Ratings based on 976 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.9 out of 5
87% of guests recommend
4.1 Room cleanliness
4.0 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
3.9 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Andrea from Des Moines, Iowa

Decent resort in great location

Posted Apr 16, 2014
Pros: Location. Staff/ concierges. Relaxing pool. Mini food market in lobby.
Cons: Toilet has little to no water pressure. Could only flush every 20-30 mins. Room overall could use a face lift- paint, outlet and light switch covers.
Pictures somewhat deceiving. My husband expected a very nice resort upon our arrival. It wasn't bad, just disappointing. The room was a little out dated. Our bathroom water pressure/ plumbing was very sad including the shower AND toilet. We were placed in the wrong room at first, but concierges quickly fixed the situation. Staff was very friendly. Nice, relaxing pools. GREAT location in Scottsdale.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Cassi from Colorado

Loved the pools and pool hours

Posted Apr 16, 2014
The place was pretty packed - a wedding and a few huge groups of guys in for golfing. But the landscaping and grounds were beautiful and nearby shopping and dining was fabulous. I would definitely return.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to Scottsdale airport

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Several swimming pools means that one is close to your room.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Pleasant Surprise

Posted Apr 15, 2014
Pros: The rates and the accommodations were very reasonable. The location is good with nearby restaurants and placement just off the freeway.
Cons: Updating the rooms. Staff was friendly, the on site snack shop was a little "thin."
Location: Location was easy to find. Lots of restaurants and stores for people looking for conveniences normally found at home.
I was very pleased to see the updated lobby and on site restaurant. Both were updated and the menu give a decent set of options for various tastes. The facility offered several pool options. The rooms were clean, but a bit dated. If you prefer a bit of quiet, I would ask to stay away from the pool areas. They got a little loud during the day.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Overnight

Posted Apr 8, 2014
We stay at the Zona for one evening during Spring Break. They have a very nice pool area which we enjoyed. Very populate place.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nancy from Portland via Scottsdale

Great Hotel for the price

Posted Apr 7, 2014
Pros: Location, price, suite was nice with two balconies.
Cons: Management and training!!!!!! The restaurant staff and front desk staff were not trained or sophisticated enough to deal with the people there.
Location: Great Location!
The stafff is not trained or as sophisticated as most Scottsdale Hotels. If they were, and they had someone running the place to the quality of The Princess, they could charge a lot more per night. We enjoyed our stay. The price was inexpensive for this time of year and the suite was great. The hotel has huge potential because of the property and the property location. It could be so much better, but then they would charge accordingly. I would recommend this hotel to others based on the price and location. Everything that was said in the reviews that I read before booking was correct.....but you get what you pay for. Anywhere else it would have been a 3+ star hotel. Experience wise we had some funny things that happened with our bedding and room service.....would have angered me if I was paying Kierland prices.....but it was ok here because again... you get what you pay for.
2 out of 5
by Jodi from Idaho

This hotel looked alot nicer in the photos online!

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: The bell-hop.
Cons: Listed above!
Location: The location was good. Plenty of malls and restaurants nearby.
Had issues with my reservation the minute I checked in. Although the staff was very accommodating, I had made my reservation through Expedia eight days prior to check in. The rooms were not very well insulated and we could hear everyone in their rooms around us, above us, next to us, etc. Our Bell-hop was the best thing about our visit. He went out of his way to get us into our room with all of our luggage, retrieved us a mini-fridge, extra blankets and towels. The pool was a huge disappointment as well. We arrived after 5 p.m. and the kids wanted to swim. There were no towels left for us to use and no one had picked up around the pool area, so there was trash and discarded towels laying everywhere. And the pool water temperature was freezing! For the price we paid for our room, it was definitely not worth it!
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by holly from chicago, il

Great foe families

Posted Apr 6, 2014
Pros: Great location, beautiful grounds
Location: Close to shopping and restaurants
We were given a great suite with full kitchen,washer/dryer,balcony and living room. The complex had 4 pools and on site restaurant.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Extremely overpriced for the quality of room

Posted Apr 4, 2014
Pros: Pool
Cons: rooms
Location: Good
the room is small and dark, the screen door was broken, air conditioning noisy , the internet slow and bad. room not very clean.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Sara from Louisville, KY

Great relaxing get away!

Posted Apr 3, 2014
Pros: Very relaxing environment. Friendly staff
Cons: pool service
Location: Great restaurants & shopping very close!
My husband & I took trip for an extended weekend. We were worried about some of the reviews about the rooms, but we loved this place. Some people state that it is updated, but we thought that it was tastefully decorated. No it doesn't have granite, but it has Spanish tile which is very typical southwest style. The room was very clean and large. We loved having a full size fridge to keep our drinks cold. The only complaint that I have is that on several occasions we had to call to get towels for the pool and it took a very long time for someone to bring them.