Ratings based on 502 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.2 out of 5
93% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.3 Room comfort
4.2 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
3 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom Wilkesbarre

Posted Apr 22, 2015
Cons: more shuttles, water by the coffee table
The shower was small, there was no shelving in the shower. About 1 hour after we checked in, strangers were given the same room and key and barged into our room with no warning, staff called up to the room to apologize but never told us our keys were deactivated so we found out the hard way by leaving, trying to enter our room, neither key worked, we had to go back down to the front desk and get them reactivated. there was one episode when we went to take the shuttle and it was full, there was another episode were we went to take the shuttle on the hour, it was no where to be seen and there was no hotel staff readily available to ask about this so we had to drive ourself. everything was very inconvenient
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Northern California

Not as good as it could be

Posted Apr 16, 2015
I have stayed at several Hampton Inns and in general I like them. Unfortunately there were some minor problems with my recent stay at the Hampton Inn University Center Pittsburgh. The room had a musty, moldy, mildewy smell - they needed to disinfect the bathroom better and clean the carpet. Also, my room, though adequate, was rather small. The television was another source of dissatisfaction. Since they only provided a generic TV remote, there was no way to change the aspect ratio of the picture so for half the channels the picture was stretched. Others might be okay with that but it drives me crazy and makes those channels unwatchable. And if you don't read the fine print there's a good chance you will not be aware that they charge $14 per day for parking in their lot. Parking on the street isn't really a good option here. This hotel is indeed near the University of Pittsburgh, Carlow University, and UPMC Medical Center. Carnegie Mellon is a bit further away but only a short drive. Breakfast was decent and the coffee was pretty good. Staff was friendly and helpful. WiFi worked adequately for checking email and using Google maps, and the room had a refrigerator. I would stay here again if I needed to be close to this location.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Apr 6, 2015
Always a nice clean room and the staff is friendly and accommodating.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great for a visit to CMU

Posted Apr 5, 2015
We were in town to visit Carnegie Mellon University and stayed for a night. The staff are extremely friendly and professional. The room was spotless. Enjoyed the free breakfast buffet. They had a shuttle to CMU but we walked. Only thing that irked a little was the $14 parking fee. The lot was empty and was not in a garage or anything. Overall, this was a convenient and pleasant hotel. Would recommend.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Canal WInchester, Ohio

In town for hospital stay

Posted Apr 4, 2015
Pros: Convenience, parking for surrounding restaurants, etc. is a nightmare, so be prepared to walk.
It was close to UPMC and a convenient drive to the hospital. We will be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified travelerfrom Mexico

Buen hotel, barato y cerca de todo

Posted Mar 25, 2015
Pros: Las habitaciones, el servicio de internet
Cons: El desayuno y el hecho de que en la noche no hay prácticamente NADA para comer
Location: El lugar es maravilloso y a los alrededores esta el parque grande, el área de museos y universidades y el centro con el corredor de los estadios.
Se encuentra prácticamente entre los barrios de Oakland y Downtown, lo cual es excelente para cualquier motivo de visita. El desayuno por las mañanas es regular pero cumple con el objetivo, el personal de hotel es eficiente y atento, los cuartos son lo mejor, tranquilos, limpios y comodos.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Staff Makes All the Difference!

Posted Mar 16, 2015
Pros: Clean, convenient for Oakland and Downtown stays. Close to my relatives.
Cons: New firmer beds.
Location: Carnegy Museum close by. One of the best museums in the country especially if you like dinasaures. Phipps Conservatory across from the museum.
Front desk very good, cleaning staff polite and efficient, breakfast ladies nice and friendly. Beds need to be firmer for multiple stays. I have used this hotel multiple times throughout the years. Always a good choice but the beds are getting old, or maybe it me? Beds too soft for multiple night stays, also hate hotel pillows but they are the same wherever you go.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom chambersburg, pa

Great hotel good location

Posted Mar 15, 2015
Everything was excellent! Room, staff, shuttle... They were all great! Only thing that could be improved on would be breakfast. They had a good variety of food but it was not the best tasting food. Other than that no complaints at all
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Austin

Pittsburgh one more time.

Posted Mar 10, 2015
Hotel staff was friendly and very helpful. The room was a bit smaller than what I'm used to, but clean and comfortable.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great hotel near U of Pittsbugh

Posted Feb 23, 2015
Pros: Shuttle was very convenient. King bed very comfortable. Great view of the city. 8th floor
Location: South side is great. Good location for visiting college students.
Good hotel, great location. Yes, they charge $14 for parking but it is easy to get in and out of and they offer a shuttle which was great so we didn't need to drive in the snow and slush.