Ratings based on 115 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Amy from Tucson, AZ

Classy Hotel near airport, shopping and resorts

Posted Jun 3, 2014
I chose the Wingate because of its 4-mile proximity to the Westin Kierland Resort, where I had a conference to attend. The room was affordable, clean, spacious and quiet with reliable wifi. There was a microwave and mini-fridge. The tub was an oval with a seating platform around it (nice!) and the shower-head was a massager! Bed was a little softer than I'm used to - but it was comfortable with nice linens and four pillows. I really enjoyed my stay. Didn't get to swim but the pool and jacuzzi looked nice - the workout room was big and modern and the business center was small but adequate. They had snacks for sale 24/7, and there was ALWAYS someone immediately available at the front desk. Breakfast was the usual fare, waffle-maker some days, french toast others, and always eggs and either sausage or bacon; plus cereal, bagels, juices, yogurt, milk, etc. This place is kind of hiding in plain sight and it wasn't busy when I was there (May 27-June1, 2014). Hardly any traffic in the area - easy to get around by car. I'd definitely stay here again and highly recommend it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

good pick for when visiting Scottsdale

Posted Jun 2, 2014
comfortable room, nice fitness center, free breakfast, free wifi, nice bathroom, no complaints.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Howie from Chicago, IL

Great Hotel , Perfectly Located

Posted Apr 1, 2014
Pros: Easy access to HWY 101, WiFi provided, office center was free and the printer was always stocked with paper, nice continental breakfast.
Location: Taliesin West 5 minutes away, Pinnacle Peak 15 minutes, Musical Instrument Museum 15 minutes, Old Scottsdale and Fashion District 10 minutes
The staff couldn't have been more accommodating - driving directions, restaurant suggestions, room cleaning, extra hangers, replacement of a broken iron. And let's not forget the great chocolate chip cookies at the front desk! When the woman in charge of the breakfast area heard that we were leaving at 4 am to catch our plane, she made sure that we filled a bag with yogurt, cereal, fruit and muffins so that we wouldn't miss breakfast.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by J from Idaho

Nice hotel

Posted Mar 29, 2014
Great breakfast. Great staff. Easy to find. Clean rooms.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great affordable place to stay!

Posted Mar 28, 2014
Excellent breakfast! Best hotel included breakfast I have been. And the girl that worked the food was on top of everything and very friendly. Entire staff I encountered were all friendly and helpful. 4 star on the room because the carpet was pretty stained, but the bed was extremely comfortable for a hotel bed!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Don from Denver

Spring Break Hotel

Posted Mar 24, 2014
Pros: Very Friendly, clean, good breakfast each morning.
Location: Spring Training games @ Salt River Fields.
Enjoyed our stay. Staff was very accomadating and friendly. Rooms were clean.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Fred from Vancouver

Comfortable Hotel

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: Spacious and comfortable rooms. Availability of complimentary coffee and tea 24 hrs.
Cons: Timing of breakfast availability.
Comfortable hotel adjacent to a large shopping mall. Complementary breakfast OK but should be available beyond 9AM especially on weekends. Definitely require a car if staying there as very few restaurants or other attractions in the immediate area. Is also quite far from the airport and the hotel does not have a shuttle service although they will arrange for a transfer which costs $55.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Leonard from Nebraska

Great Place for the Money

Posted Mar 18, 2014
Pros: The friendliness of the staff.
Cons: Only observation, I think the carpet in the rooms could be updated.
Location: Location was great. Far enough away from heavy traffic to be quiet, but close enough for easy access to interstate.
The staff was terrific, breakfast good. Bed comfortable, plenty of fluffy towels. I didn't spend a great deal of time at the hotel during the day, as I was in Scottsdale visiting friends. Pool looked attractive, but I don't swim. Check out was easy.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by RatherDrive from Smack dab in the centre of Canada

nice hotel in north Scottsdale

Posted Mar 5, 2014
Pros: Pool, cleanliness, staff, location.
Cons: Breakfast selection and bedding - comforter would be a nice upgrade vs. traditional blanket/sheet combo.
Location: Tons of shopping & dining options in the area - many close enough to walk.
Finished off our Phx holiday at this hotel. After 6 days, we'd rate it 4/5. A better breakfast selection and bedding would increase our rating. Pool area is small but v. clean and private and well situated to take advantage of the sun (at least during winter months). Close to lots of shopping & dining options in north Scottsdale as well as Cactus League baseball. Hotel also offers a v. convenient shuttle which is really handy for shopping, etc.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Very nice hotel

Posted Feb 8, 2014
great location, quick access to restaurants and shopping