Ratings based on 1,311 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.7 out of 5
81% of guests recommend
3.9 Room cleanliness
3.8 Service & staff
3.8 Room comfort
3.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
by C from F

Awful!

Posted Apr 13, 2014
Checkin was impersonal (trainee was nice, other staff member didn't even make eye contact with us). Initial room was quite frankly a bit scary and located next to an empty pool. Given a queen when a king was booked. We were moved to a "nicer" room by the trainee (I suspect his supervisor would not have been as nice). The new room smelled of mold. Breakfast staff did not speak ANY English ( I asked for honey and could not get any comprehension from staff. Pool was not heated. When we checked out 2 days early, front desk staff didn't even bother to ask why we were leaving early or care at all. They could not even print me a folio when I requested it. Wouldn't stay here again if you paid me.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Hard bed.

Posted Apr 11, 2014
Everything was fine but the bed was hard. We didn't eat the provided breakfast so I can't comment on it. The WiFi did not extend to the exercise room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Location was great!

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: The staff was up beat friendly and very courteous.
Cons: The bedding was too warm. Couldn't get comfortable, too warm.
Location: Close enought to everything I needed.
The hotels location was great for what ever plans I made. Just far away enough of the hustle and bustle of downtown, but still close enough.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nothing special

Posted Apr 2, 2014
The "extras" promised aren't worth the stay. A hotel stay should be quiet & comfortable. We didn't have a remote & when we called for one the night staff said, "I don't have that stuff, try in the morning." When we went down to enjoy the complimentary 6-10 breakfast, we arrived at 9:10 & everything was gone. They never brought anything fresh out at that point & we had cereal & fruit.
2 out of 5
by big al from orange county

sad

Posted Apr 2, 2014
Pros: nothing
Cons: better parking,,sad heat and air
Location: sad
i have be to other hotels with the same name but this one i was disssapointed;;i should have went to the marriot
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Irma from Visalia CA

Good Stay

Posted Mar 31, 2014
Pros: Safe area and friendly staff
Cons: Continental breakfast
Rooms clean and comfortable. Staff friendly and helpful. Beautiful outdoor patio/pool area but pool wasn't heated. Breakfast could use some improvement. Coffee was slightly warm, potatoes hard but waffles were awesome. Parking was bad. Would stay there again.
3 out of 5
by rkdragonfly

Not a 3.6 rating

Posted Mar 28, 2014
The food from the restaurant was horrible. The workout room is in DIRE need of an update (neither treadmill worked) and there is no lobby to hang out really. Just overall not up to the reviews.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kristen from Arizona

decent midtown hotel

Posted Mar 23, 2014
Pros: Loved the grounds, within walking distance to Gallo Blanco, a great taco restaurant.
Cons: Update blackout curtains - this is a necessity in any hotel but especially a Phoenix hotel!
After reading MANY reviews we landed on the Wyndham Garden, mostly because of the price and that it had a heated pool (visited in mid March). The grounds are amazing with a children's playground and beautiful sitting areas. The pool area has 2 pools, only one was heated, and there wasn't a hot tub. Nice enough pool area. Our air conditioning unit did not work and we allowed them to try to fix it before finally requesting another room, which they did without blinking an eye. Moving into the other room there was a missing black-out curtain panel that they also sent maintenance up to fix. Overall they were responsive but we were cranky with 2 small children who had to be moved after already falling asleep. At night we found the hotel to be loud with either the cooling unit turning on and off, or maybe it was the elevator running all night. The black out curtains were bunk with many bare spots that allowed rays of sunshine to wake us even before our kiddos. Was disappointing mostly because we spent more than we usually do for a room in Phoenix and expected a lot out of it. Bets are that you will get a good room, we just happened to get two duds.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Good bargain for the money

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Good hotel for what it is. If your looking for a place to stay that is close to bars, restaurants or nightlife you may want I look elsewhere. If you're looking for a good place to just rest for a day or two than this hotel is perfect for that.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

nice hotel, disappointed swimming area.

Posted Mar 22, 2014
Great, friendly staff. Clean rooms, very comfortable beds! I had the suite on the 5th floor which had a living area and then the room with the bed. Each room had its own tv. I was disappointed, however with the pools. There is a pool on the 5th floor that is private for cabana use only, and that pool was not even filled up and no one mentioned this until after I paid. The pool down stairs had quite a bit of leaves floating around. Parking was kind of difficult, would recommend parking on bottom level none of the levels have easy accuse to hotel. If you park anything above the bottom level you have to walk down anyways. Breakfast was complimentary and was very delicious. There's a little play area next to down stairs pool my kids really enjoyed it. All in all it was a great stay I would recommend.