Ratings based on 357 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
96% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Lindsay from Pittsburgh, PA

Beautiful hotel!

Posted Mar 3, 2014
My husband and I decided to stay in town for an event. I choose the Renaissance as a friend had recommended it. The bed was very comfortable and we had a beautiful view of the river.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Diane from Staten Island, NY

Lovely hotel downtown

Posted Feb 19, 2014
Pros: The location was convenient. It was a really interesting building. The room was large, light, and comfortable. The staff were friendly and helpful.
Location: It is conveniently located in the downtown cultural area, within walking distance of theaters, convention center, tourist attractions, and restaurants
This is a nicely renovated hotel that was once an office building. The lobby is elegant. The rooms are good-sized and comfortable. It's conveniently located in the downtown cultural area. There are lots of places withing walking distance. The staff were all friendly and helpful. The food in the restaurant was good (we had breakfast there, don't know about other meals). Highly recommended.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Nate from Omaha, Nebraska

This place can do anything!

Posted Feb 11, 2014
Pittsburgh is unstoppable! We came for a long 3 day romantic weekend and enjoyed every minute of our stay. Experiencing the sites was made easier with our choice to stay at the Renaissance. Thanks Pittsburgh. Thanks Renaissance. And thank you Expedia. We will have to do this again sometime!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Kate from Pittsburgh, PA

Pretty satisfied customer

Posted Jan 29, 2014
Pros: Location. It's in the heart of the city.
Cons: I went looking for a vending machine with some drinks, but I couldn't find one.
Location: The Cultural District is a short walk from the hotel.
Best night's sleep I ever had in a hotel/motel. The bed and pillows were crisp and comfortable. The room was clean and the bathroom was lovely. The room itself was not very large. And in my mind, for what the room cost, I expected a nice view and two robes since there were 2 occupants of the room. Our view was of the rooms directly across from our room. If I craned my neck real hard, I could see a glimpse of the river. They did bring us another robe, but we were told that typically only one robe is placed in the rooms.
3 out of 5
by Jen from Pittsburgh, PA

Great location but really thin walls.

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: The location
Cons: Add insulation in the walls and check your thermostats
Location: It is right in the theater district, with great restaurants and bars, very short walk to the Warhol Museum and ball park.
The hotel is really pretty and the location is great, but our room had paper thin walls and could hear practically everything in the room next door (the man's coughing kept us up all night long) and the thermostat did not work correctly so the room was soooooo warm all night. The staff was friendly, but no matter how nice the hotel is, if you can't get a good night's sleep, what is the point.
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from pa

Posted Jan 14, 2014
Pros: the lobby and the bathroom
Location: excellent
I would not pay the amount of the room ...I would search for a lower price
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

Downtown First Night 2014

Posted Jan 8, 2014 on Hotels.com
We stayed for first night 2014. The hotel is located very convenient to the first night activities in the cultural district. The hotel was clean and the service friendly. A parking garage was located across the street (no in-out privileges, but not needed due to location of our events). The one item that disappointed was we had no microwave in the room.
Comment from
Jan 22, 2014
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance to celebrate First Night! We appreciate your patronage and look forward to serving you in the future. Sincerely, Paul Newmaster General Manager
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

No heat on New Year's Eve

Posted Jan 8, 2014
Pros: Front desk staff, bellman, and housekeeping were very nice and professional. Also, valet parking service is fantastic.
Cons: See above. Additionally, we found the hostess and waitstaff at Braddock's restuarant to be rather unwelcoming and unprofessional.
Location: Excellent central location: PNC park, Heinz Hall, O'Reilly theatre, many restautants, Benedum. Lovely view of the Allegheny River.
My husband and I are quite familiar with the high standards of the Renaissance Hotel as our daughter's wedding ceremony and reception were held there in the recent past. We checked into our hotel room around 4PM on New Year's Eve. The thermostat was set @ 68 degrees F but felt cool, so I increased the temp to 72. We headed out to enjoy dinner and First Night festivities. Upon returning to our room at 1:30AM anticipating a toasty night's rest, we discovered the room was quite chilly, although the thermostat showed 72. Needless to say, I was not about to call for maintenance at this hour! My husband and I slept in our down puffer coats that night....quite romantic! When we checked out early the next morning, I mentioned this incident to the hotel personnel who stated he would like to help but because we were a pre-paid (thru Expedia) he needed to have his supervisor address this problem. He took my phone # and said someone would call me. Sadly, no one has called :( which is rather disappointing for a first class establishment.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by Rosco from Melfort,Sk

Location Location

Posted Jan 6, 2014
Pros: Beautiful old building
Location: Football, Baseball, Hockey and museums close
Went to a Pens game , museums and a bit of shopping. ( walked to everything )
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jan 6, 2014