Ratings based on 110 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
3.4 out of 5
82% of guests recommend
3.3 Room cleanliness
3.5 Service & staff
3.7 Room comfort
3.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Wissamfrom Amherst, NY

Nice staff, dirty room

Posted Oct 18, 2014 on Hotels.com
Room was very dirty, bathroom still had hair and and old soap bar in it. Hotel staff were really friendly. It might be a one off, first and last time staying at Extended Stay America.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jan 3, 2015 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. The situation you described regarding the room cleanliness is truly regrettable. We are very sorry for your experience. In response to your feedback, I am going to review Extended Stay America's cleaning process with our housekeeping staff to ensure this does not continue in the future. Thank you for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have the opportunity to provide you with a better experience in the future.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by karthfrom glen allen

Good location - close to all stores

Posted Sep 15, 2014 on Hotels.com
Stay is good. Stayed for 5 days, expecting house keeping atleast once. But I see we need to call them if needed, same goes with the utensils in kitchen, we need to call them to get the neccesssary kitchen things. Other than that everything is good.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 22, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
I appreciate you taking the time to write a review of your experience with us. I am pleased to read that you had a good stay with us overall; however, please know that we are sincerely sorry that the housekeeping and dish services were not explained to you when you checked in. To make sure this doesn't happen again, I am going to have a meeting with my front desk team to ensure that they are sharing this information with all new guests. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. It would be our pleasure to have you stay with us again in the future to show you our positive strides taken to enhance your experience with us.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Joshfrom Pittsburgh

good place for 3-7 day visit

Posted Aug 29, 2014 on Hotels.com
nice, secure hotel. very spacious to accommodate my wife and I, and our 5 kids in one room. even had a kitchen. fair prices too
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

I guess you get what you pay for.

Posted Aug 23, 2014
This property in in DIRE need of a make over. The rooms should be gutted and completely re-done
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 27, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
The feedback provided in your review is much appreciated. I am disheartened to read that you found our hotel to be outdated. Your feedback on this will be useful to us as we continually work to improve the appearance of our hotel. Thanks to your comments, we can continue to work on providing an exceptional stay for all of our guests. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
1 out of 5
Recommended
by A verified traveler

Worst in the area

Posted Aug 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The room smelled horribly. The toilet leaked, so there was a constant puddle of water on the floor. Thankfully I only spent one night and will not be returning. There are much better options in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 8, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for telling us about your experience. The situation you described regarding your room is truly regrettable. Please accept our apologies. We will work with our maintenance engineer to address the issue with your toilet. We will also meet with our housekeeping staff to ensure our entire hotel smells fresh at all times. We are scheduled for a complete renovation to improve our entire hotel. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. We hope you will stay with us again once our renovation is complete.
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Sandeep

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Aug 21, 2014 on Hotels.com
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Getaway With Friends
by Kaitlynfrom Michigan

Horrible Customer Service

Posted Aug 19, 2014 on Hotels.com
Worst Customer Service! We booked our room on hotels.com after 12am causing some confusion. We were in need of a room last minute and called hotels.com to book the room. We arrive and are greeted by a rude, unpleasant lady at the desk. Sorry we inconvenienced her by booking through hotels.com and arriving at an unusual hour. She proceeded to tell us that their were no rooms left for the evening, that we had no options but didn't look at all in her computer for our reservation. She went on to complain about Hotels.com and how even though we had a reservation through them it didn't matter. After argueing for about 5 minutes (she never looked at my information, asked for my name or reservation number or even looked to see if she had any rooms available) she all of sudden had one room open with one bed. We had booked two double beds because there were 4 of us. When we realized that there was only bed, we asked if there was another room available or a cot we could rent or a pull out couch as there were four of us. She went on to complain even more and then took us down the hall to extremely large handicap room with a bed and a pull out. My guess is, she knew she had this room and probably several others availabe all along. It was 2am by the time we had things figured out and just wanted to go to bed. Needless to stay we were in this hotel for less than 8 hours and couldn't wait to get the heck out of there. HORRIBLE CUSTOMER SERVICE!
Comment from Hotel Management
Nov 1, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Kaitlyn - Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are very disappointed to hear about the service you received upon check-in. We will retrain our staff to ensure your experience is not repeated. Thank you again for bringing this to our attention. We hope to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.
4 out of 5
Recommended
by Neil F.from Rhode Island

Great affordable place to stay in Pittsburgh!

Posted Aug 11, 2014 on Hotels.com
Very affordable, very roomy hotel room. It had a pull out bed in the couch which was great for a family of five. We were a 15-minute ride from the city which was convenient. Everything you need is close by - Sheetz, Walmart, Citizens Bank, etc. My only complaint was that the room was advertised as non-smoking, but you could tell someone had been smoking there before. They gave us Fabreeze to spray on the carpet and furniture. I suppose this isn't the hotel's fault but the complete moron who decided to smoke in a non-smoking room, but there were no non-smoking rooms available when we asked to move. The Fabreeze did work.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Neil - Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience. We are sorry to hear that you had a smoke odor in your room; however, we are glad that you had a pleasant stay with us and enjoyed our convenient location. In response to your feedback, we will be inspecting rooms prior to our guest's arrival to make sure they smell fresh. Thank you again for your review. We hope to see you again soon.
2 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Swilsonfrom Louisville

Could be better.

Posted Aug 4, 2014 on Hotels.com
The hotel called me 2 hrs. before, I was to arrive to tell me I had no room available. Keep in mind, I paid for the room a week in advanced.then I received a second phone call stating that a room was found but needed to be clean. Then manage your own staff, had to clean the room before me and my family are right. The room was mediocre, the beds were comfortable. However, the sofa bed had debris and trash under the pillows. Which I did remove and brought to the knowledge of the manager, who brought fresh linen to put on the sofa bed. My room, 213, floor vibrated all night long, off and on, which made me feel like I was in one of those coin operated beds, seen on tv. The front desk clerk came up, to verify it, so it woulfn't appear I was being difficult. There breakfast minimal. There full size kitchen, was decent. They bring you a set of dishes and pot and pans, they are not left in the rooms. Our tub had no stopper, and we were told to stuff it with a towel. Needless to say after 6 hrs on the road, a soothing bath, wasn't an option. The next morning, the Head manager was already aware of my concerns for my overall 1night experience. He gave me a free night stay voucher for my trouble, to try there chain again, anywhere in the US. This was not a pleasant experience or good first impression, stayng withis chain. But willing to give a second chance. The location was superb, near a few strip malls, resturaunts, and Walmart a few blocks away.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Check into the room to find the bathroom hadn't been cleaned. The staff felt bad and comp or stay but that should not happen.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 29, 2014 by Manager, Hotel Management
Thank you for your recent review of your stay. We are very disappointed to hear that your bathroom was not properly cleaned; however, we are glad that our staff was able to correct the issue for you. We will be working with our housekeeping staff to make sure every room is thoroughly cleaned prior to our guest's arrival. Thank you for sharing your experience with us. We would love to have another chance to provide you with a better experience the next time you're in town.