Ratings based on 134 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Kanagawa, Japan

ファミリーに優しいホテル

Posted Jul 23, 2015
町までのシャトル便が少ないのと朝食のフルーツの種類を増やしてくれると嬉しいです。子供がいたのでプールとプライベートビーチの安全面とセキュリティがきになりたした。
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Qld

Relaxing resort away from busy Patong

Posted Jul 17, 2015
Pros: Amazing swimming pools and spacious grounds
Cons: More regular shuttle times. Happy hour at bar pools need to be every night.
Location: Quiet location away from Patong. 250 baht in Tuktuk. Have correct change. Try Little Tiger restaurant along beach and up hill.
Great swimming pools. Breakfast ok. Can't swim at exclusive beach because of rocks . Shuttle buses could be more regular. Had problems with our room with power box that controlled lights and air con. Lights kept flashing in the middle of the night. Had to change rooms after 2 nights of poor sleep. Staff very friendly
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Virginia Beach, VA

Excellent resort with private beach and great pool

Posted Jul 1, 2015
The resort is very clean and well maintained. Great pools with a small slide for the kids. More Australians than Asians were staying while we were there. Restaurants catered more to European than Asian cuisine. We were very pleased and would stay again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Tokyo, Japan

Good resort for families

Posted Jul 1, 2015
Pros: Staff were very friendly and quiet surroundings.
Cons: Have more snacks and drinks available at the shopette in the lobby area.
Location: Immediately around the resort there is nothing that can be walked to, take taxi to Patong and be entertained.
We stayed here for 4 nights with our 2 year old son. Arriving at the hotel we were given warm greetings and throughout our stay all staff were very polite and very friendly to our son. The resort is very suitable for families as it is situated away from the hustle and bustle of Patong (but close enough to go there during the day for shopping) and the resort's pools provide an enjoyable time even for a toddler (there is a kiddy pool with a mini water slide that my son loved). Aside from some other visitors slamming their room doors shut, the hotel was quiet and peaceful at night. Do be aware that we saw a good number of bats flying about the premises around sunset though, if you are sensitive of such things. The breakfast buffet in the morning was satisfying and had plenty of selection and good quality. The other times we ate in the restaurants the food was fine, but nothing great. My wife did arrange in advance to have a small cake delivered to our room as a surprise for my birthday and it was tasty. Expect to pay 300baht for taxi ride to Patong Beach from the resort. While in Patong you should stock up on any snacks and beverages you care to have in your room to avoid having to raid the minibar when you get a craving and there is no convenience store nearby. We had a very enjoyable stay at Merlin Beach and would recommend it to other families.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from melbourne,australia

very nice hotel

Posted May 24, 2015
Pros: away fom patong quite and many pools to suite guests needs.
Cons: staff need to learn English better at times communication was difficulted.
Location: high up a mountain,little tiger restaurant near by acess via beach
very nice hotel located high on then mountain but only ten minutes by road to patong. bus shuttles run morning and night to patong via merlin hotels, the only down fall is the last shuttle back to hotel is 10.15pm but a taxi ride was only 300bht. tuk tuk charge extra because they have to go uphill. plenty of places to eat at the resort and the swim up bar was great providing meals and drinks,happy hour at the resort twice a day , rooms clean,staff really friendly.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Perth, Australia

Quiet resort with excellent pools, close to beach

Posted May 19, 2015
From the time we arrived we really enjoyed our stay. The staff were friendly and the room was great. We were overlooking the pool and a bit of the beach. My partner loved the pool bar and my son loved slide in the other pool. We really enjoyed the 5 days we were there. Service was excellent. Loved the buffet breakfast as always.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Zealand

All round nice hotel, beautiful location.

Posted May 15, 2015
What you see in the photos is what you get! Such a beautiful place to stay for couples and families of all ages. We got upgraded on our room for free and it was awesome. Buffet breakfast was amazing and all the restarunts had plenty of variety and were also fab! Only point to improve on would be the return shuttle having a few more return times other wise the costs of transport to the hotel from Patong town can add up. Over all couldnt have asked for better!!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Perth, WA

Very disappointed!!!

Posted May 13, 2015
Pros: The breakfast buffet and the beach.
Cons: The service. Providing more staff and services that is expected of a 5 star hotel.
Location: The location is fantastic if you want to be out of Patong.
We were looking forward to our stay at the Merlin after visiting the resort the last time we were in Phuket. We arrived at 2:30pm half an hour after check in time to be told our rooms were not ready. Half an hour later our room was ready but my in-laws room was not. We ended up with 4 adults and 1 baby crammed into 1 hotel room, with all our luggage whilst we waited for the other room to be ready. Whilst we waited we decided to go for a swim. The pool, whilst looking magnificent, had dead bugs and debris floating on top of the water. The kids area was a great idea, however the equipment is old and broken and in much need of a face lift. The WIFI connection was extremely poor and constantly disconnected; the only place you could get a sufficient WIFI signal was in the lobby. The food was very expensive for what you got, and we think that the isolation of the hotel is used to their advantage as they know you will pay high prices for a meal as the only other option is to go into Patong. The pool bar service was very disappointing; having to walk to the other side of the pool (and the furthest side away) to order food/drink was very frustrating when you have a 1 year old and/or you want to relax. The cocktails were very expensive and the bar staff clearly did not know how to make a common cocktail. There were also only 2 powerpoints available which is frustrating when you have 2 mobiles and a tablet to charge!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from singapore

ok hotel near the beach and not far from patong

Posted Apr 3, 2015
checkin was good. Room service was slow took 3 attempts to deliver a cold bottle of champagne on ice. Checkout took way too long nearly missed my flight refused to call a cab until housekeeping had checked the room even though they had my cc details... Not a 5 star experience at all
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler

Would recommend

Posted Apr 3, 2015 on Hotels
Room was lovely for a couple. Some parts seemed a bit older and the newer suites facing the pool were the nicest. The restaurants were amazing! Would recommend to anyone.