Ratings based on 418 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Nov 3, 2014
Okay hotel - not as nice as the William Penn. Seems confused as to if it's going for classical charm like the Omni WP, or if it's trying to be more like a W hotel.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom California

Beautiful hotel across from PNC Park.

Posted Oct 28, 2014
Perfect hotel to walk to a Steelers or Pirates game. Beautiful hotel with excellent and very friendly staff. We will definitely be back.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 28, 2014
The only complaint I can say is, we were there for the Steelers game . Our room was not ready at check-in so we were given a different room than I booked and paid for in advance.
1 out of 5
by A verified traveler

bad business

Posted Oct 27, 2014
Pros: no
Cons: others and handicap rooms
Location: move room for the handicap
Indianapolis COLTS were in town and we've to wait until they were in their rooms. Bad business. I'm handicap
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 31, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback. I apologize for that our wait times were longer than normal. We had over 150 guests registering at one time which slowed the elevators down. We did have a separate elevator available so that no guests had to wait for a particular group. Sincerely, Paul Newmaster
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Tx

We had a beautiful view of the Pirates Stadium.

Posted Oct 23, 2014
Pros: How helpful everyone was. The doormen called cabs for us and cleaning ladies made sure we had everything we needed.
Location: We were not far from everything that we had planned to do. Cab or walking distance.
From the moment we walked through the doors we were treated very well. Everyone made sure you had everything that you needed, from the front door, the desk and the cleaning ladies all were very friendly and helpful. We loved our stay and the view was so beautiful from our room. Enjoyed our stay!!
1 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom houston

Dirty room

Posted Oct 22, 2014
Room was never cleaned the whole time of our stay. Not worth the price point and will definitely stay somewhere else.
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 25, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay at the Renaissance Pittsburgh. I apologize for the inconvenience and can assure you that this is not the standard at the Renaissance. I will address your concerns with the staff to ensure nothing like this occurs in the future. Sincerely, Paul Newmaster General Manager
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Nice boutique-style hotel in great location in the middle of theater district. Would recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified travelerfrom northeastern Ohio

Hard to Recommend

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Problems began right away! The toilet handle in our room was broken-which my husband fixed. Then our in-room safe did not work nor was the refrigerator working! Thankfully these things were fixed promptly after we told the bell person. I thought this hotel being 4 star would have a concierge-it turns out this person was also acting as the bellhop? He was nice enough, but did not know anything about some areas of the city. Again no real concierge to be found- and this was a weekend stay! Then there was a wedding party staying that night who were extremely loud and rowdy until about 230AM. Why would a floor or block of rooms away from other hotel guests- not be used for wedding parties? Also I got a feeling of overall not caring from several hotel staff. Should have booked Fairmont down the street for not that much more! This was not a four star hotel experience,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the issues you encountered. We do have 24 hour security personnel on hand to deal with noise issues. All staff members are knowledgeable about the local area and function as Navigators for our valued guests. We also have several stations where we provide information about the local area at the touch of a button. I am sorry a member of our staff was unable to answer some questions you had. We will review your feedback to improve our training and service but I can assure you that this is the exception and not the rule at the Renaissance Hotel. Sincerely, Paul Newmaster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Apollo

Beautiful View

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The view and friendly staff.
Cons: A cheaper breakfast or have a Sunday buffet that includes everything for the price of their breakfasts.
Location: Close to PNC park and the Theatre District. Also lots of restaurants close by just nothing for breakfast.
We stayed while attending a Pittsburgh Pirate game. We were celebrating our birthdays. Never told the hotel but my Husband got a view of a life time. We were facing the river and PNC park. He thanked me but we should be thanking the hotel staff for the view. The staff was super friendly and helped us find a restaurant we were looking for. Thank you for a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified travelerfrom Central PA

Window meet wall

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous lobby and exterior.
Our room was a bit dull, perhaps because the view out of the window was of a wall. It also was long and narrow, and with the high ceilings, which I normally like, seem both cavernous and small at the same time. We tripped over our selves frequently.