 3 which was well appointed and spacious - a suite. Unfortunately showing some signs of age and with a brutal air-conditioning system which kept the 2 areas at a constant temperature but was switching on and off constantly and difficult to control and noisy. The staff at the hotel are excellent overall and very willing to assist. The Hotel made a strange decision, which questions its star rating, and that was to take a private wedding over the weekend and closed the larger pool area (there is a smaller pool) for Saturday afternoon and Sunday morning which lead to crowding in the smaller pool area. The issue here was not only the pool but the noise of the group that were there to party.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified travelerfrom Washington State

Colorful hotel in the heart of old town Scottsdale

Posted Oct 10, 2014
Pros: Proximity to stores and resturants
Cons: Phone service and wifi
Location: Close to Fashion Square, lots of restaurants, and western stores
The staff was friendly, welcoming, and ready to help. The layout of the hotel was open and colorful, close to lots of shopping and restaurants. A couple of things that I found bothersome - my cell phone got horrible reception in my room (I dropped at least 6 calls) and wifi was slower than a snail (you could however upgrade for an added charge). Overall, I would probably think twice about staying here again if I were doing business as being able to use your phone or wifi is a necessity.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

It's all about location

Posted Sep 30, 2014
Pros: Its close to downtown Scottsdale
Cons: at least put in a microwave
I would only recommend the hotel to someone that doesn't want to get a rental car and likes to walk around Scottsdale. The rooms have no kitchenette so I would not recommend unless you want to eat out for every single meal. The restaurant is super pricey and the serving size is very small.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 31, 2014
Nice boutique hotel, definitely aimed at the younger crowd. Great pool although pretty loud music so wouldn't want a room right by it at the weekend. Room was nice, very clean and comfortable with some nice design details and touches. Overall a very pleasant stay.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
by gillianom1from london

I just adore this hotel

Posted Aug 17, 2014 on Hotels.com
i stayed here four times during the month. I love the design, the colours, the service, the location, the pools, everything basically. id quite like to move in!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Westchester, NY

In the heart of Old Town

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: Convenience
Cons: It was an older building so there are probably always things to be maintained but overall it was well kept.
Location: Restaurants, art galleries, boutique & mall shopping, performing arts center and civic center all within walking distance. Hike/walk/bike path nearby
The Saguaro is conveniently located to all that Old Town Scottsdale has to offer - restaurants, the Performing Arts Center, art galleries, shopping malls - and everything is in walking distance. The restaurant on site is convenient and lives up to its gourmet advertisement. The decor reminded me of the 1970s with some European influence. It was colorful and artsy, which may or not be your taste, but made it feel unique rather than ordinary as you would find at a chain hotel. Our room was clean and very comfortable. It was a pleasure to come back to the room after a hot day in the sun. There are two pools. One is more lively and even had music playing on the weekends which made it feel like a party atmosphere. The other is designated as the "calm" pool for those who wish to relax in a quieter setting. There were plenty of lounge chairs available as well as pool towels provided and pool side refreshment service available. Overall, I would highly recommend staying at the Saguaro if you want a combination of convenience, value and comfort.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 16, 2014 on Hotels.com
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified travelerfrom Bisbee, AZ

A Colorful Hotel in a Great Location

Posted Aug 16, 2014
Pros: See above
Cons: . Newer towels would be nice. Some of our towels (albeit clean) looked pretty worn.
Location: See above
Companion and I booked for two nights. Loved it so much we stayed for a 3rd. Staff were welcoming and helpful . Excellent restaurant with a menu created by Iron chef Jose Garces, hence a little pricey. Building 3 rooms have patios that open to the Scottsdale Civic Center Park with beautiful views. The Civic center hosts AZ 88 and Pepin's and Scottsdale Center for the Arts. Oh, and the hotel is both pet friendly and gay friendly.