Ratings based on 411 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.0 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.3 Room cleanliness
4.2 Service & staff
4.2 Room comfort
4.1 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Detroit

Good location.

Posted Aug 18, 2014
I had a great time. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Singapore

Excellent and pleasant stay

Posted Aug 12, 2014
Stayed in this hotel for 4 nights from 28/7/14 to 31/7/14. Everything was good during my stay. Love the HDTV in the room and the complimentary breakfast at the hotel cafe. Would certainly book this hotel if I ever visit Pittsburgh again.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Location For South Side Adventure

Posted Aug 11, 2014
Excellent accommodations i.e. breakfast, location, shuttle to downtown, bedding, room views and comp'd internet. Walk down Carson St to shops, restaurants, bars, novelty stores and theater. The other way a 10 min walk to Station Square and boat rides. You could avoid the parking charge by finding a place on the street (9th) just behind the hotel (we could see our car from the window), or down a bit on Bingham St. You'll notice that there is no parking limit signs in certain areas. Or pay the $15 a day. Try FatHeads on Carson for lunch and beer. Good luck!
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from Canada

parking hotel staff

Posted Aug 2, 2014
Pros: rooms
Cons: see above
Location: boat tours , dining , bars , ballpark.
Sorry , My wife and I have travelled quite a bit using expedia as our booking agent , always great exept this hotel . Absolutely no parking . We went to a baseball game using their shuttle they bragged about . What a nightmare . Only one shuttle that night on duty . Waited 1.5 hours to be picked up . We called every 15 min. asking when ?. In 15 min. , again in 15 min.The guy at the desk (joseph) kept my wife on hold for 10 min. then hung up on her . Ouch . We had a 2 year old in our group and we didn't get back till 10:45 . The breakfast was great and rooms also . Never complained on-line before but that shuttle , parking and Joseph was a bit much .
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 5, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thanks for rating us this is how we know what we are doing right or wrong. I am so sorry to here about your wait on the shuttle and just as sorry to here how you were treated by joseph both issue will be addressed Again thank you for taking time out of day jay your loyalty connect champion
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 30, 2014
Nice hotel. However, parking spaces were limited. Also, not in the best location for my family. We like to take walks and roam arround the local area. This area of Pittsburgh is nice for couples or single people. However, it may not be ideal for small children.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 4, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for taking the time to rate us as we learn what we need to do to improve. Parking at times can be tight as our parking is limited thus welcome to the city. I'm sorry you didn't feel as you could walk around and explore actually a block and a half away there is an entrance to a walking trial which will take you to station square the other way to the southside works. Thank you again Jay your loyalty connect champion
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Boston

Excellent room in a mediocre location

Posted Jul 23, 2014
Pros: Large, comfortable, quiet room with every amenity you're likely to want. Free cookies, and they're good ones.
Cons: Nothing, really, given that the location is what it is.
Location: See main review for my location comments. I was there mainly for PNC Park, which is wonderful.
This was a superb room. Really large, with a pleasant sitting area subtly separated from the sleeping area. Good bathroom too. Quiet and comfortable. Friendly, helpful staff. A very decent breakfast buffet, not just some "continental" cardboard pastry. Location is not terribly convenient. They do offer a free shuttle service to the downtown area, the ballpark, or anywhere else you want to go within a reasonable radius. But if you want to walk you have to cross a long bridge and then hike through a somewhat sketchy area. Once you've done that you can get on the subway which -- surprise -- is free as long as you stay within a downtown loop that includes PNC Park. The hotel does charge an extra $14 per day for parking, so figure that into your budget.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 31, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Steve Thanks so much for the 5 star review and this is what we strive to do. Yes we do try to keep our breakfast with a lot of options so there is something for everyone I not sure if you are aware that if you go out the hotel and up just 2 blocks you will find east carson st which is the beginning of much fun there are over 200plus bats and resturants Our staff will be told to keep up there good work Hope you come back and stay Jay your loyalty connect champion
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from CA

Clean hotel near Pittsburgh

Posted Jul 16, 2014
Pros: Proximity to great local food and downtown.
Cons: Bus driver attitude
Location: City Center is about a 1 minute drive or 10-15 minute walk.
We enjoyed being close to downtown and near the "old city", the rooms were clean, and the staff was helpful. Everyone was great except for the bus driver, who was clearly upset about a lot of things, some of which was his frustration with customers. We decided not to catch the shuttle back from our visit to the city. We enjoyed the visit and would recommend it to others!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 4 star rating I am glad you enjoyed your stay and appreciate the entire city I do apologize for the shuttle drivers actions as they are certainly not trained that way I will make sure there supervisor has a talk with all drivers Hope you will return in the future and maybe we can get that 5th star Again thanks for taking the time to rate us Jay Your loyalty connect champion
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Great, inexpensive hotel close to where we needed to be. Friendly staff and very clean!
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 23, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star rating this is what we strive for. I am glad you found the staff friendly as they all try to be pleasant at all times putting you the guest first Again thanks for the rating and hope to see you again in th future Jay your loyalty connect x champion
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Students
by A verified traveler from Lehigh Valley, PA

Truly 4 start hotel

Posted Jun 30, 2014
Pros: almost everything, the parking was $14 per day which I found a bit too much.
Cons: free parking
Location: location is a bit tiny secluded, but within walking distance to the main street are lots of bars and some family atmosphere restaurant.
Right from arrival customer service agent was excellent, the reception areas was very clean. I was expecting an okay breakfast but it was excellent both days I stayed there, so I think it is an everyday thing. The room was very clean, sheets, towels were in placed. I did notes the bed skirt wasn't the size of the king bed so it was really small but the comforter did the cover.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 10, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thanks for the 4 stars . Yes our breakfast does seem to amaze many. I m glad to hear the front desk provided you with excellent service and hope you will return to visit with us and maybe give us a 5 Again thanks for taking time from your day to rate us Jay your loyalty connect champion
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Mike from huntingdon, pa

Fantastic stay...

Posted Jun 19, 2014
We have been here a few times and we're never disappointed. Staff are very friendly and professional. STAY here and you too will be happy you did...
Comment from Hotel Management
Jun 24, 2014 by Hotel Staff, Hotel Management
Thank you for the 5 star rating we are so glad that we have been able to make you happy. I t is good to hear that you have had few great experiences with us and we hope to serve you again and again in the future and may you always have an enjoyable stay. Thanks Jay your loyalty connect champion