Ratings based on 57 Verified Reviews

They paid and stayed. We double-checked.
4.3 out of 5
89% of guests recommend
4.7 Room cleanliness
4.4 Service & staff
4.5 Room comfort
4.6 Hotel condition
They paid and stayed.
We double-checked.
4 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Posted Oct 15, 2014
Good. Very clean. Offers a shuttle. Within walking distance to all the shopping and dining attractions in the southside of pittsburgh. Would definitely stay here again!
3 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Close to pitt

Posted Sep 23, 2014
The hotel staff was great. The train all night terrible and the pull out bed very uncomfortable. Also wish the tv's on exercise machines worked.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2014 by Matt, Hotel Management
Thank you for your feedback inreference to your recent stay at The Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southside Works. I am sorry that you found the train noise to be terrible during your visit. The next time you are in the area, we would be more than ahppy to assign a room to your reservation on the opposite side of the building. Thank you again for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler

Great Hotel

Posted Sep 22, 2014
Staff is very helpful. They make your stay relaxing and stress free!
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler from cleveland, ohio

Looking for Peace and Quiet

Posted Sep 22, 2014
We were looking for an overnight getaway to check out of our busy lives. The staff was friendly and the room was clean. Unfortunately, the hotel was immediately adjacent to a train track and the constant trains blew their whistles each time they approached the intersection that the hotel was located next to. This occurred late into the night and again at 5:09am and beyond. Also, the eggs in the continental breakfast were not real. For the price, this stay was disappointing.
Comment from Hotel Management
Sep 26, 2014 by Matt, Hotel Management
Dee, Thank you for the feedback in reference to your recent stay at The Springhill Suites Pittsburgh Southisde Works. I was happy to learn that the Staff was friendly and the cleaniness of the Hotel was up to your level of satisfaction. I am sorry that the noise from the train was disappointing to you. The next time you plan on staying at the Hotel we will assign a room to you on the opposite side of the building. Thank you again.
3 out of 5
by A verified traveler

Nice Facility but Train Horn is Loud

Posted Aug 20, 2014
Pros: Room was nicely done.
Cons: Breakfast
Room was nicely appointed and comfortable, with the exception of the small square bed pillows. Train horn woke-up my family several times during the night. Complinentary breakfast was sized for a facililty 1/3 the size of this hotel; one small hot plate of scrambled eggs that were very dry and tasteless. My 13 year old called them egg nuggets, as they were so small you needed a spoon to eat them. I wouldn't recommend this hotel primarily because of the train horn. If you do stay, I would recommend you eat breakfast elsewhere. Also, didn't know about the $14 charge to park. I must have missed that in the promotional material, but haven't gone back to see if it is referenced. Budget that when comparing other hotels in the area.
Comment from Hotel Management
Aug 23, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Thank you for choosing to stay at the SpringHill Suites in the Southside Works. I am sorry to hear that you were dissatisfied with your stay. You mentioned the pillows in the room were small and square. They are actually standard sized pillows, but our housekeeping staff likes to compact them into the pillow case to form that square shape for aesthetic purposes. It helps the linens to look tight and crisp. You also mentioned the $14.00 parking fee was a surprise at check in. I apologize that you were unaware of the charges, it does mention it on our website and we do try to inform the guests when they are making their reservations and when they are checking in. Unfortunately, due to the limited parking in the city, all of the hotels within the city limits charge for parking. Our parking fee is one of the lowest. You also indicated that the noise from the train disturbed your stay. Unfortunately, we have no control over the train activity. However, if we know in advance that someone would prefer a room facing the river, on the side of the building opposite from the train, we will do everything in our power to provide that. Thank you again for your feedback.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Everyone
by A verified traveler from R

Posted Jul 12, 2014
Convenient location and good hotel We were on college visit at U Pitt and this hotel worked well
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Erin from Philadelphia

Wonderful hotel on the Southside

Posted May 7, 2014 on Hotels.com
It was a great hotel and a good location. A number of (chain) restuarants a stones throw out the door. The staff was helpful. The shuttle service was fabulous. The room was spacious and clean. The kitchenette was perfect for our needs. Overall a great experience. If you need to be on the southside, it is awesome. But even if you need to get downtown, the shuttle service is wonderful and very accomodating.
3 out of 5
Recommended
by Linda from Ephrata, PA

Great hotel, just to close to trains

Posted May 6, 2014 on Hotels.com
I love the look of the hotel. Very modern. The room worked well for the three of us with the living room area and the bedroom area and the staff was very nice. It's just the train going by a couple of times a night and blowing its whistle that caused me not to give this hotel a high rating. By the second night I noticed the train less but the first night it woke me up every time.
Comment from Hotel Management
Jul 12, 2014 by Melissa, Hotel Management
Linda, Thank you so much for your feedback. I am sorry to hear that the noise form the train disrupted your stay, though I am thrilled to hear that you enjoyed your stay otherwise. The next time you stay with us, please let us know that you would prefer a room with a river view and we will be happy to locate your room on the other side of the building, opposite of the train. Thank you again for your comments. We are always looking for ways to improve our guests' experiences.
5 out of 5
Recommended
for Business Travelers
by Flip from Pittsburgh

attention to detail

Posted Apr 22, 2014 on Hotels.com
The housekeeping did a fantastic job. I'm a bit of a neat freak so I noticed the attention to detail. Very comfortable stay!
5 out of 5
Recommended
by Ron B. from Indianapolis, IN

Perfect Location for Southside Pittsburgh

Posted Apr 9, 2014 on Hotels.com
This is the second time we've stayed at the SpringHill Suites. This is a perfect location for any visits in this part of Pittsburgh. It is relatively easy to get to and from. The hotel is within reasonable walking distance of many restaurants and clubs along Carson Street. It is immediately adjacent to a very nice, safe walking/running trail which meanders along the river. Upon arrival we were to be placed in a suite on the railroad side of the hotel. There are long, noisy, unpredictable trains which would make this side of the hotel very unacceptable (we were tipped off about this from previous reviews) and we simply asked reassignment to the road side of the hotel. The staff made this change quickly with a smile. Every contact with the staff was pleasant and helpful (directions, room reassignment, late check out). The suite was conveniently designed with plenty of room and all amenities we required. We will definitely stay in this hotel again.