Ratings based on 15 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.8 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.3 Service & staff
3.9 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Norfolk

A Surprising find

Posted Aug 14, 2014
Pros: The friendly staff, the quiet ambiance, the food.
Location: It is outside the main walls and therfore requires a 10 minuite walk into the town. Volterra is a lovely place to visit, highly recommended.
From the outside it looked a little grim, however the welcome was very warm and the room spacious, cool and airy with a little balcony overlooking fields at the back. The teenagers had bunk beds and ours was large and comfy. It is a little outside the town and at night the walk back was a bit eerie - however the appearance of fireflies dancing along the road in front of us turned it into a magical experience. The breakfasts were the usual fare but with nice home made cake - and we ate there one evening and we were surprised at the quality of the food and how reasonable it was. The staff were extremely accommodating
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Posted May 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Short walk into Volterr
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

SPARTAN AND OUT OF THE WAY BUT GOOD VALUE

Posted Nov 27, 2012 on Hotels.com
hard to find without GPS. Very plain, but very clean hotel. Good option outside city wall with free parking.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Aug 12, 2012 on Hotels.com
Free parking, 20 minute walk into Volterra.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rod from London

Decent hotel in a peaceful location

Posted Jul 27, 2012
We were impressed by the Hotel Foresteria Volterra. The staff were all friendly, informal and helpful and there was a relaxed atmosphere at all times. Our rooms were spacious, clean with good bathrooms and plenty of towels and toiletries. They also had beautiful views of rolling Tuscan hills and efficient and quiet air-conditioning. And such a peaceful location! Our only suggestion for the rooms is to decorate them a little more - a couple of pictures on the wall would be beneficial. The hotel has a nice courtyard which can be used for breakfast or other meals or just drinks. The restaurant provides good food at lunch and dinner if required. The hotel is a little tricky to find, but just follow the signs from the main road east of Volterra centre. It's not walking distance from the town centre, but you can drive and park or, more easily, get a taxi. This is a three star hotel, so no extravagant luxuries, but a very decent place to stay, with friendly people.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Mixed Feelings

Posted Oct 29, 2011 on Hotels.com
I was going to leave a good review because the girl at the front desk was so nice but the next mroning at 7:30 am, the maid banged on the door and told us we must leave within the next 20 minutes so she could clean the room! I have stayed at hundreds of hotels and we usually check out around 9 am, but the posted time is 11 am. I have never had the maid demand we leave by 8 am. Very unprofessional!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Other
by A verified traveler from Griffin, GA

Wonderful place, once you find it.

Posted Jun 17, 2011
We had some trouble getting to the Hotel Foresteria, mostly because the bus from Volterra Saline puts you out on the edge of the old city and we had to walk with our luggage a pretty fair piece on roads only meant for car traffic. However, once we located the hotel, the room was spacious and and clean, with a beautiful view across the hills. The desk staff was friendly and accommodating, ordering us a taxi for our very early departure the next morning. Would definitely recommend to friends, as long as they get directions first!
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jun 26, 2010 on Hotels.com
3 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Portsmouth

Good location, clean, simple, affordable

Posted Jun 29, 2009
We stayed at this hotel for one night whilst exploring Volterra. Well situated, within walking distance of the town centre and with plenty of room around it. The room was nice and clean, if a little bare. It did have a mini fridge though, which was a bonus. Breakfast was the usual buffet affair but a good range and all fresh, with filter coffee offered. The staff were polite and pleasant, if a little robotic at times. The hotel had a usual number of guests, mostly italian, not noisy and all friendly. Unfortunately, the air conditioning did not work, although a fan was provided which was gratefully used. This was the hottest place we'd stayed in so air conditioning was sorely missed, although it have been a temporary problem. Volterra is a beautiful place and our favourite visit during our trip. This hotel is an affordable and well placed option and although it's nothing to right home about, it fit the bill nicely for us.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Mike from South Wales

Nice hotel in Volterra

Posted Jun 7, 2009
The hotel is just outside Volterra and in a nice, quiet spot. The room was very modern, clean and comfortable. It had a balcony with a lovely view over the surrounding countryside. It was in wasy reach of car parking for the city itself (in Summer, I understand that they offer a shuttle from the car park into the city). Breakfast was very good, with a variety of different foods. I would recommend this hotel for a stay in Tuscany.