Ratings based on 407 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.5 out of 5
95% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.5 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 13, 2014
Nice boutique-style hotel in great location in the middle of theater district. Would recommend.
2 out of 5
by A verified traveler from northeastern Ohio

Hard to Recommend

Posted Oct 7, 2014
Problems began right away! The toilet handle in our room was broken-which my husband fixed. Then our in-room safe did not work nor was the refrigerator working! Thankfully these things were fixed promptly after we told the bell person. I thought this hotel being 4 star would have a concierge-it turns out this person was also acting as the bellhop? He was nice enough, but did not know anything about some areas of the city. Again no real concierge to be found- and this was a weekend stay! Then there was a wedding party staying that night who were extremely loud and rowdy until about 230AM. Why would a floor or block of rooms away from other hotel guests- not be used for wedding parties? Also I got a feeling of overall not caring from several hotel staff. Should have booked Fairmont down the street for not that much more! This was not a four star hotel experience,
Comment from Hotel Management
Oct 13, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thank you for providing feedback regarding your stay with us. I apologize for the issues you encountered. We do have 24 hour security personnel on hand to deal with noise issues. All staff members are knowledgeable about the local area and function as Navigators for our valued guests. We also have several stations where we provide information about the local area at the touch of a button. I am sorry a member of our staff was unable to answer some questions you had. We will review your feedback to improve our training and service but I can assure you that this is the exception and not the rule at the Renaissance Hotel. Sincerely, Paul Newmaster General Manager
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Apollo

Beautiful View

Posted Sep 21, 2014
Pros: The view and friendly staff.
Cons: A cheaper breakfast or have a Sunday buffet that includes everything for the price of their breakfasts.
Location: Close to PNC park and the Theatre District. Also lots of restaurants close by just nothing for breakfast.
We stayed while attending a Pittsburgh Pirate game. We were celebrating our birthdays. Never told the hotel but my Husband got a view of a life time. We were facing the river and PNC park. He thanked me but we should be thanking the hotel staff for the view. The staff was super friendly and helped us find a restaurant we were looking for. Thank you for a great stay!
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Central PA

Window meet wall

Posted Sep 9, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous lobby and exterior.
Our room was a bit dull, perhaps because the view out of the window was of a wall. It also was long and narrow, and with the high ceilings, which I normally like, seem both cavernous and small at the same time. We tripped over our selves frequently.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from va

Excellent stat

Posted Sep 3, 2014
My wife and I arrived in Pitt and from the moment we drove up to the hotel the personnel were incredible. The staff was not only helpful but they were accommodating as well. This was a great place to stay!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Couples
by A verified traveler from ohio

good location, good staff. questionable billing.

Posted Sep 2, 2014
Pros: location, staff.
Cons: bill mistakenly added extra valet parking fees, had to be adjusted clear explanation of fees. the city of P'burgh adds about $50/night to the bill.
Location: PNC stadium, theater district, downtown architecture.
staff had no control of little children in the lobby, restaurant, etc. use of the lobby as a wedding venue results in inconvenience for the hotel overnight guests.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 6, 2014 by Paul, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing the Renaissance Pittsburgh Hotel. We value your feedback. We will review your comment to try to improve our service levels. We are a family friendly hotel and we do our best to keep all of our guests happy and exceed expectations. Sincerely, Paul Newmaster
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from Vancouver, Canada

Just Awesome!

Posted Jul 28, 2014
Pros: Gorgeous, spacious room Friendly Staff Great Location
Cons: The huge windows were a drawback at night - let in too much light - Minor complaint.
Location: Ball park and Andy Warhol museum right across the bridge
This hotel was close to everything, had huge rooms, super friendly staff and housekeeping did a great job and left everything we asked for! One of the best hotels I've been to.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Personal Event
by A verified traveler

This traveler left a rating score only Posted Jul 23, 2014 on Hotels.com
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Jul 22, 2014
Location: It was within walking distance to PNC Park which was why we stayed at this hotel. Great location and really nice hotel would stay there again.
The staff was great - they went out of their way to make your stay great. We didn't eat there because there are a lot of eating establishments in the area but the menu there looked really good.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Mark

Great hotel

Posted Jul 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
Great stay, great view. Wonderful hotel for a quick business trip. Walkable to all parts of downtown, Strip District and stadiums. Would stay again.