Ratings based on 396 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
97% of guests recommend
4.5 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.4 Room comfort
4.4 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston, MA

Bad timing!

Posted Jun 29, 2015
Pros: We were happy with our room and the location, it was close to family.
Cons: Get some security in the hotel at night.
Location: Not much to do in Monroeville, but if you like to go to the mall or shop, then it's the place to stay.
We unfortunately was there when a baseball tournament was in town. It was extremely packed with a bunch of teenage boys. On one particular night there were several boys running in the halls and yelling loudly, it started around 9:30 p.m. We put up with it for an hour and finally called the "Care Line" to complain, since we had to get up early the next morning. So we called down around 10:30 and the young lady who answered said that they had gotten a few complaints already and they were going to send someone up to take care of the problem. So we waited and waited no one came up, the boy's finally went into their room and everything was quiet, that was around 11:30. I have to say the blame also if with the chaperons, I overheard them the next morning talking with a large group, maybe 10, to lets play "hide-n-seek', so again, they were running and yelling through the halls. Terrible terrible experience.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Very Disappointing

Posted Jun 19, 2015
Pros: Location; convention center in walking distance
Cons: Update/ remodel hotel
Air conditioner was not working but was repaired; water leaking in room from upper unit but rug was not cleaned where water was standing and bad mildew/moldy smell; bathroom ceiling was damaged and buckling
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Kansas City, KS

Just above average

Posted Jun 8, 2015
Pros: Friendly Staff. Close to mall, easy parking.
Cons: Cleanliness of room.
Location: Plenty of restaurants near by as it's within the mall drive. We have tried Monster Mini Golf, shopped in the mall - it was fun.
Hotel staffs were great, and friendly and that's it. Carpet smelled like someone just smoked there and left. We could feel that for 2 days of our stay. Elevator is okay. No microwave, no breakfast. You will have to pay $12 for adult buffet breakfast per person for the similar menu that other low rated hotels provide for free - Egg, Juice, Fruits, Sausage, Bagel and bread loafs. We visit Pittsburgh every year for last 4 years, we have tried different hotels but this one is very expensive for the kind of facilities you get. I wouldn't recommend this hotel for anyone for the hefty daily charge. Last year we got a kitchen in the hotel room for few dollars lesser than what I have paid here at DoubleTree just less than mile west of here at Monroevile.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from scranton pa

One day trip

Posted Jun 1, 2015
We were visiting the university of Pittsburgh and hotel was 20 min away also it's worth the extra money for breakfast and the staff was very frendily and the rooms very clean defiantly stay there again!!!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Richmond

Nice Comfortable Place to Stay !!

Posted May 30, 2015
Pros: Restaurant and room were comfortable to stay
Location: Very near to Sri Venkateshwara Temple, Pittsburgh .
We did a late check in and the front desk were helpful. However we forgot to get the details about the checkout and restaurant timings. Next morning, when we enquired about the checkout timings; they said it was 11am but it was mentioned as noon in the itinerary. Somehow we managed to do checkout as per the timing informed by front desk.Also regarding restaurant breakfast timings, front desk informed it will be open till 11am.. But to our disappointment when we went for breakfast, they told the restaurant is closed by 10am for buffet breakfast which we availed in our package. however a gentle woman named Sophia was happy to help us to get breakfast ready instead of buffet.we loved the way she was hospitable and got us the delicious breakfast. Especially loved the French toast she made. Thanks to her and would recommend in future this place for comfortable stay once again :)
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Excellent room size and cleanliness. Great value.

Posted May 20, 2015
Pros: No complaints whatsoever.
Great breakfast, nice staff. Convenient to turnpike and convention center.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from nj

Free Cookies!

Posted Apr 27, 2015
Ask for more cookies. They are good and the staff is friendly. They did not charge for extra requests: fridge, pack and play, extra sheets, towels and plastic bags and my request for a higher floor. I would go there again .... And also ask for more cookies!!!!
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler from IN

Not a pleasant stay

Posted Apr 17, 2015
They wouldn't do much for guests who book through other portals
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Families
by Monica

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Apr 7, 2015 on Hotels
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Philadelphia

Convenient, affordable

Posted Mar 23, 2015
Pros: Staff was friendly. Hotel condition was good. Comfortable room.
Convenient to Pittsburgh without paying higher rates.