Ratings based on 34 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
88% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.6 Service & staff
4.6 Room comfort
4.3 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from sg

Great hotel with private beach. Great rooms

Posted Aug 29, 2014
Hotel staff was really awesome. Rooms were amazing. The only problem was that on one night. There was a black out from 12 to about 5am. That meant no air con. And it was really warm. Other then that. If you don't mind stairs. This is the hotel to be. Ps. The surrounding area is not at cheap as Patong area.
5 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Camberley UK

Brilliant holiday at The Surin Hotel Phuket

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: The staff's service was excellent and very friendly! Private beach, beautiful vegetation, romantic atmosphere and just the overall classy feeling!
Cons: cannot think of anything!
Location: Booking includes breakfast only, but should you need to have good dinners at lower prices there are very good restaurants walking distance.
This hotel is probably one the best bet beach hotels in the world! The location is on the beach, no road to cross, spectacular view of the sea, especially the sunsets! Rooms are spacious and extremely well equipped with everything needed from after-sun lotion, Nespresso coffee, unlimited drinking water to complimentary flipflop sandals!! Breakfasts had an extended choice of exotic fruits, cooked and other buffet food.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 21, 2014 by The Surin Phuket, Hotel Management
Dear Guest, Thank you very much for your review on Expedia and we are glad to read that you have enjoyed our exclusive beach location, the rooms and our food selection. We look forward to welcome you back to The Surin Phuket. With kind regards, The Surin Team
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from London

A renovated hotel on a private beach in Phuket

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: The Private Beach
Cons: Service at the beach.
Location: BIMI Beach Club.
Unlike most hotels in Phuket, The Surin is located on a private beach in Thalong.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by elazzi from lebanon

hotel in a tropical forest with a private beach

Posted Jun 16, 2014
Pros: the staff the room the beach
Cons: the noisy air conditioning units
Location: ask for the electric vehicle to take you to the entrance and there you can walk to the shops or take a taxi
we stayed for 2 nights /3 days staff are very helpful and friendly they helped do the followup on our bags sine they did not arrive on time and kept calling the airport until they were found there are allot of stairs to get to the rooms but it is normal if you want a private room with a terrace between the trees and next to a wonderful beach breakfast is nice so it is worth the additional pay the restaurant is pricy and average food/taste experience and it is rather hot during the evening this hotel is mainly recommended for people who want to stay in the hotel and relax
5 out of 5
Recommended
by DJS from Europe

Amazing

Posted May 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
This hotel is superb in every way. The service, the accommodation, the pool, bars and restaurants, topped off by an amazing and big private beach. The location is also excellent, close by to cool clubs, bars and restaurants, most notably Catch Club within a 15 minute walk - great for eating and drinking. Taxis are cheap too, so if you want to get into the madness then you can. We went to patong beach for a night. We chose to rent a car, but not essential for getting around. Would definitely return, not something I say about many hotels. Thanks.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Nice resort with private beach

Posted May 1, 2014
Nice place with beautiful beach that is private. Good restaurangs. Service is good but not top. more like 4,5 than 5 star. Most rooms with sea view. Be prepared to walk stairs though as it is hilly. Nice place much better than Surin beach next door.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by John from Western Australia

Perfect setting

Posted Feb 17, 2014
Pros: Everything
Cons: Maybe needs a lift or ramp for those who find stairs difficult
Loved the people, hotel, beach. The staff looked after us and our family extremely well.
1 out of 5
by richard from tokyo

My cash was STOLEN in a 4 star hotel!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

Posted Dec 19, 2013
Pros: Nice beach
Cons: No Security. Surin never uses the front gate Morning breakfast has no fresh squeeze vegetable/fruit juice on the spot. Not enough thai food choice
Location: Can convert to thai baht at a bank nearby for a decent rate next to 7-11 Decent local thai restaurant and a nice massage place around the same area
This is the first time I stayed at Surin and I really had a good impression of the hotel when I first arrived. I stayed at this hotel since my friend was having a wedding at Amanpuri (Same hotel group with villas next door). I chose the cheapest standard type room since it was quite expensive already to my budget. The room was not too far from the lobby but it took about 10-15 minutes to walk up the hill / stairs which might be too much for most guests. Overall, the room was ok. However, the room had no bathtub. The room also had absolutely no view. All i could see was guest/room cleaner/gardener walking by and forth when i had my curtain up. I also had problems locking the sliding door. I had to physically use both hands to bang the door shut a few times to have the door locked successfully. The biggest problem of all was My cash was STOLEN the second day when i was not in the room. (of course i was not so smart to leave my cash in a bag and not in a safe). When I realized my cash was stolen and I called front desk for help, it took the staff at least 25 minutes to come to my room after i called and rushed them several times. I got upgraded to another room after this incident. But still, getting robbed in a nice hotel was a bit of a shock. The managers suspected one of the staff took my cash but of course I never got my cash back. The massage lady by the beach also gave weak massage. Overall, The Surin is overly expensive and really not a 4 star hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Kev from Singapore

Great hotel and location - just lots of steps

Posted Dec 7, 2013 on Hotels.com
Excellent hotel recently refurbished. The individual villas are spacious and well equipped. Great buffet breakfast.The hotel beach is secluded and with very well spaced beds. Good pool and beach bar.The walk down to Surin Beach in the evening is just the right distance for a stroll to some nice local restaurants. Better food and better value than the hotel restaurants which are good but not exceptional. The only downside is that because the hotel is built into the hillside and there are lots of steps.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Deborah from Sunnyvale, CA

The beach suite was amazing!

Posted Oct 23, 2013
Pros: See above. Great hotel, great location, great price! The breakfast buffet was amazing and the staff was very friendly and accommodating.
Cons: Nothing!
Location: Surin beach is a short 5-8 minute walk away, where you can live it up cheap by the beach! Beach clubs, massages, food! Everything you need is there!
Pros: -beach suite was literally right on the beach! -beach suite was extremely spacious, well lit, and didn't feel humid inside at all -shower water pressure and toilet all worked perfectly fine -large private beach with soft sand; quick walk to beach clubs and really good beachside restaurants and massage sites -nice large + deep pool -beach beds and umbrellas were always available -massages available beachside from locals -drinks and desserts are also available beachside from both the hotel and local merchants -lots of free water sports gear to borrow from the hotel, including kayaks and boogie boards -extremely friendly staff who share a wealth of information about the hotel and surrounding areas -FANTASTIC breakfast buffet offering both American, European and Asian style entrees -free bottles of water; more than you can drink -the evening turn down service includes a cookies! we looked forward to this every evening! -you get welcomed with a tray of fruit! Cons: -only downside is it could be a lot of stairs (but still manageable and a good work out!) for people who aren't staying in the beach suite ;)