Ratings based on 285 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.1 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Chevy Chase, MD

Hotel of choice for the area

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: The comfort of the bed. The friendliness of the staff.
Cons: When the room was serviced the first night, only one pack of coffee was replaced. We needed two.
Location: Near Mt. Lebanon, which is a bedroom community of Pittsburgh. One would need to have business in that area for the hotel to make sense.
We have family in Mt. Lebanon and I recommend this hotel for anyone who needs to spend the night in that area. The hotel staff were super helpful and friendly. The bed was excellent for sleeping. The breakfast buffet is good.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Lack of sound barrier!

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Pros: location
Cons: noise
People in the room next to us were up to after 1 a.m. they were talking and it sounded like they were in our room. Put the t.v. on low to drown them out and did no good. Could hear them over the t.v. Called the desk who said they had no rooms left to move us to but would call the other guests. Did nothing!!! Paid too much for this awful stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from new york

Nice hotel and close shopping area

Posted Aug 3, 2014
Pros: Close to my friend's house which I visit for.
Cons: Hope have free breakfast
Location: Close to shopping area and McDonald , Boston market.
Good. Easy to find it. Bed is comfortable and clean.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from buffalo, Ny

Stay someplace else!

Posted Aug 3, 2014
When we checked in we were given a room inferior to what we paid for and no one at the front desk mentioned anything to us about the wrong room. We noticed this late in the evening and brought this to the attention of the front desk (on Sunday). We were told we'd have to speak to the manager Lisa who wouldn't be in until Tuesday. Lisa only credited us 1 night and Brian the general manager was useless. We paid in advance for a room and didn't get what we paid for! I'll never stay at another Crowne plaza hotel. Besides the issue we had, I feel like this hotel was just okay. Definitely NOT worth what we paid and it's 30minutes from downtown. Nothing to do in the bethel park area. Stay someplace else!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Pleasant stay at South Hills Crown

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Pros: Location was good for visiting relatives in Mt. Lebanon
Cons: Sound-proofing rooms
Just spent a pleasant 4-day stay at the Crown Plaza near Pittsburgh's South Hills village. Was conveniently located, clean and well-kept. Easy, free parking and close to shopping, restaurants, etc. A little pricey, but not too many options in the area. All-in-all, rooms were comfortable. Only complaint is the walls were a little thin & we happened to be next to a family with some rowdy kids. We didn't try the restaurant but enjoyed the free, all-day coffee & tea.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from B

Okay for a one night stay

Posted Jul 17, 2014
The hotel is not horrible, but it could use some upgrades. The shower curtains were dirty, and the tub had chunks missing. The beds were not that comfortable, and my bed was lopsided. Also, in the middle of the night I got very thirsty. All of the vending machines on all 3 floors that had them, were out of water. The staff was very nice though.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by A verified traveler from Vacaville, California

We were pleasantly surprised!

Posted Jul 8, 2014
Pros: Well-kept, upper scale, very professional staff.
Cons: Nothing I can think of.
Location: Nice restaurants, shopping and within 2 hrs of Pro Footbal Hall of fame in Ohio! Also, within 20 min of PNC Park, Heinz Field (battle traffic though)
Beautiful Hotel, good location, plenty of "free" parking, "free" wi-fi, excellent restaurant inside Hotel and very nice service indeed. Also, picking up my Newspaper just outside my door was a nice treat as was the excellent reception on Wi-Fi and the Hi Def big screen!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by A verified traveler

Posted May 29, 2014
Pros: i like that they had a resturant.
Cons: my room had a funky smell to it so i went to wallgreens a purchased some febreze
everything was just fine! stopped in for the night on a business trip :)
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by Pitt parent from Mechanicsburg, PA

Close to city in theory, too much traffic to & fro

Posted May 28, 2014 on Hotels.com
Needed to get back and forth to Pitt campus only 6 miles away, but there was lots of traffic and red lights which made trip take at least 30 minutes or more. Mattress was a bit soft. Room did not have darkening shades on window and the room was not sound proof at all. Could hear everyone who walked past the door rather loudly. Room very clean with nice pillows and TV. Check-in was fast. Not convenient to Pitt campus of city. Wouldn't stay there again because of that reason.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Nice hotel close to mall and local establishments

Posted May 25, 2014
Pros: Quiet and relaxing, perfect for a good night's sleep during a business trip.
Location: Mall and local establishments walking distance.
Went to Pittsburgh for an exam. Came down the night before and ended up staying at Crowne Plaza South. It was very quiet and a perfect environment for a good night's sleep either for business or a little time away from the city.