Ratings based on 18 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.2 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.0 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

The staff was very kind.

Posted Jul 22, 2014
It was clean and comfortable. Breakfast is less than the standard. But, it was enough for us. The staff was very kind. 5 minute walk from downtown. I would definitely recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

You get what you pay for

Posted Apr 22, 2014
Pros: Hotel staff
Cons: Water pressure on the 6th floor. Breakfast content to be widened i.e. inclusion of cold meats and cheeses
Location: Montecatini town centre was a 5 min walk and there is a beautiful park within a stone's throw from the hotel - beautiful
As a 3 star hotel I expected more from this hotel. We were placed on the 6th floor with the elevator only reaching the 5th and as such you need to walk the rest which can be a problem if you have large suitcases (we did). Rooms were on the small side especially the bathroom. Taking a shower was a problem and no holder for the shower hear on the wall and the bath would have benefits from a shower screen.curtain. Aircon didn't work as expected in that it blew hot air out but didn't cause us too much of a problem as we just kept windows opened. Walls separating rooms were very thin and could hear occupants next door opening and shutting cupboards. I took the breakfast option with consisted of cereals, bread, butter, jam - no cheese or meat products. I ended up buying these from a local supermarket to supplement my breakfast. The staff themselves were great and very helpful. Polite at all times and always with a smile. Nearby hotel car park was a great benefit as was the hotel's locality to Montecatini i..e. 5 mins walk.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Corredore from Glasvegas

Decent, welcoming hotel.

Posted Oct 13, 2013 on Hotels.com
Very reasonable price and good, no-frills but clean room with friendly, helpful staff and a good breakfast. Happy to stay there again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 10, 2013 on Hotels.com
Great stay! Would recommend
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Good Location and Nice staff

Posted Oct 11, 2012 on Hotels.com
There is a lot to do in this area and it's so easy to get to neighboring towns like Lucca, Pisa, Viareggio, Firenze, Prato and Pistoia by train. The hotel is about a 5 minute walk from the train station but it is a little confusing to find so do print out or make a little map or just pick up one when you get into town which is what I did. Streets aren't always labeled with names. The pool both indoor and outdoor is not at the San Marco hotel property itself it's around the corner in the Grand Le Plac Hotel which is lovely and one of the Leading Hotels of the World. You get to use their facilities. The outdoor pool is available free/indoor pool has a charge but 20%discount for San Marco guests and a Turkish sauna which was incredible. Remember to bring a towel from the San Marco else you have to pay to rent one at the indoor pool. As for the town I do recommend going up to Montecatini Alto which is by funicular and the little train tour that goes through town every 40 minutes and is very nice. It's a great walking city and I found lots of great food that wasn't expensive as well. Breakfast was great and the staff is so wonderful in the dining room. I was getting over a cold and each morning they made me green tea the minute they saw me enter to room, so sweet. Also do think about going to the Thermal Redi Spa which is one of several spas in the town. It's not expensive but you must bring your own towel! And it's great for circulation issues.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from New Jersey

Good value

Posted Jun 29, 2012
Pros: Location and staff.
Cons: Room condition, air condition.
Location: Very close to the central piazza, yet tucked away in a quite corner of the town with a park near by.
While first impression of the Hotel San Marco was a disappointment,later on it revealed it's charm. Very conviniet location, charming and usefull staff made the stay enjoyable. In the end this hotel matches perfectly the town it's in while providing a good value for your dollar.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by nery from Mt Dora, FL, USA

great place for families and single.

Posted May 2, 2012
Pros: the food was superb excellent chef
Location: near center or town.
Gorgious old hotel, but you can go walking to the terme which is a wonderful walk. The people are very good and now how to guide you. Loved it will stay again next time. Parking was good also.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from London

Top staff service

Posted Apr 15, 2012
The staff at the hotel were superb - I literally cannot fault how far out of their way they went for us. The hotel is about 5 minutes from Montecatini town centre and a 10 minute walk from the cable car to Montectini alto (well worth a visit). The train is easily reached, with fast trains stopping at Montecatini Centro (10 mins) and stopping strains stopping at Montecatini Therme (which is also where the bus station is). Overall loved it - top staff!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2011 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler from Ireland

The San Marco Hotel near Pisa and Florence, Italy.

Posted Aug 16, 2010 on Hotels.com
Surrounded by Roman Spas and in a chique yet historical town, the hotel & area is on our list for a return to spend more time there. Facilities and staff wonderful and great value.